Malcolm Merlyn Posted July 9, 2016 Posted July 9, 2016 Quote MOHAMMAD AMIR will walk out on the green and glorious turf at Lord’s on Thursday — and it will make me feel sick. This is a man who crushed the morality of the game. And yet he is being allowed back to play at the Home of Cricket. Amir should have been banned for life for his part in the corruption scandal of 2010. He is an incredibly talented bowler — he took 6-84 in that infamous Lord’s Test six years ago — but that does not excuse what he did. No matter how good you are, if you sell your soul for 30 pieces of silver, you have to pay the consequences. And I don’t think he has.Amir should have been banned for life as a proper deterrent The authorities could and should have created a much stronger deterrent across world cricket by making sure Amir never played again. I’ve heard all the arguments that Amir, like all criminals, should be reintegrated after serving his time (he was banned from cricket for five years and served half of a six-month sentence in a young offenders’ institution). But there is a bigger picture here. If you want to protect the integrity of the game, help cricket grow and inspire youngsters, there can be no place for corrupt players. You must have proper deterrents. In rugby, if you hit a referee, you’re banned for life. There’s no comeback from that. No argument or tribunal, you’re gone. The other mitigation for some is that, at just 18 and from a humble background where he learnt to obey his elders, Amir was an easily led, innocent victim, lured by his captain, Salman Butt, and a slippery agent. Again, it doesn’t wash. If you’re 18 and commit a crime, you go to prison https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/cricket/1414688/cricket-cheat-mohammad-amirs-return-to-lords-sickens-me-this-match-fixer-should-have-been-banned-for-life/ tweaker 1
Ankit_sharma03 Posted July 9, 2016 Posted July 9, 2016 Amir has gone through his punishment people should get on with their lives. Being banned from a game for 5 yrs when ur peeking isnt a small punishment. Most cricketers in pakistan arent well educated and they are straight away being put in an enviorment where they have bunch of match fixers, corrupt system, cricketers suffering from lack of money n security all this could impact any young cricketers mind. Guys like Asif ,sreesanth, salman butt shud be banned for life as they played enough to understand whats right and wrong. As far as pommies goes they are cry babies, n i feel they r pissing in their pants expecting amir against their not so formidable batting line up. Amir is a gr8 talent n world cricket needs bowling superstars like him in the age of batting supremacy. sscomp32 and tweaker 2
jf1gp_1 Posted July 10, 2016 Posted July 10, 2016 Shows Pak has a no bench. they cheats like amir and oldies like misbah who is 42 in playing XI. Yet every ex pak player keeps talking about the enormous talent they have in every 'gali'. Rasgulla, sourab10forever and adi B 3
tweaker Posted July 10, 2016 Posted July 10, 2016 ideally this young & talented theory should not be used in the context of match fixing.Are we ready if another young bowler goes the same path as Amir.Many young players who have Amir as their role models will follow his actions & plead they're from humble background etc. express bowling 1
Malcolm Merlyn Posted July 10, 2016 Author Posted July 10, 2016 The law allows him to return and play.Thats fine. But to expect everyone to forget what he did and respect him like any other cricketer is wrong.He will cop abuse throughout his career. And sorry this innocent young guy led astray and talented etc etc doesnt cut much.He is allowed to return because the law says so and not because of above stated reasons. CoverDrive 1
CoverDrive Posted July 11, 2016 Posted July 11, 2016 22 hours ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: The law allows him to return and play.Thats fine. But to expect everyone to forget what he did and respect him like any other cricketer is wrong.He will cop abuse throughout his career. And sorry this innocent young guy led astray and talented etc etc doesnt cut much.He is allowed to return because the law says so and not because of above stated reasons. yup this is pretty much my thought. He is back and it is good for him but he has to face up to what he has done. Can't blame if there are people like Swann who don't want him play. Amir can help his case by making people more favorable towards him by talking honestly about what he did and showing genuine regret. So far the sense that you get is he is just being smart about the whole thing. Anyway lot of sports have crooked individuals still playing. Juventus is back in the top leagues and I am sure there are many such examples. tweaker 1
SLICKR392 Posted July 11, 2016 Posted July 11, 2016 Agree with Swann. Who gives a jack shyte if this guy did it out of ignorance or not, stupid twat cheated! tweaker 1
sourab10forever Posted July 11, 2016 Posted July 11, 2016 11 minutes ago, SLICKR392 said: Agree with Swann. Who gives a jack shyte if this guy did it out of ignorance or not, stupid twat cheated! Me too.Once a cheat...now the main bowler in the same team.All that nonsense long talks for nothing now...
Iconoclast Posted July 11, 2016 Posted July 11, 2016 Swann's drunk driving and the fact that he got off despite having positive blood samples sickens me.
kosingh Posted July 12, 2016 Posted July 12, 2016 At least Amir's crime did not put other people's lives in danger.
Ankit_sharma03 Posted July 12, 2016 Posted July 12, 2016 (edited) Now its pietersen - Pietersen admitted that players who under-perform in return of money fool the spectators and the sport, "If you cheat the system either by taking drugs or money to under-perform then you are mugging the spectators, your teammates and a sport that has been around a lot longer than you.” full article- http://www.sportskeeda.com/cricket/fixers-dont-deserve-get-second-chance-says-kevin-pietersen?ref=sk I wonder if he has same opinion about his hampshire captain warne was banned for drugs Edited July 12, 2016 by Ankit_sharma03 tweaker 1
velu Posted July 12, 2016 Posted July 12, 2016 i guess swann is trying to put pressure on amir .. if the ball swings english players are sitting ducks for amir tweaker 1
mishra Posted July 12, 2016 Posted July 12, 2016 Since Andrew Strauss took director role of ECB, Swann and KP have been completely sidelined. They have better role as presenter, columnist and writter.
Ankit_sharma03 Posted July 12, 2016 Posted July 12, 2016 (edited) S Tendulkar "Amir's a good bowler, has a huge amount of skill & if he gets his rhythm right he can hopefully do something special" "It's fine Amir is back. He's already been punished. He's served the sentence and he is back after he was penalised" Edited July 12, 2016 by Ankit_sharma03 velu and tweaker 2
tweaker Posted July 12, 2016 Posted July 12, 2016 Amir return pays the way for another young,players to repeat his mistake.
Lala Posted July 16, 2016 Posted July 16, 2016 On 7/10/2016 at 7:58 PM, Viper said: @Lala bhai Kuch bolna hai ? arre viper bhai. just forget the past. mistakes happen. look over the future. Amir will have a great future ahead. watch out.
Zero_Unit Posted July 17, 2016 Posted July 17, 2016 Oh man, this guy already went through his punishment. Time to move on people ... we all made some dumba** decision during our teen years.