Lord Posted March 5, 2025 Posted March 5, 2025 1 hour ago, Zero_Unit said: 2 big names (Smith and Mushfiqur) have retired already after CT exit, wonder how many more legendary players will call it a quit after the final match. Gonna be honest, it will be quite sad to not see the big names around anymore. I grew up watching these guys play from the begining to their retirement. From India, I think it's pretty safe to say Rohit will most likely call it a quit, Virat (50/50) but I also think Jadeja will call it a quit too (and should). Mushi a big player Ultimate_Game 1
Rasgulla Posted March 5, 2025 Posted March 5, 2025 6 minutes ago, Lord said: Mushi a big player You said Virat is done aswell Zero_Unit 1
tapandrun Posted March 5, 2025 Posted March 5, 2025 (edited) 2 hours ago, Zero_Unit said: 2 big names (Smith and Mushfiqur) have retired already after CT exit, wonder how many more legendary players will call it a quit after the final match. Gonna be honest, it will be quite sad to not see the big names around anymore. I grew up watching these guys play from the begining to their retirement. From India, I think it's pretty safe to say Rohit will most likely call it a quit, Virat (50/50) but I also think Jadeja will call it a quit too (and should). not sure if rohit/jadeja/kolhi will declare the retirement if they plans to play IPL for some more time as this decreases their stock there. can be same situation as dhoni Edited March 5, 2025 by tapandrun
deathmonger Posted March 5, 2025 Posted March 5, 2025 2 hours ago, Autonomous said: Hope we somehow make it to wt20 final and rob india off with hybrid model even if pak make it to the final, final won't be out of india. Ultimate_Game 1
Zero_Unit Posted March 5, 2025 Posted March 5, 2025 15 minutes ago, Lord said: Mushi a big player For Bangladesh, he is. He was definitely one of the big 5 and a pioneer of what a keeper batsmen should be for Bangladesh - and infact many other keeper/batsmen around the world. He helped develop some sort of dicipline line where their new gen players would want to topple. Infact he was a very good ODI batsmen till 2020 ish - just dragged his career like our super stars - Regardless of his social media nonsense (mostly against India). 2019 should have his final mega event. I think he also has a couple of 200 in test too and was one of their best bats in both test and odi. I don't think I remember anything significant in T20 from him. If players like Kapil, Gavaskar, Tendulkar etc didn't exist in the past, our current gen players would only look at other team - but toppling one of their own to become a great for India is probably every kid's dream. Once Virat retires, players like Gill/Jiswal/etc will look towards his work ethics, food intake, etc and want to be better than him. Virat looked towards Sachin's record and food habit intake, so on and so forth. putrevus 1
putrevus Posted March 5, 2025 Posted March 5, 2025 (edited) 21 minutes ago, Zero_Unit said: For Bangladesh, he is. He was definitely one of the big 5 and a pioneer of what a keeper batsmen should be for Bangladesh - and infact many other keeper/batsmen around the world. He helped develop some sort of dicipline line where their new gen players would want to topple. Infact he was a very good ODI batsmen till 2020 ish - just dragged his career like our super stars - Regardless of his social media nonsense (mostly against India). 2019 should have his final mega event. I think he also has a couple of 200 in test too and was one of their best bats in both test and odi. I don't think I remember anything significant in T20 from him. If players like Kapil, Gavaskar, Tendulkar etc didn't exist in the past, our current gen players would only look at other team - but toppling one of their own to become a great for India is probably every kid's dream. Once Virat retires, players like Gill/Jiswal/etc will look towards his work ethics, food intake, etc and want to be better than him. Virat looked towards Sachin's record and food habit intake, so on and so forth. Mushi is underrated player.He had his moments in tests mostly.But odis he was alright for his team. Edited March 5, 2025 by putrevus
tapandrun Posted March 5, 2025 Posted March 5, 2025 (edited) 35 minutes ago, putrevus said: Mushi is underrated player.He had his moments in tests mostly.But odis he was alright for his team. mushi, tamim, sakib, murtaza are bd's 1st gen of superstars and they have done well and took team to new heights in db cricket context.were a big upgrade on their predecessors. have been runner ups in asia cup in 2012 and 2018. Edited March 5, 2025 by tapandrun
Ultimate_Game Posted March 5, 2025 Posted March 5, 2025 2 hours ago, Rasgulla said: You said Virat is done aswell TBF everyone said that and are still saying it. This should be Kohli's last tourney. This CT is like a final flicker before the eventual fade out, or as @maniac likes to call it - "The last hurrah" New guy 1
BacktoCricaddict Posted March 5, 2025 Posted March 5, 2025 On 3/3/2025 at 9:00 PM, Ultimate_Game said: Sundar is not an ideal batter for shorter formats. Ideally I would've preferred somebody like Riyan Parag but he's the only option we have. He's way better than Kuldeep as a batter and at least can score a few. Plus he can bowl in PP and is not a mental midget. And better fielder than Kuldeep. So a huge improvement over Kuldeep. The question is - will this TM do something unexpected? Like bowling Sundar in the PP to throw off NZ's plans? Or will they just go with the "why fix something that ain't broke" approach, and rely on superior execution to finish the job? If I were to bet, I would bet that they will pick the "winning combo" option. If Hardik Pandya is injured, that is a big blow. The guy is always clutch in LOIs. He has, for years, provided essential balance. Most of all, he has contributed in every way possible in this tournament. Ultimate_Game 1
Ultimate_Game Posted March 5, 2025 Posted March 5, 2025 25 minutes ago, BacktoCricaddict said: The question is - will this TM do something unexpected? Like bowling Sundar in the PP to throw off NZ's plans? Or will they just go with the "why fix something that ain't broke" approach, and rely on superior execution to finish the job? If I were to bet, I would bet that they will pick the "winning combo" option. If Hardik Pandya is injured, that is a big blow. The guy is always clutch in LOIs. He has, for years, provided essential balance. Most of all, he has contributed in every way possible in this tournament. I'm glad they backed Varun and played 4 spinners! Hope they take a punt on Sundar as well. Sundar can bowl in PP overs and will be useful with the bat. There's much more upside with Sundar than Kuldeep. But overall I wish Indian cricket and team management took a bit more risk. The reason we didn't win a single ICC trophy for more than a decade was not because we didn't have the talent. It was coz we were in our comfort zone and happy with the status quo of simply reaching knockouts. They never tried to rock the boat playing high impact and multi-dimensional players or trying something different. Even now look at Jaiswal warming the bench when someone like Rachin has hit 5 100s in ICC tourneys. This could've been Jaiswal but Indian think tank and selectors would rather play it safe. Wish I could take this aspect of Indian cricket. We've enough players that we can bat till 10 if we wanted by adding players like Riyan, Abhishek, Venky Iyer, Rinku, Nitish etc. This is especially true for these pitches but I don't know why we hold ourselves back.
Autonomous Posted March 6, 2025 Posted March 6, 2025 17 hours ago, deathmonger said: even if pak make it to the final, final won't be out of india. Hybrid system is confirmed. So you can suck it Ultimate_Game 1
deathmonger Posted March 6, 2025 Posted March 6, 2025 2 minutes ago, Autonomous said: Hybrid system is confirmed. So you can suck it Hahaha we will see Ultimate_Game 1
Gollum Posted March 6, 2025 Posted March 6, 2025 Just now, Autonomous said: Hybrid system is confirmed. So you can suck it Bhai, aap logon ke saath ek chhota sa prank hua hai, udhar camera ki taraf dekh kar haath hila dijiye. AuxiliA, Vickydev, Ultimate_Game and 1 other 4
putrevus Posted March 6, 2025 Posted March 6, 2025 (edited) 19 hours ago, tapandrun said: mushi, tamim, sakib, murtaza are bd's 1st gen of superstars and they have done well and took team to new heights in db cricket context.were a big upgrade on their predecessors. have been runner ups in asia cup in 2012 and 2018. Shakib is on another level, he is their only genuine world class allrounder.At his best he could play for most teams. Others like you mentioned are BD greats but problem with Bangladesh is they have not been able to generate world class talent who atleast could beat other teams at home.For that to happen very good FC structure is needed, only with FC structure you can create talent. Edited March 6, 2025 by putrevus tapandrun 1
deathmonger Posted March 6, 2025 Posted March 6, 2025 18 hours ago, tapandrun said: mushi, tamim, sakib, murtaza are bd's 1st gen of superstars and they have done well and took team to new heights in db cricket context.were a big upgrade on their predecessors. have been runner ups in asia cup in 2012 and 2018. 2016 as well. ideally they should supersede pak considering their income levels. have been better than them at junior levels. maybe in a decade or so?
coffee_rules Posted March 6, 2025 Posted March 6, 2025 Had a nightmare last night - India is chasing 250 are 50/4 after 16 overs with Kela and Axar batting.
tapandrun Posted March 6, 2025 Posted March 6, 2025 34 minutes ago, deathmonger said: 2016 as well. ideally they should supersede pak considering their income levels. have been better than them at junior levels. maybe in a decade or so? Bd has system they used to have dhaka league where some pak and ind players use to play. IMO BD should concentrate on 1-2 formats, there is no point in trying to allocate resources in all 3 and not improving in any of those. Afgn has concentrated on t20s and now they are doing good in odis, producing high potential multiformat player is already hard and will get harder. Bd teams are doing really good at age group levels and some player will come through
Ultimate_Game Posted March 6, 2025 Posted March 6, 2025 5 hours ago, Autonomous said: Hybrid system is confirmed. So you can suck it If you think BCCI will allow a Final of an ICC tourney hosted by India to be held outside of India, I've a bridge to sell But I like how gullible you are
tapandrun Posted March 6, 2025 Posted March 6, 2025 2 hours ago, Ultimate_Game said: If you think BCCI will allow a Final of an ICC tourney hosted by India to be held outside of India, I've a bridge to sell But I like how gullible you are If ind team reaches finals, it will be in Ind.
Autonomous Posted March 6, 2025 Posted March 6, 2025 2 hours ago, Ultimate_Game said: If you think BCCI will allow a Final of an ICC tourney hosted by India to be held outside of India, I've a bridge to sell But I like how gullible you are Its documented mate. Dont give 2 fks about BCCI