Lord Posted July 18, 2025 Posted July 18, 2025 Wanted to create this for a while. In India its still a taboo though it is reported around 10% adults suffer from mental disorders. How do you navigate your daily challenges mentally ? dial_100, coffee_rules and Vickydev 1 1 1
singhvivek141 Posted July 18, 2025 Posted July 18, 2025 (edited) 33 minutes ago, Lord said: Wanted to create this for a while. In India its still a taboo though it is reported around 10% adults suffer from mental disorders. How do you navigate your daily challenges mentally ? Mental Health is a big issue specially in the tier-1 cities, where nuclear families are in abundance and people literally don't have time for any social gathering. This issue is way less prevalent when you have your close families around, but that's not the case anymore. People are migrating from villages -> towns -> cities-> Big Cities -> Outside country....more one is climbing the ladder of "success" and "economic independence", higher it's becoming the challenge to keep his/her own sanity. For me personally, I keep on indulging myself to spiritualism, music and fitness. Something which helps me atleast in managing my stress levels. Edited July 18, 2025 by singhvivek141 Lord, dial_100, G_B_ and 1 other 1 1 2
dial_100 Posted July 18, 2025 Posted July 18, 2025 (edited) 6 hours ago, Lord said: Wanted to create this for a while. In India its still a taboo though it is reported around 10% adults suffer from mental disorders. How do you navigate your daily challenges mentally ? If you are not into spirituality, then it gets quite tough. Don't be ashamed of your situation. Here are the top-10 things that I learnt about this subject. Recognize that mental health problem is a disorder, and it needs to be treated Train yourself to "Accept" situations. Accept your mistakes, accept your past, accept your conditions (family, economic, social) and accept your strengths and weaknesses. Things are not worth more than you think Have a support system, a buddy who reminds you what is it that you need to accept, how to cope with immediate situation Take professional help if needed Past cannot be undone and nobody knows about the future. Things work out eventually. (so accept) When you see a storm coming your way, prepare yourself to face it. Face it when you are at the strongest. If you run away from it, you will tire yourself out. Eventually, the storm catches you when you have the least strength left to fight it. So when you see a storm coming, go and face it ASAP with full strength. In either case, you end up bruising, but in later, you have the best chance to be over with and have more time to heal. Grass appears to be greener on the other side, it actually is not. Give it some time. Do regular activity, exercise, walking, hobby etc. If possible then work on your vices, (the 6 enemies) Ego, Anger, Hate/Jealousy, Greed, Lust Deal with it on your own. Do not cling onto others. It is your problem and not theirs. I didnt watch that video. So may be it is talking about something similar. Edited July 18, 2025 by dial_100 ravishingravi, Lord and Mariyam 1 2
Lord Posted July 19, 2025 Author Posted July 19, 2025 4 hours ago, dial_100 said: If you are not into spirituality, then it gets quite tough. Don't be ashamed of your situation. Here are the top-10 things that I learnt about this subject. Recognize that mental health problem is a disorder, and it needs to be treated Train yourself to "Accept" situations. Accept your mistakes, accept your past, accept your conditions (family, economic, social) and accept your strengths and weaknesses. Things are not worth more than you think Have a support system, a buddy who reminds you what is it that you need to accept, how to cope with immediate situation Take professional help if needed Past cannot be undone and nobody knows about the future. Things work out eventually. (so accept) When you see a storm coming your way, prepare yourself to face it. Face it when you are at the strongest. If you run away from it, you will tire yourself out. Eventually, the storm catches you when you have the least strength left to fight it. So when you see a storm coming, go and face it ASAP with full strength. In either case, you end up bruising, but in later, you have the best chance to be over with and have more time to heal. Grass appears to be greener on the other side, it actually is not. Give it some time. Do regular activity, exercise, walking, hobby etc. If possible then work on your vices, (the 6 enemies) Ego, Anger, Hate/Jealousy, Greed, Lust Deal with it on your own. Do not cling onto others. It is your problem and not theirs. I didnt watch that video. So may be it is talking about something similar. Good post. The video is about ability to do normal things and adapting to any changes. If those two are good means things are fine as far as mental condition is concerned dial_100 1
jf1gp_1 Posted July 19, 2025 Posted July 19, 2025 My source of stress is work, by the grace of god i have a healthy personal life. So i do small things like wrapping up work at work even if its additional time. During personal time i avoid checking emails, watch/listen to nonsense podcast, do few small things i enjoy, oh and over weekend i spend atleast 2 hrs deciding what i want to eat and then eat. One of my favorite timepass is checking price of things which i cant afford. I actually feel bad for current generation. They are so well connected due to technology that they never get a me time which was way of life when i was growing up. Todays kids dont know how my generation used to make up games using sticks or stones or clay or tiles etc etc. Lord, dial_100, Stan AF and 2 others 5
ravishingravi Posted July 20, 2025 Posted July 20, 2025 (edited) At some point human beings will all come together to accept that modernity has not worked out for us. We sought comfort and security because we didn't know any better. This is a man made disaster and it is going to sweep India. Also reason I am thinking of pivoting and moving towards neuroscience and psychotherapy. In my life, pivot happened early since I realized that what one wants and what one needs can be two different things. Mimmetic brain lives by comparison even if it is against your best interest. It's clear that we are heading into an iceberg. And situation in India maybe worse unless we go back to our spiritual roots, a sense of community and family. The peer pressures are higher. People esp urban population is addicted to their phones and social; disconnected to nature. Edited July 20, 2025 by ravishingravi Mariyam, Lord, dial_100 and 3 others 3 1 2
kepler37b Posted July 20, 2025 Posted July 20, 2025 1 hour ago, ravishingravi said: At some point human beings will all come together to accept that modernity has not worked out for us. We sought comfort and security because we didn't know any better. This is a man made disaster and it is going to sweep India. Also reason I am thinking of pivoting and moving towards neuroscience and psychotherapy. In my life, pivot happened early since I realized that what one wants and what one needs can be two different things. Mimmetic brain lives by comparison even if it is against your best interest. It's clear that we are heading into an iceberg. And situation in India maybe worse unless we go back to our spiritual roots, a sense of community and family. The peer pressures are higher. People esp urban population is addicted to their phones and social; disconnected to nature. It will not. We have evolved for hunter gatherer life. Not for the 24x7 dompaine plenty modern life. It is ironical that these days we pay for getting physical exercise(Gym) and Roam around(Travel). At the end of the day, everything is a chemical reaction in brain and this reduces the expectation in life. ravishingravi 1
BacktoCricaddict Posted July 26, 2025 Posted July 26, 2025 My head says: "For good mental health, stop following test cricket. Go for a run. Tend to your garden. Cut the grass. Get your work done so you are not stressed. All to help your mental health." My heart says: "Chup BC. We are coming back and not only saving this match, there is enough time to effin win it. Dekh beta dekh." Lord, Mariyam and diga 3
randomGuy Posted July 26, 2025 Posted July 26, 2025 (edited) Normal things Practicing compassion, gratitude, physical activity (walking itself is self sufficient i guess), socializing should be enough.... For deeper knowledge, Indian spirituality is the greatest, deepest, comprehensive, most profound... swami sarvapriyananda (born in Kolkata) is a Advait vedanti ...his various vids explain Advait vedanti plus all margs i.e. karma yog, bhakti yog, raj yog, gyan yog very well, and how all are mutually compatible. Must listen... swami premanand ji for bhakti yog, naam jap and also swami rajeshwaranand Ji for bhakti marg - katha vachan (he sings beautifully, blessed by goddess Saraswati, best bhajan singer ever, has classical singing base imo) I listen from variety of resources and try to inculcate everything..Mingyur Rinpoche (Buddhism) for sky-like mind awareness/consciousness meditation is very good. Options are amazing. And plus the AI for searching more stuff. We are living in great times for people with quest for knowledge. Edited July 26, 2025 by randomGuy dial_100, Mariyam, Lord and 1 other 4
coffee_rules Posted July 27, 2025 Posted July 27, 2025 11 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said: My head says: "For good mental health, stop following test cricket. Go for a run. Tend to your garden. Cut the grass. Get your work done so you are not stressed. All to help your mental health." My heart says: "Chup BC. We are coming back and not only saving this match, there is enough time to effin win it. Dekh beta dekh." Nimma bayalli baigaLa? Aapke mooh mein gaali. Vishwaash nahi horeya
Lord Posted July 27, 2025 Author Posted July 27, 2025 11 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said: My head says: "For good mental health, stop following test cricket. Go for a run. Tend to your garden. Cut the grass. Get your work done so you are not stressed. All to help your mental health." My heart says: "Chup BC. We are coming back and not only saving this match, there is enough time to effin win it. Dekh beta dekh." Kal lunch 500 bana lo fir get them out under 150
G_B_ Posted August 7, 2025 Posted August 7, 2025 I see many in london refusing promotions cause the stress it causes and mental health (high taxes make monetary benefits less enticing). So key question is, at what point does not the marginal rate of gain negate mental well being. Instead of a luxary car, am i ok in a reliable car that looks ok and gets me from point a to b in relative comfort. dial_100, Lord and ravishingravi 3
BacktoCricaddict Posted August 7, 2025 Posted August 7, 2025 2 hours ago, G_B_ said: I see many in london refusing promotions cause the stress it causes and mental health (high taxes make monetary benefits less enticing). So key question is, at what point does not the marginal rate of gain negate mental well being. Instead of a luxary car, am i ok in a reliable car that looks ok and gets me from point a to b in relative comfort. Everyone's answer to "at what point" question will, of course, be different. And often for those who pursue high stress jobs, money is not the primary motivation. The challenge, the competitive spirit to do a great job can all make the stress worth it. G_B_ 1
G_B_ Posted August 7, 2025 Posted August 7, 2025 1 hour ago, BacktoCricaddict said: Everyone's answer to "at what point" question will, of course, be different. And often for those who pursue high stress jobs, money is not the primary motivation. The challenge, the competitive spirit to do a great job can all make the stress worth it. Ofcourse. This is very subjective. Some love the grind. Others not so much.
ravishingravi Posted August 8, 2025 Posted August 8, 2025 9 hours ago, G_B_ said: I see many in london refusing promotions cause the stress it causes and mental health (high taxes make monetary benefits less enticing). So key question is, at what point does not the marginal rate of gain negate mental well being. Instead of a luxary car, am i ok in a reliable car that looks ok and gets me from point a to b in relative comfort. Also think it's not just a function of the job. Sometimes we are unable to fathom the complexity of being human. Modernity with it's plug and play mindset thought we can create Nice boxes to channel human life. Reality is we are very complex beings. There is a biological and genetic element to it. There is social and psychological element. There is ofcourse existential crisis that can creep through. Because we don't want to see the thing in all its complexities we end up reducing it to job, money, relationship etc etc. These are symptoms not the causal.
kepler37b Posted August 8, 2025 Posted August 8, 2025 7 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said: Everyone's answer to "at what point" question will, of course, be different. And often for those who pursue high stress jobs, money is not the primary motivation. The challenge, the competitive spirit to do a great job can all make the stress worth it. Some people have un-realistic tolerance to stress. I know people who come to office post a quarrel with wife, then in 1.5 hours traffic jam, then open mails to handle 3 escalations and then go back home in 2 hours traffic jam and then attend 6 back to back calls. These often become Directors and CEO's. But as per me, this is not worth it. Their desire for status and power, which is again a chemical reaction in brain, is draining the body of it's health. diga 1
diga Posted August 8, 2025 Posted August 8, 2025 14 minutes ago, kepler37b said: Some people have un-realistic tolerance to stress. I know people who come to office post a quarrel with wife, then in 1.5 hours traffic jam, then open mails to handle 3 escalations and then go back home in 2 hours traffic jam and then attend 6 back to back calls. These often become Directors and CEO's. But as per me, this is not worth it. Their desire for status and power, which is again a chemical reaction in brain, is draining the body of it's health. Choosing to remain an engineer is also becoming stressful ... constant pressure from mgmt is like a sword hanging over the head dial_100 1
kepler37b Posted August 8, 2025 Posted August 8, 2025 (edited) 35 minutes ago, diga said: Choosing to remain an engineer is also becoming stressful ... constant pressure from mgmt is like a sword hanging over the head Just earn enough, invest and move out of the rat race. Once you kick the bucket, you are nothing but a distant memory to your family and spouse. 99% IT jeet's do not know this and run like a fool behind money to satisfy themselves or to get a approval rating from wife/Girlfriend/Mom/Dad, BC...adopt your inner baalayya and you will be the king. Edited August 8, 2025 by kepler37b