coffee_rules Posted July 26, 2012 Posted July 26, 2012 The money goes to agents/begging mafia, he will be given salrary and 2 meals a day. Do you think they will let a 5 yr old to beg on the streets on their own and earn money. I offer them to give food and eatables. They hardly get to see the money you give them,
Stuge Posted July 26, 2012 Posted July 26, 2012 I once paid an old beggar to wear this hideous mask and freak random people out on the sidewalk.....total paisa vasool I tell ya :haha: you're cruel man
Dravid_TheWall Posted July 26, 2012 Posted July 26, 2012 I don't give money. They have themselves to blame here in the UK. Mostly drug addicts and alcoholics.
Prakat Posted July 26, 2012 Posted July 26, 2012 It's interesting how some of us don't consider beggars to be worthy of the state's concern. And the state doesn't care because they don't vote and the citizens are just happy to keep one bunch of people down. It's like they are sub-humans who are not part of what we consider the fabric of India. In fact, we are annoyed by their existence and just wish we could wish them away. it's not our problem after all.
Laaloo Posted July 26, 2012 Posted July 26, 2012 I used to give before but then after a while I didn't see a point. Yeah giving them money/food is good but how much will you give them? What else are you giving them? Are you going to give money every single time or will you be selective about it? P.S. I have seen people have lived a respectable life from a lot of poverty. I mean being born in poverty is an excuse for sometime but after a while its not. God has given you 2 hands, 2 legs, a mind to think, eyes to see, ears to hear, and mouth to speak/eat. What else do you need? And regardless, who the hell am I to have pity on someone else? I live in the US, but I'm damn sure there are millions in India who are more happier than me. I also believe in Karma, so maybe that's one of the factors of why I think this way.
Dravid_TheWall Posted July 26, 2012 Posted July 26, 2012 I used to give before but then after a while I didn't see a point. Yeah giving them money/food is good but how much will you give them? What else are you giving them? Are you going to give money every single time or will you be selective about it? P.S. I have seen people have lived a respectable life from a lot of poverty. I mean being born in poverty is an excuse for sometime but after a while its not. God has given you 2 hands, 2 legs, a mind to think, eyes to see, ears to hear, and mouth to speak/eat. What else do you need? And regardless, who the hell am I to have pity on someone else? I live in the US, but I'm damn sure there are millions in India who are more happier than me. I also believe in Karma, so maybe that's one of the factors of why I think this way. When I went to India I did give food and money to beggars. I felt there was no escape for their life and it was a cycle. Their kids would also lead a similar hard life. In the UK I have also worked with other medics looking after the health of some homeless people. Most had a positive alcohol and drug history and chose to ignore all the help offered to them by services. I think the situation here is different. I don't view the Indian beggars in the same way if I was generalising.
ravishingravi Posted July 26, 2012 Posted July 26, 2012 Real tough one. I remember forgetting my umbrella in rickshaw some 10 years or so back and a beggar child of 4 or 5 years came running after me to return it. Breaks my heart to this day.
Laaloo Posted July 26, 2012 Posted July 26, 2012 When I went to India I did give food and money to beggars. I felt there was no escape for their life and it was a cycle. Their kids would also lead a similar hard life. In the UK I have also worked with other medics looking after the health of some homeless people. Most had a positive alcohol and drug history and chose to ignore all the help offered to them by services. I think the situation here is different. I don't view the Indian beggars in the same way if I was generalising. Yeah I didnt really mean to generalize, there have been people who have been able to live a respectable life from extreme poverty. I don't have a problem with giving money especially to children. But what else are you giving them? Are you giving them thought/ideas/suggestions that can lead them not to beg on day? Are you at least talking to them? If you keep giving them money/food and no thoughts, then it will never help them in the long run. They will keep on begging till the day they die.
JaFanatic Posted July 26, 2012 Posted July 26, 2012 government should take the responsibility for this issue but our respectable politicians are busy filling their own pockets
Mariyam Posted July 27, 2012 Posted July 27, 2012 It's interesting how some of us don't consider beggars to be worthy of the state's concern. And the state doesn't care because they don't vote and the citizens are just happy to keep one bunch of people down. Not too sure about that. This census (2011) counted even those who were staying under bridges, on railway platforms etc. Or so the census claims. If they can be counted it shouldn't be too difficult to get them on the electoral roll. This is one area, I think where the GoI has had some degree of success. The proportion of those under poverty line has gone down drastically since independence. At least according to the numbers that the GoI provides. Apparently 15 crore people have been lifted out of poverty. Of course, again, subject to the definition of poverty that the government deems apt.
Crookbond Posted July 27, 2012 Posted July 27, 2012 Not too sure about that. This census (2011) counted even those who were staying under bridges, on railway platforms etc. Or so the census claims. If they can be counted it shouldn't be too difficult to get them on the electoral roll. This is one area, I think where the GoI has had some degree of success. The proportion of those under poverty line has gone down drastically since independence. At least according to the numbers that the GoI provides. Apparently 15 crore people have been lifted out of poverty. Of course, again, subject to the definition of poverty that the government deems apt. 28 INR a day which is a joke.
Trichromatic Posted July 27, 2012 Posted July 27, 2012 This is one area, I think where the GoI has had some degree of success. The proportion of those under poverty line has gone down drastically since independence. At least according to the numbers that the GoI provides. Apparently 15 crore people have been lifted out of poverty. Of course, again, subject to the definition of poverty that the government deems apt. Just reduce the poverty line to Re 1 and millions would be lifted above poverty line in a day. Planning Commission on Monday further reduced poverty line to Rs 28.65 per capita daily consumption in cities and Rs 22.42 in rural areas, scaling down India's poverty ratio to 29.8 per cent in 2009-10, the estimates which are likely to raise the hackles of civil society.
EnterTheVoid Posted July 27, 2012 Posted July 27, 2012 Go without eating any food for the next 48 hours. Than, you'll get an idea of the desperation involved when people beg for food.
Sachinism Posted July 27, 2012 Posted July 27, 2012 Exactly. And never ever give money to kids or people with kids. It will only encourage more people to push kids into beggary as kids are the ones who earn the most. Secondly' date=' these kids themselves have a long life ahead of them. If they dont get easy money, they still might learn some skills to earn. Otherwise, if they continue getting easy money by begging, they will take to that life for ever[/quote'] Skills they usually pick up would be pick-pocketing or such.
maniac Posted July 27, 2012 Posted July 27, 2012 Do Street Musicans count?....I know it is harsh to term them as that but if then.....Yes....Don't like beggars....may be I will save this rant for some other time.
maniac Posted July 27, 2012 Posted July 27, 2012 Go without eating any food for the next 48 hours. Than, you'll get an idea of the desperation involved when people beg for food. The govt(atleast in U.S...but I am assuming in Aus it is somewhat similar) has enough policies in place to provide stuff like Food Stamps and also govt shelters.... If we talk about India,then may be you have a point but there are more scamsters than genuine helpless ones.
EnterTheVoid Posted July 28, 2012 Posted July 28, 2012 If we talk about India' date='then may be you have a point but there are more scamsters than genuine helpless ones.[/quote'] I think it is more preferential to buy a beggar food than to give money, especially if the beggar in question is a child. That way, the child gets the food and the beggar mafia get nothing. On the other side, the child may be suspicious of receiving food from strangers and may not accept the offering. I believe in what goes around comes around; If they gain money from money on the pretext for food but spend it on drugs/alcohol, it will come to bite them later on.
EnterTheVoid Posted July 29, 2012 Posted July 29, 2012 Scam like a pro: http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=670_1343406700#comment_page=10