1 hour ago, zen said:

Releasing on July 17 … Most Nolan fans will probably watch this.

I am a Nolan fan, but, for some reason I have started to feel that his movies are more of a science class instead of a movie.

TENET was confusing, Oppenheimer started well, then just went sideways in the end only to connect the dots at the end. Though, its strictly my personal opinion and others can differ from it.

Dunkirk was the last which I truly enjoyed bpth from film making plus story telling POV. Hoping that The Odyssey, being a historical movie will stay true to the book and the challenges faced by Odysseus. 

38 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

I am a Nolan fan, but, for some reason I have started to feel that his movies are more of a science class instead of a movie.

TENET was confusing, Oppenheimer started well, then just went sideways in the end only to connect the dots at the end. Though, its strictly my personal opinion and others can differ from it.

Dunkirk was the last which I truly enjoyed bpth from film making plus story telling POV. Hoping that The Odyssey, being a historical movie will stay true to the book and the challenges faced by Odysseus. 

Odyssey should ideally be a good subject for Nolan as it allows multiple plot angles to play out at the same time. 

The book is far more rewarding but given that the core story lends itself well to the cinematic experience and the director's earlier works have led up to this challenge, it looks like it's going to be a summer treat.

Wish Hollywood some day makes movie on Mahabharata or Ramayan, someone like spielberg or cameron,but then budget is something which will be huge bigger than gta 6 or Avengers doomsday if it's properly made also the time factor 

2 hours ago, vayuu1 said:

Wish Hollywood some day makes movie on Mahabharata or Ramayan, someone like spielberg or cameron,but then budget is something which will be huge bigger than gta 6 or Avengers doomsday if it's properly made also the time factor 

no one is going to invest in $Hundreds of millions for the budget when the market of the film only be in India and NRIs- a scale of this for Ramayan and Mahabhrata by a Hollywood will need 250-300$ Million budget- are they going to recover it ? Also can you trust Hollywood to depict our Gods in the way we want them to without an agenda/propaganda?

On 6/15/2026 at 12:12 PM, vayuu1 said:

I pray none of current makers, across the world, make movies on these epics.

They will load the movies with feminism and ghaste oppression ideologies. 

On 6/15/2026 at 2:42 AM, vayuu1 said:

I feel no one can do justice to them in a non-desi language. Too much will be lost in translation.

On 6/16/2026 at 9:17 PM, kepler37b said:

They will load the movies with feminism and ghaste oppression ideologies. 

Karna ghaste angle will be twisted with absolute brutality 

Another excellent work by Nolan. A great presentation of Homer’s Odyssey. 

It is relatively grounded - less glamorous, more arty. 

The last act from when Odysseus returns to Ithaca is mind blowingly good for the genre. 

After the Dark Knight and Inception, I felt like clapping after the film. 

:clap:

On 6/12/2026 at 5:46 PM, Prakat said:

The book is far more rewarding but given that the core story lends itself well to the cinematic experience and the director's earlier works have led up to this challenge, it looks like it's going to be a summer treat.

Much has been said about how the movie deviates from the original source. The wider point of movies of this genre is to get people interested in reading the classics.

Odysseus is fully aware that Calypso has him 'imprisoned'. The narration of his life thus far is to the people from the Island he chances upon after having escaped from Calypso. In the movie the two have been merged together. To assuage Charlize Theron's ego and give her more screen time, perhaps.

Aside of that: 9/10 from me!

The Odyssey reminds me of Ramayan: 

* A Sita (Penelope) surrounded by Ravans (suitors) 

* A Bharat (here represented by the son - Telemachus) keeping the throne (though this thread is not too similar) 

* A Ram (Odysseus) forced to take a long journey away from home 

* The unique bow, the swayamwar , etc.

The Odyssey concept of a bride or a fiancee or a lover waiting, while the hero is lost somewhere (may also suffer from amnesia) is also employed in multiple Bollywood films including Prem Bhandhan (1979), shades in Ram Teri Ganga Meli (1985),  Heena (1991), etc. 

On 6/15/2026 at 12:12 PM, vayuu1 said:

If I had made this post half of ICF would descend on me, and say that its not just mythology etc etc. How can you compare blah blah? Bollywood is Urduwood and so on.

I'm not saying this to play victim here, that's hardy my style. Nor am I a victim. But pointing it out a subconscious bias.

@vayuu1 bhai gets a pass here coz he is, well, vayuu.

Don't have anything more to add on this.

On 7/28/2026 at 7:05 PM, Mariyam said:

If I had made this post half of ICF would descend on me, and say that its not just mythology etc etc. How can you compare blah blah? Bollywood is Urduwood and so on.

I'm not saying this to play victim here, that's hardy my style. Nor am I a victim. But pointing it out a subconscious bias.

@vayuu1 bhai gets a pass here coz he is, well, vayuu.

Don't have anything more to add on this.

Arey why do you think ICF will say anything to you,see my problem is not with you and the normal friendly Muslims ,my issue is with those jo rehte yaha hai gun kahin aur ka gaate hai ,not just from one particular religion but anyone who stays here but criticize this country.

12 minutes ago, vayuu1 said:

And @Mariyamsister credit where it's due it will take ages to  spend on presentation like nolan spielberg or cameron presents their movie but then they have to be honest towards the subject.

An epic like the Ramayan will need a web series to do justice to it.

I don't think a Nolan will do a good job. First of all, it will have to be in an Indian language. Also the focus should be on storytelling and not just state of the art CGI. The best suited directors: Balki or Mani Ratnam.