rangeelaraja Posted March 6 Posted March 6 (edited) These 4 bowlers are a given : Bumrah Arshdeep Pandya Axar Its either a toss up between Kuldeep/ Varun or ignoring both and playing Siraj. Varun has gone for 11.6 RPO in the last 4 games ( starting the Super 8s) - his confidence is totally shot. 11.6 RPO from your main bowler is potentially match losing. Kuldeep is a total lottery with the ball. He could have a dream day, but has never shown the heart to come back when attacked -- and Kiwis will attack him ! On top of that he is a terrible fielder and a huge risk to leak runs on the boundary and drop a key catch or two. I don't think Sundar is going to get the finals. The only remaining option is Siraj. He has only played 1 game. I don't think he would do worse than Varun / Kuldeep at Ahmedabad. My hunch is that the team would continue with Varun in the final. Edited March 6 by rangeelaraja Gollum and BacktoCricaddict 2
Gollum Posted March 6 Posted March 6 I am in favor of playing Siraj in the final. Axar's spin is enough. Chakri has lost all confidence, couldn't find his length once in thie tournament. KD is also out of form/confidence, and has a poor record against NZ. Sundar is useless. Final will be played in a venue which is Siraj's IPL homeground. Also, as bad as he is, I still rate him as a better fielder than Varun or KD. rangeelaraja, G_B_ and wanted_desi 1 2
G_B_ Posted March 6 Posted March 6 Washington sunder? Can bat can field. At this point everybody is a decent option. Then again is he a panauti at a panauti stadium. All this debating aside Gg will go with same team... speedster and rangeelaraja 2
speedster Posted March 6 Posted March 6 40 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said: These 4 bowlers are a given : Bumrah Arshdeep Pandya Axar Its either a toss up between Kuldeep/ Varun or ignoring both and playing Siraj. Varun has gone for 11.6 RPO in the last 4 games ( starting the Super 8s) - his confidence is totally shot. 11.6 RPO from your main bowler is potentially match losing. Kuldeep is a total lottery with the ball. He could have a dream day, but has never shown the heart to come back when attacked -- and Kiwis will attack him ! On top of that he is a terrible fielder and a huge risk to leak runs on the boundary and drop a key catch or two. I don't think Sundar is going to get the finals. The only remaining option is Siraj. He has only played 1 game. I don't think he would do worse than Varun / Kuldeep at Ahmedabad. My hunch is that the team would continue with Varun in the final. Atleast with Siraj you know he is a fighter. Our spinners look like deer caught in headlights the moment someone comes after them. Hope it is Siraj although knowing GG and the team management, they will go with the comfort of a winning combination. On a different note, it can be seen that decision making is a problem for our spinners and some pacers (Prasidh!), I wonder if this aspect is being worked on, if not then it should be something that people should definitely be worked on
G_B_ Posted March 6 Posted March 6 Both Sharma and Chakravarthy are 99% playing. Both should forget practise and just mentally relax and get in zone. Even if we get quick fire 15 to 20 from Abhi its enough. Similarly 4 overs outside powerplay for 40 runs is ok for Varun. Gollum 1
cowboysfan Posted March 6 Posted March 6 bhai what are these threads??? they aint changing a winning team,you know it and 1.5 billion indians know it. Frustrated 1
Sean Bradley Posted March 6 Posted March 6 Mysteryvarthi has lost all confidence, he is bowling like a medium pacer dibbly dobbly's, but maybe, just maybe, he can come good in the finals. Anyways, if he plays or he doesnt, this would well be his last match in India colours.
rangeelaraja Posted March 6 Author Posted March 6 1 hour ago, G_B_ said: Both Sharma and Chakravarthy are 99% playing. Both should forget practise and just mentally relax and get in zone. Even if we get quick fire 15 to 20 from Abhi its enough. Similarly 4 overs outside powerplay for 40 runs is ok for Varun. I agree. I seriously doubt the winning team is going to be altered.
bsriharsha Posted March 6 Posted March 6 And we are wasting too much time in this when at the end , panoti stadium mein haarna hi hai
zen Posted March 6 Posted March 6 I would leave it to the coach to pick the 11 … As a fan, my job is to enjoy the game if I am in the mood for it … There are far more important things to worry about than who plays or who does not in cricket.
neel roy Posted March 6 Posted March 6 3 hours ago, G_B_ said: Both Sharma and Chakravarthy are 99% playing. Both should forget practise and just mentally relax and get in zone. Even if we get quick fire 15 to 20 from Abhi its enough. Similarly 4 overs outside powerplay for 40 runs is ok for Varun. Varun has always bowled one over in powerplay that too 6th over which is the most productive as per stats from batting perspective. In flat wickets it doesn’t work. Ideally his entry point should be over 7 when the team has to think a bit with new fielding restrictions. That ll give him a quiet over and then have him for 11 13 15. In windies match he bowled well.. surya shd have finished his quota by 16 when two relatively new batsmen were on crease. He bowled arshdeep who gave 24 runs and then in 17th they anyways were going to target varun..
deepdynamo Posted March 6 Posted March 6 (edited) Chakri is more at home vs right handers. NZ have 4 out of top 6 right hand batsman. Also, Rachin is not a powerhitter. Chapman is real danger for him. Don't give him a powerplay over, though. Edited March 6 by deepdynamo
G_B_ Posted March 6 Posted March 6 37 minutes ago, neel roy said: Varun has always bowled one over in powerplay that too 6th over which is the most productive as per stats from batting perspective. In flat wickets it doesn’t work. Ideally his entry point should be over 7 when the team has to think a bit with new fielding restrictions. That ll give him a quiet over and then have him for 11 13 15. In windies match he bowled well.. surya shd have finished his quota by 16 when two relatively new batsmen were on crease. He bowled arshdeep who gave 24 runs and then in 17th they anyways were going to target varun.. Against wi he bowled outside pp. Was still smashed putrevus 1
putrevus Posted March 6 Posted March 6 (edited) Varun is a gimmick bowler, I thought he had ability to change lengths and speeds.But first his over against Bethell was so awful, it got them back into the match. If he had bowled a tight over there,match would have been over there itself. Axar would have been a better, almost match losing wrong call by SKY. Axar did not give even one boundary to lefties both Bethell and Curran. Edited March 6 by putrevus
Gollum Posted March 6 Posted March 6 (edited) 7 hours ago, G_B_ said: Both Sharma and Chakravarthy are 99% playing. Both should forget practise and just mentally relax and get in zone. Even if we get quick fire 15 to 20 from Abhi its enough. Similarly 4 overs outside powerplay for 40 runs is ok for Varun. Best advice bro. Technical adjustments won't happen in 2 days time. Better to relax, jo hoga, dekha jayega. Maybe once they free up their minds, their instincts will guide them better. Edited March 6 by Gollum
nitinbwj Posted March 6 Posted March 6 Need to tick atleast 1 positive. Win the damn toss. Ultimate_Game 1
AKane Posted March 6 Posted March 6 (edited) 7 hours ago, deepdynamo said: Chakri is more at home vs right handers. NZ have 4 out of top 6 right hand batsman. Also, Rachin is not a powerhitter. Chapman is real danger for him. Don't give him a powerplay over, though. btw 7 and 8 are Neesham and Santner and both are left handed and both are power hitters. Can promote one vs the magnificent "Chakri" in place of Glenn Phillips. So 4 of 6 being right handers can easily become 3 of 6 are left handers. Edited March 6 by AKane
AKane Posted March 6 Posted March 6 This is what bothers me - both Henry and Ferguson will bowl yorkers to match Arshdeep and Bumrah Ferguson to Jansen, 1 run Starts off with the yorker. Pace off at 124kph, aimed at the stumps, and Jansen does well to dig it out square on the off side Ferguson to Jansen, 1 run Yorker outside off, he opens the face and steers it out through point Ferguson to Jansen, 1 run Yorker around off, 145kph, dug out to mid-off. Great delivery on the free hit from Ferguson Henry to Stubbs, 1 run Yorker on off, Jansen is able to work this towards long-on for a single. That's the fifty partnership up in 50 balls Henry to Jansen, 1 run Nails another yorker around off. Dug out towards point and they get a single Henry to Corbin Bosch, OUT Knocks him over with a yorker! Bosch plays all around this as Henry nails the yorker. Cross-seam, 130kph, right on off, and it slips under the bat as Bosch tries to dig it out, and crashes into the stumps Henry to Rabada, OUT Rabada, what have you done? Surely there was no need for that? 133kph and in the blockhole outside leg, Rabada just ends up chipping it tamely to long-on! Henry finds himself on a hat-trick putrevus 1
jf1gp_1 Posted March 7 Posted March 7 Will Surya announce his retirement if we win ? he will be 36 soon and I don't see him around for next one.
Ultimate_Game Posted March 7 Posted March 7 1 hour ago, jf1gp_1 said: Will Surya announce his retirement if we win ? he will be 36 soon and I don't see him around for next one. He should be kicked out either way. A passenger with nothing to show for other than the Miller catch or some group stage performances.