So what is not working anymore?

Conditions-- Large percentage of Ind batters in this side are not suited for such conditions when bowlers were  getting some assistance.

T20 is a diff. sports now, these batters are not naturally suited for conditions they were playing in, and because how t20 is played now its not like you can adapt score some runs and hope to pin opp.  Opp had players who are v.good in those conditions you are always going to play chasing game.

In top4/5 there are 2 batters who does not have off-side game, 1 can not play when ball is swinging.  

5 minutes ago, tapandrun said:

Conditions-- Large percentage of Ind batters in this side are not suited for such conditions when bowlers were  getting some assistance.

T20 is a diff. sports now, these batters are not naturally suited for conditions they were playing in, and because how t20 is played now its not like you can adapt score some runs and hope to pin opp.  Opp had players who are v.good in those conditions you are always going to play chasing game.

In top4/5 there are 2 batters who does not have off-side game, 1 can not play when ball is swinging.  

Rabada went for 70 runs in 4 overs last time.  PHIl salt made 141 runs. almost 100 of them through on side. Buttler also predominantly played through onside. Both killed them with pull shots.  Our players haven't mastered the pull shot. They go from down to up rather than horizontally. Samson does it. They go for elevation mostly rather than distance. Even jakiswal does it. If you really want to do well across the globe you need to master pull shots. You cannot keep glued to crease expecting a short ball.  Gill plays proper pull shots. Jaiswal's issue he tries to pull a ball from outside off stump instead of ramping. This is another issue they need to sort out. If they sort out pull shots almost 50% of the probem solved. 

4 hours ago, Vk1 said:

he got it spot on.. we played axar, shedge, Dube.. none of them are even semi allrounders.. 

This is again a surface level analysis, Ind lost all their games in PP itself nothing to do with allrounders. 

Here is the PP scores of Ind , Ind lost the games in PP itself. Nothing to do with allrounders. Yes Axar/Shedge lacks power game to be able to hit 4/6 consistently in last few overs and Dube is not naturally suited for non sc conditions. But Ind dint lose the game in last 5 over not able to finish big or chase down target. Ind lost the game in PP.

Match Opposition Venue Powerplay Score (Overs 1–6) Top-Order Match Context
1st T20I Ireland Belfast 54/4 Abhishek Sharma hit a quick 50 but wickets collapsed around him.
2nd T20I Ireland Stormont 41/4 Disastrous start with both openers falling for golden ducks in over 1.
1st T20I England Chester-le-Street Abandoned Match called off due to heavy rain without a ball being bowled.
2nd T20I England Manchester 44/2 Under high pressure from tight English lines but managed to limit early wickets.
3rd T20I England Nottingham 52/5 Top order completely broken by Jofra Archer and Josh Tongue.
4th T20I England Bristol 44/2 Lowest score of the tour on a slow, tricky pitch.
5th T20I England Southampton 61/2 Highest powerplay score of the tour, fueled by chasing a massive 258.

Here are Inds top4/5 batters' record in last 2 series, top order lost the games 

Player Matches Runs Average Strike Rate
Sanju Samson 4 33 8.25 113.79
Tilak Varma 7 178 29.67 124.48
Ishan Kishan 7 122 17.43 99.19
Shreyas Iyer 7 260 43.33 176.87

Edited by tapandrun
18 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Rabada went for 70 runs in 4 overs last time.  PHIl salt made 141 runs. almost 100 of them through on side. Buttler also predominantly played through onside. Both killed them with pull shots.  Our players haven't mastered the pull shot. They go from down to up rather than horizontally. Samson does it. They go for elevation mostly rather than distance. Even jakiswal does it. If you really want to do well across the globe you need to master pull shots. You cannot keep glued to crease expecting a short ball.  Gill plays proper pull shots. Jaiswal's issue he tries to pull a ball from outside off stump instead of ramping. This is another issue they need to sort out. If they sort out pull shots almost 50% of the probem solved. 

Pull is a risky shot, need bit taller players for that, that why have been posting that fr NZ+Aus t20i wc need bit taller batter with fast bat speed and ability to hit big 6s.

Gill does not aim to hit 6s with pull he is good with pull shots but he is not a 6- hitter, his go to 6 hitting shots are flick of the pads vs pacers and sweep vs spin thats it.

Edited by tapandrun

The team is in transition. Bumrah, bhuvi, shami, siraj,  are our best pacers. After that there is inexperience and dip in quality. Spin cupboard is also bare. Missing kohli in middle order, current players cant adjust.

Biggest issue is inability to tackle the hard lengths at pace usually our players struggle against back of length deliveries bowled at pace on non subcontinent surfaces with bounce 

On 7/12/2026 at 10:20 AM, Sgattick10 said:

Kinda agree with him

I told this before the 1st T20. Ill add to it. Quit treating Arshdeep singh as a reincarnation of Wasim Akram. The guy is a hack. We need to look beyond Arshdeep. We need genuinely good bowlers as the main bowler. 

22 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

One sad thing is BCCI dont understand what they expect from allrounders, also to the fact that selectors dont watch the domestic games except the finals or semis.

Unless genuine allrounder, the allrounder should atleast have one skillset which should warrant his selection. Pandya even if he fails with bat with his improved bowling can provide you 3 overs with new ball and a wkt here and there.

Someone like Shedge...if he fails with the bat, his bowling isnt sufficient enough to bail him out. That puts extra pressure on him coz BCCI has projected him as an allrounder.

Its a bits and pieces selection and its okay for T20s

Shedge is backup of backup so it was always gonna be tough

Debuts should be home conditions so players can get confidence 

Afg series was great opportunity to give Vaibhav a debut too. 

11 hours ago, tapandrun said:

This is again a surface level analysis, Ind lost all their games in PP itself nothing to do with allrounders. 

Here is the PP scores of Ind , Ind lost the games in PP itself. Nothing to do with allrounders. Yes Axar/Shedge lacks power game to be able to hit 4/6 consistently in last few overs and Dube is not naturally suited for non sc conditions. But Ind dint lose the game in last 5 over not able to finish big or chase down target. Ind lost the game in PP.

Match Opposition Venue Powerplay Score (Overs 1–6) Top-Order Match Context
1st T20I Ireland Belfast 54/4 Abhishek Sharma hit a quick 50 but wickets collapsed around him.
2nd T20I Ireland Stormont 41/4 Disastrous start with both openers falling for golden ducks in over 1.
1st T20I England Chester-le-Street Abandoned Match called off due to heavy rain without a ball being bowled.
2nd T20I England Manchester 44/2 Under high pressure from tight English lines but managed to limit early wickets.
3rd T20I England Nottingham 52/5 Top order completely broken by Jofra Archer and Josh Tongue.
4th T20I England Bristol 44/2 Lowest score of the tour on a slow, tricky pitch.
5th T20I England Southampton 61/2 Highest powerplay score of the tour, fueled by chasing a massive 258.

Here are Inds top4/5 batters' record in last 2 series, top order lost the games 

Player Matches Runs Average Strike Rate
Sanju Samson 4 33 8.25 113.79
Tilak Varma 7 178 29.67 124.48
Ishan Kishan 7 122 17.43 99.19
Shreyas Iyer 7 260 43.33 176.87

why is that only the openers have  to win games always.. what is the purpose of having middle order then

13 hours ago, aditya19 said:

The team is in transition. Bumrah, bhuvi, shami, siraj,  are our best pacers. After that there is inexperience and dip in quality. Spin cupboard is also bare. Missing kohli in middle order, current players cant adjust.

bhai, ye team saal ke 8 mahine transition me hi hoti hai. stable kab hogA

What is this narrative that this team is in transition. Who are the players who retired, SKY was forced out , he did not retire.

Bumrah should not be needed for every match.

Edited by putrevus
7 hours ago, Rightarmfast said:

I told this before the 1st T20. Ill add to it. Quit treating Arshdeep singh as a reincarnation of Wasim Akram. The guy is a hack. We need to look beyond Arshdeep. We need genuinely good bowlers as the main bowler. 

Hes a good support to Bumrah but struggles when leading an attack 

10 hours ago, Vk1 said:

why is that only the openers have  to win games always.. what is the purpose of having middle order then

Iyer, verma, kishan are middle order. Axar/dube/shedge are lower middle order. If team is losing 3 wkts in pp lower mo can nt really do much.

Feel we need to make normal pitches in T20 and sporting tracks in tests by sporting i meant pitch with good bounce and just shade of grass which helps both teams bowlers for first couple of days then next day and half Good for batting plus helps bit of reverse and last day and half helps spin and reverse

On 7/12/2026 at 9:56 AM, tweaker said:

BCCI review committee will find out

These are like CBI investigations. Nothing comes out of these.

On 7/11/2026 at 9:50 PM, rollingstoned said:

Post ipl also in recent years Indian team haven't performed well immediately after IPL. I can think of the disastrous 2021 T20 world Cup and both wtc finals. 

I think too much cricket. World Cup, even a T20 WC is probably exhausting & then you play this long IPL season. Your mind just tunes out, at least I am tuned out of cricket. I have just watched a couple of balls of the England + Ireland tour. 

We sound like we performed in IPL lol ONly Vaibhav did well consistently. If we strictly talk about performance across conditions it is Sai, Gill who did well.  Patidar is alright.  Krunal did well. Bhuvi did well. We have not really picked the inform IPL players. Axar sucked in IPL, Dube sucked in IPL, Tilak bar one innings laid eggs. Abhishek, Kishan, Sanju, Iyer did well only on good batting wickets.   

12 hours ago, tapandrun said:

Iyer, verma, kishan are middle order. Axar/dube/shedge are lower middle order. If team is losing 3 wkts in pp lower mo can nt really do much.

world champions of all cannot give such excuses