Umesh Yadav needs to skip international 50 overs for a while

Cricketics

7 minutes ago, express bowling said:

Umesh may not be the answer but I want to find new skillful fast bowlers.  Indians are not inclined to bowl with effort and we need role models like Shami doing well....which will inspire the new-gen seamers to bowl with effort , pace as well as skill.  We have started developing a fst bowling culture after decades of cricket and I don't want it destroyed. Our case ids very different from the rest of the world who are naturally inclined to bowl quick.

It is not being destroyed if we drop one pacer for another one from our Ranji. If we drop Umesh for another and have Bumrah, Pandya, Shami and someone different like Bhuvi in the squad doesn't mean the bowling culture is being destroyed. We are asking for one change and that's it. It is ODI cricket where you have certain number of bowlers in squad and you rotate and that is where the game is now. Down the line, we will even have to rotate Bumrah at times to keep him fit when he is playing a lot of cricket, though since he is not part of the set up, he will continue to play most games unlike Shami who need to be watched even more. But having someone like Bhuvi along will only have them have some different options and not look like a one dimensional bowling attack. Even Australia introduces different kind of bowlers. We are not as good as them, but at least need to realize that ideally we can not have 3 extremely fast bowlers every time who are trying to hit 150s or 140ish. It is good to have someone different, and that is why there are so many people out here on ICF who want someone like Bhuvi.

1 hour ago, Texan said:

No, I am not looking for loopholes to support Bhuv. I actually mentioned that I will take any Tom, Dick or Harry over Umesh today. Perhaps, your snide remark on reading is directed at yourself. 

Picking Tom, Dick or Harry   [ I hope they are Indians  : )  ]    over  Umesh does not preclude you from supporting Bhuvi at all costs....it just  shows your immense dislike  for  Umesh.    In actuality, you would pick Bhuvi as the first seamer if you were choosing an Indian team.

3 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

It is not being destroyed if we drop one pacer for another one from our Ranji. If we drop Umesh for another and have Bumrah, Pandya, Shami and someone different like Bhuvi in the squad doesn't mean the bowling culture is being destroyed. We are asking for one change and that's it. It is ODI cricket where you have certain number of bowlers in squad and you rotate and that is where the game is now. Down the line, we will even have to rotate Bumrah at times to keep him fit when he is playing a lot of cricket, though since he is not part of the set up, he will continue to play most games unlike Shami who need to be watched even more. But having someone like Bhuvi along will only have them have some different options and not look like a one dimensional bowling attack. Even Australia introduces different kind of bowlers. We are not as good as them, but at least need to realize that ideally we can not have 3 extremely fast bowlers every time who are trying to hit 150s or 140ish. It is good to have someone different, and that is why there are so many people out here on ICF who want someone like Bhuvi.

If we are looking for variety much better to have a left arm pacer like Sran in the mix along with Bumrah, Shami and Pandya.

4 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

Sran can be a very good variation bowler in ODIs.

1 minute ago, Mosher said:

If we are looking for variety much better to have a left arm pacer like Sran in the mix along with Bumrah, Shami and Pandya.

No harm, All for it. The dude did good in Australia and then got injured and has been inactive. I am all for it. But we have to have variety is the key in ODI Cricket. In test cricket also similar applies, but ODI cricket a little more since variations work better in ODI cricket due to lack of time available for the batsman.

8 hours ago, Cricketics said:

No harm, All for it. The dude did good in Australia and then got injured and has been inactive. I am all for it. But we have to have variety is the key in ODI Cricket. In test cricket also similar applies, but ODI cricket a little more since variations work better in ODI cricket due to lack of time available for the batsman.

Even among our right-arm fast bowlers....there is variation....there is difference in release points, trajectory, skidding ability  as well as bowling type.

Shami.....Short height skiddy seam bowler

Umesh....Medium height skiddy swing bowler

Ishant.....Very tall bouncy seam bowler

Pandya --- Tall, reasonably bouncy, seam and swing bowler

Bumrah ....Medium height seam bowler with awkward action

Shardul... Short skiddy swing bowler

Aaron ...Medium height skiddy seam and swing bowler

Edited by express bowling
7 minutes ago, express bowling said:

Even among our right-arm fast bowlers....there is variation....there is difference in release points, trajectory, skidding ability  as well as bowling type.

Shami.....Short height seam bowler

Umesh....Medium height swing bowler

Ishant.....Very tall seam bowler

Pandya --- Tall seam and swing bowler

Bumrah ....Medium height seam bowler with awkward action

Shardul... Short swing bowler

Aaron ...Medium height seam and swing bowler

Yes, those are weapons and what they can do. It is like writing on a Resume. How much they use those things is eventually what matters. Umesh clearly did not use his swing to his advantage in ODI Cricket. He has lacked the control and bowling a lot on the pads of the bowler, only to be flicked away for four.

Unlike all those,  Bhuvi's strength of mixing up the pace along with swinging etc is also part of his Resume, but it is something which can really be handy for India. He can be good both up front with the new ball and with the old ball in the death. Him along with Bumrah or Aaron at times or even Shami bowling in death can work wonders for us and even up front with the new ball when he is paired up with any other faster bowler.

Yes, I know you like averages and his numbers do not show. I can't deny that, but he needs to be given more chance to show. He is back after injury and pre injury, he had a bad year but he always looked good and many feel that he wasn't lucky enough to get the wickets.

Bowling averages drop fast and raise fast. Soon you will find him in early 30s once he starts playing more cricket for India in ODI's.

I could just say that if Shammi is not playing for INDIA ( in ODI's) them Umesh is a MUST HAVE.

bumrah and hardik do touch 144k+ but occasionally and bumrah is a good bowler and hardik is Improving. I liked the ball that hit the helmet.

if shammi is bowling , he has pace and swing both then I am fine to rest UMESH as shammi bowls 136 to 146k and is much better than bumrah ,hardik and umesh.

Had bhuvi played in yesterday's small size pune ground...batsman wud have picked him from mid Pitch...Just think 140+ pacers were being attacked..128 to 137k pacer bhuvi would have got how many sixes and it was a swinging pitch in the afternoon that bk wud have swung the ball.

umesh nearly got a wicket in first spell and created few chances.

11 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

Unlike all those,  Bhuvi's strength of mixing up the pace along with swinging etc is also part of his Resume, but it is something which can really be handy for India.

Even Umesh swings the ball but swing is condition dependent and ball hardly swings in India.

Umesh actually bowled some really good yorokers.  But ali brilnatly opened face and hit 4.  Yadav bowled one great yorker on leg stump but ali just somehow squeezed in to off side for 4.

Thats odi folks, days like this happen to much better bowlers.

Do not judge on one match, be fair.

How has he done in last series and over last year would be responsible way to judge

Plz did we see both the innings, even the English bowlers were taken to the cleaners, Umesh bowled some very good Yorkers, some guys just can't wait for a chance to go at Umesh coz he is fast, ridiculous also think Bhuvi is a Steyn, he is as mediocre as the come, even English allrounders Woakes and Stokes are better then the Bhuvi, open your eyes,Pandya bowled very well, hit the deck n was able to get movement n some bounce, Umesh has improved but still can think about getting g some bounce n variations, he bowled very good Yorkers, what he needs to do better is start thinking , out think the batter, a good bowling coach is needed.

5 hours ago, Cricketics said:

Totally agreed that we need to develop a culture and we have Players like Bumrah to develop such culture too.

If we need to develop a culture, we should start that by dropping one for another faster one, who might not be as fast as Umesh, but at least fast enough for Int'l cricket. But we have not done that.

Not all three seamers have to be like Umesh's speed.

We are playing Umesh on regular basis in Test Cricket. But when it comes to ODI cricket, we need to make sure who are our best options. We have tried Umesh for a while, and even though the guy is faster than most, if he does not work, we have to bring a new one instead of waiting for him to do good. We need to give chanceS to all those Ranji prospecs who are also bowling fast, I am talking about all the names which we keep mentioning in the Ranji threads and many here are rightly ranting about how such bowlers are never given chances. Yes, it is hight time to pick those bowlers over  Umesh right now. This is how culture is developed for fast bowling.

Umesh has worked the last two years. Bhuvi can't get wickets. Your main bowlers need to take wickets. 16 wickets in the last 15 matches for bhuvi is piss poor. 

Umesh Yadav should only play tests. In shorter formats I would prefer Bhuvi and Sandeep Sharma to him. Hope Sandeep Sharma gets an extended run with the team in shorter formats. The guy's good and forces batsmen to score runs rather than gift freebies.

Sandeep shrarma is not a international material bowling at 125k won't help

Sent from my Micromax A311 using Tapatalk

3 hours ago, speedheat said:

Sandeep shrarma is not a international material bowling at 125k won't help

Sent from my Micromax A311 using Tapatalk

I'm big on Sandeep Sharma. The guy is as accurate as they come and can swing the ball both ways. Give him a decent run with the side and he will surprise you.

I am a big fan Yadav. He was the highest wickettaker in the wcup for us. But i do agree, he gets hit for runs but let's face it. On Indian roads, who doesn't.

As Amir Khan said in the movie Dangal, athletes paidon par nahi ugte, unhe banana padta hai. 

Yadav is the only genuine quick (still bowls 140 plus in 10 over or 5th day post tea), and I am sure he is a guy we should keep faith in.

However,I am still a huge fan of Bhuvi, Shami and Bumrah and they all should be rotated along with Umesh. But please, no more Ishant, VKoomars, Arvind, Mohit, UNathkat, and our 130 plus brigade.  

Edited by rahulrulezz

^ Ishant is still useful as the 3rd seamer in tests as he can hold one end up and on his day can run through batting sides. Obviously that day doesnt come often. The problem is finding that 2nd seamer.