ENG vs RSA | Champions Trophy Match 11 | Karachi | 1st March, 2025 | Match Thread

51 minutes ago, Gollum said:

2015/16 India wasn't good on super high scoring pattas.

2019 SF, conditions did play a major role.

I don't think so, If Ashwin did not bowl noball or Indians did not play 3 wks including useless DK, India would have won both matches.

Edited by putrevus
Just now, putrevus said:

I don't think so, If Ashwin did not bowl noball or Indian did not play 3 wks including useless DK, India would have won both matches.

Bro that West Indies team batted deep, Carlos Brathwaite and Sammy at 8 and 9. Deepest batting unit in T20 history. Even 240 wasn't enough that day in those conditions. 

2019 we were 5/3, 2 of them being Rohit and Kohli. Can't blame selection when top order surrenders so meekly. 

What about 2015 WC? We toured Aus next year as well and lost the ODI series against a depleted Aussie team, all those high scoring 320+ games we were getting overpowered easily. 

3 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Bro that West Indies team batted deep, Carlos Brathwaite and Sammy at 8 and 9. Deepest batting unit in T20 history. Even 240 wasn't enough that day in those conditions. 

2019 we were 5/3, 2 of them being Rohit and Kohli. Can't blame selection when top order surrenders so meekly. 

What about 2015 WC? We toured Aus next year as well and lost the ODI series against a depleted Aussie team, all those high scoring 320+ games we were getting overpowered easily. 

I don't think WI were winning if Simmons got out early.Just like without Fakhar's noball Pakistan was not reaching 330.

DK who was nervous monkey when  all he had to do was take a single  in Melbourne, he batted when ball stopped swinging in 2019. Any other batsman would have seen that chase home.So 5/3 did play a role in the loss but it was not fatal.

I did not say they would have won all matches.Even in 2015 India was the only undefeated team in group stages.

1 hour ago, Chaos said:

Moral of the story for engerland: If you let people like fisherman aka lolhi in to england…this is what happens. He is a like a black plague @Nikhil_cric @Frustrated. Damn what a aweful few months for them :hysterical:. Bazball gone wrong

It's quite confusing as to which is the worst team of the tournament.   Pooks OR Bazball?   

7 minutes ago, Frustrated said:

It's quite confusing as to which is the worst team of the tournament.   Pooks OR Bazball?   

Pak easily is the poorer team. At least Eng managed to score 350+ against Aus and scored 320 against Afg. They lost both the games narrowly and they were favorites to win both the matches at some point.

OTOH Pak were shellacked and their losses were one sided and they were never in any match. Eng had issues with their bowling where they couldn't hold the other team down but batting was still good enough. Pak had holes everywhere - batting, bowling, fielding etc.

23 minutes ago, Bigg Brother said:

McCullam's own country team is playing like world beater while he has made circus out of this English team, no long before he will be sacked, too.

But he beat his home country not long ago in tests though

49 minutes ago, Bigg Brother said:

McCullam's own country team is playing like world beater while he has made circus out of this English team, no long before he will be sacked, too.

England won like 3-0 vs NZ in NZ just few months back:ranger:

5 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

And NZ shafted us 3-0 on our home turf. Kya logic hai Lomdi bhai ?

Edited by rangeelaraja
Just now, rangeelaraja said:

And NZ shafted us 3-0 in our home turf. Kya logic hai Lomdi bhai ?

That was our biggest cricketing humiliation on par with WC final defeat in front of 120k Indians.

CT jasa jhantu tournament doesn't holds a candle to it.

I'd sacrifice it in a instant over away series win in NZ 

9 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

He was doing good in Tests recently got ODI gig. Might go back to Test only

Just now, Lone Wolf said:

That was our biggest cricketing humiliation on par with WC final defeat in front of 120k Indians.

CT jasa jhantu tournament doesn't holds a candle to it.

I'd sacrifice it in a instant over away series win in NZ 

I agree with the bold.  The last time we were whitewashed at home was in 2000..against RSA in a 2 match series. But that was an amazingly strong RSA team.

Since then we have mostly whitewashed teams at home.  We can never ever win away in NZ and Eng or any SENA country for that matter till - Rohit, Virat and perhaps even KL are dropped.  As Rahane showed during his captaincy in Aus after 36 a.o---there is a lot of talent and heart in the Indian reserves.

I would rate any ICC tournament 10X more than a bilateral ODI series...plus winning the CT that is supposedly hosted by padosis makes it especially sweet.

3 minutes ago, Lord said:

He was doing good in Tests recently got ODI gig. Might go back to Test only

Perhaps Trott is the answer for them.  Even IPL sides should keep an eye on him.

Ajay Jadeja was in awe of his coaching style