Ultimate_Game Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 8 minutes ago, neel roy said: “This is not at all expected. Deepika performed the best in the Indian trials but let the Indian team down badly by her poor performance today,” a senior Indian archery official told PTI. The Indian trio had defeated the same Netherlands team 6-2 en route to their fourth-place finish at the Antalya World Cup last month. “Yes. It’s a team failure but it’s high time that Deepika should be leading from the front and the take the responsibility, and not let India down the team every time at Olympics.” Indian women’s coach Purnima Mahato agreed that Deepika failed to shoot with a “strong mentality”. “Being a celebrated archer, you need to shoot with a strong mentality,” Mahato told PTI. “It’s a team failure, hope to overcome this and put up a better show in the mixed and individual events.” Having topped the qualification among Indians, Ankita will partner Dhiraj Bommadevara in the mixed team event. Don't like coaches and sporting federation scapegoating a player and piling on Deepika. Yup she disappointed but you need to support your players and not go after them publicly. Very disappointing. Other than cricket we don't support our players and kudos to them to even get to the stage where they're competing at Olympics. Going after them in this manner is a low blow and uncalled for. Real McCoy and randomGuy 1 1
deepdynamo Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 India's schedule for July 29, Monday ( Potential 3 Medals tomorrow) 12 PM: Badminton - Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty vs Germany's Mark Lamsfuss/Marvin Seidel in the men's singles group match Not before 12:50 PM: Badminton - Ashwini Ponnappa-Tanisha Crasto vs Japan's Nami Matsuyama-Chiharu Shida in women's singles group match. 12:45 PM: Shooting - Manu Bhaker/Sarabjot Singh and Rhythm Sangwan/Arjun Cheema Singh in the 10m air pistol mixed team qualification. The top four teams from qualification go to the medal rounds. 1 PM: Shooting - Ramita Jindal in 10m air rifle women's final - medal event. 1 PM: Shooting - Prithviraj Tondaiman in action in the men's trap qualification. Five rounds for each shooter and the top six make it to the final. 3:30 PM: Shooting - Arjun Babuta in men's 10m air rifle final - medal event. 4:15 PM: Hockey - India vs Argentina in men's pool match 5:30 PM: Badminton - Lakshya Sen vs Julien Carraggi in men's singles group stage match 5:45 PM onwards: Archery - The Indian men's team comprising Dhiraj Bommadevara, Pravin Jadhav and Tarundeep Rai will face either Colombia or Turkey in the quarterfinal followed by the medal events. 11:30 PM onwards: Table tennis: Sreeja Akula vs Zeng Jian in women's singles round of 32 match. Number, randomGuy and AuxiliA 3
Ultimate_Game Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 6 minutes ago, neel roy said: I used to be a champion in climbing trees. And who can forget desi skills in Chuppan Chuppai (Hide and Seek) Unfortunate so many of our indigenous sports are not in Olympics and Western countries decide on what is in Olympics and what's not. I mean they can have 30+ medals in swimming and gymnastics but nothing for the sports which goras don't play.
Lord Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 19 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: I used to be a champion in Pithu, Gulli-Danda, and Kanchey (marbles) We missed on 3 golds neel roy, Ultimate_Game, Sgattick10 and 1 other 3 1
rkt.india Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 23 minutes ago, Number said: Ye NZ itna improve kaise kar rhi hai Hockey me. Playing quite well against Champion team Belgium. Jaise Belgium ne improve Kiya. Belgium bhi kabhi NZ ki tarah hi hua karti thi. Number 1
Real McCoy Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 13 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: Don't like coaches and sporting federation scapegoating a player and piling on Deepika. Yup she disappointed but you need to support your players and not go after them publicly. Very disappointing. Other than cricket we don't support our players and kudos to them to even get to the stage where they're competing at Olympics. Going after them in this manner is a low blow and uncalled for. they are trying to safeguard their own asses. Player is already disappointed with the performance and with the rage of fans (fairweather might I add. I don't think Deepika would be in the radar of many fans but right now when she is down, they are out with their pitchforks). Now the coaches and the federation who are supposed to manage this debacle is now throwing especially her under the bus. someone close to her must console her. otherwise, she should call suicde watch. absolutely disgusting behavior from the coach and management randomGuy 1
Lord Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 24 minutes ago, Number said: Ye NZ itna improve kaise kar rhi hai Hockey me. Playing quite well against Champion team Belgium. They spend lots on sports it seems
rkt.india Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 1 hour ago, coffee_rules said: Were they medal hopefuls? I if not, how can we be disappointed? You expect world champions to win medals.
putrevus Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 Does Indian men's hockey have a chance to win gold?? I stopped following hockey long time back.
Number Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 7 minutes ago, Lord said: They spend lots on sports it seems May be they always want to compete with their big brothers Aussies in every sport. In Rugby Union they are much better than Aussies though. Lord 1
Ultimate_Game Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 5 minutes ago, Real McCoy said: they are trying to safeguard their own asses. Player is already disappointed with the performance and with the rage of fans (fairweather might I add. I don't think Deepika would be in the radar of many fans but right now when she is down, they are out with their pitchforks). Now the coaches and the federation who are supposed to manage this debacle is now throwing especially her under the bus. someone close to her must console her. otherwise, she should call suicde watch. absolutely disgusting behavior from the coach and management Yup, that's what I could see from a distance. Instead of being held accountable themselves, those with cushy jobs and sifarshi babus will throw players under the bus to take away from their own performances. If she had won a medal these same people would be falling over themselves trying to get credit for the performance. The very fact these players make it to Olympics while overcoming the challenges they face is creditable.
neel roy Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 5 minutes ago, putrevus said: Does Indian men's hockey have a chance to win gold?? I stopped following hockey long time back. Phir se bronze mil jaye. Tehelka mach jayega. The way they played the first match i m not hopeful Ultimate_Game 1
Ultimate_Game Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 6 minutes ago, putrevus said: Does Indian men's hockey have a chance to win gold?? I stopped following hockey long time back. Nope. They can't get past Australia. Can't even remember when they last beat them. And then you have the usual suspects in Germany, Netherlands, and Belgium. It would be a good result even if we get a bronze. putrevus 1
randomGuy Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 Just now, Ultimate_Game said: Yup, that's what I could see from a distance. Instead of being held accountable themselves, those with cushy jobs and sifarshi babus will throw players under the bus to take away from their own performances. If she had won a medal these same people would be falling over themselves trying to get credit for the performance. The very fact these players make it to Olympics while overcoming the challenges they face is creditable. This is applicable in all walks of life. 'chadte Suraj ko Salam'. People in general should not be taking success to their heads....this is one more reason not to.
Number Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 7 minutes ago, putrevus said: Does Indian men's hockey have a chance to win gold?? I stopped following hockey long time back. The team is past it's peak which was Tokyo 2021 imo. Now Germans, Dutch, Belgium clearly better than us and we lose against Aussies when the match is scheduled. Not very hopeful but it is all about doing well in groups, getting easy opponent in QFs and going to Semis, then you get 2 matches to win a medal. Ultimate_Game and deepdynamo 2
Ultimate_Game Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 Just now, randomGuy said: This is applicable in all walks of life. 'chadte Suraj ko Salam'. People in general should not be taking success to their heads....this is one more reason not to. I can understand 'chadte Suraj ko Salam'. It's the going out of your way to undermine and take shots at players who don't win is what gets me. They did the same with wrestlers last time. And we all saw how the wresters were treated and the environment they had to train in. I bet it's not much better in other sports as well. Let them be and back them. Expect results when you give resources to players or teams the same way you do for cricket. The reason I expect results from cricket team and harsh on cricketers is because they're given every opportunity to succeed and are paid top dollars. There should not be any reason for them not to win given the resources at their disposal. But that's not the case with other sports. If we don't support them the same way we have no right to demand results. We may get one off wins such as Neeraj Chopra but that is despite the system and not because of it.
deepdynamo Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 3 minutes ago, Number said: The team is past it's peak which was Tokyo 2021 imo. Now Germans, Dutch, Belgium clearly better than us and we lose against Aussies when the match is scheduled. Not very hopeful but it is all about doing well in groups, getting easy opponent in QFs and going to Semis, then you get 2 matches to win a medal. Yes, we should hope for either Great Britain or Spain in QF somehow. Germany or Netherlands will beat us black blue in QF.
coffee_rules Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 22 minutes ago, rkt.india said: You expect world champions to win medals. I hear top athletes don’t participate in world meets as such so to have the mental advantage over others. We have to take such world championships with a grain of salt. Same with wrestling and boxing. Need to be world class to win medals
Real McCoy Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 16 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: Yup, that's what I could see from a distance. Instead of being held accountable themselves, those with cushy jobs and sifarshi babus will throw players under the bus to take away from their own performances. If she had won a medal these same people would be falling over themselves trying to get credit for the performance. The very fact these players make it to Olympics while overcoming the challenges they face is creditable. In an ideal world, coaches/management are supposed to credit the player if he/she wins and accept responsibility (atleast partly) if they lose. These babus are doing the exact opposite Gollum and Ultimate_Game 1 1