The disaster which this really isn't

So I am reading lot of comments and feel that some people are comparing this to even 2007 disaster that we need over haul etc. I need to remind that we haven't lost or gotten knocked out in the first round. So reaction to that is quite OTT.

Reaction to changes in the team is valid and that is always valid after every ICC tournament, you do good or bad we have always looked on to changing team when we havent won and hence here too we should be talking about the place of the seniors rightly.

But all in all, this tournament was a success for us. We reached finals and lost to a team which was good in the day. We did not really play extremely bad.

People are hurt because it was a defeat to Pakistan for the title and hence it is making many think that this was a disaster.

Yes, we surely need to make changes and talk about the seniors, but we had a pretty good tour to England where our top 3 batted really well and our bowlers looked good like Bhuvi and Pandya.

If we reached he finals, we have achieved success.

A loss by 180 runs in a ODI game is a disaster in itself.

And that coming in a final is shocking. But, we all know that the Indian team is a far far better team than what they showed on the field today.

57 minutes ago, Pollack said:

Bro no offense but your last line is so wrong and I thought you were Delhi wala. Nobody cares for runnersup. Only winners are remembered.

No one cares about runnersup, I don't either but this doesn't mean we played bad.  Thats the whole point of the post. If that is all you took out from that line then you need to read the thread again and understand the message.

Sometimes the best teams

miss out on cups like Australia and England did by losing one game. It can happen in these crazy tournaments. Thats what just happened.

I know my team is great and eventually we will get Pak and other teams and get the tropphy. May be in 2019.

51 minutes ago, Adi_91 said:

And that coming in a final is shocking. But, we all know that the Indian team is a far far better team than what they showed on the field today.

Exact point. Bad day at the office. 

2 minutes ago, Haarkarjeetgaye said:

I find this a loser mentality, but may be that is just me

But the earth doesn't come crashing down and a good ODI outfit doesn't turn into mediocre by just one game. Right?

4 minutes ago, Haarkarjeetgaye said:

I find this a loser mentality, but may be that is just me

Loser mentality is to blame players after one bad game while they somianted the whole tournament.

That is losers attitude because our top 3 played like champions in this tournament. This is a fact. 

Eng should be the one complaining the most. Not because Eng usually do but this time they were a strong contender and unfortunately dropped out because of a bad day at the office 

Ind would have been better off with some of the recommended changes but the selected 11 was still good enough to win. But things just did not turn out as desired 

Credit also to Pak for playing well 

4 minutes ago, Adi_91 said:

But the earth doesn't come crashing down and a good ODI outfit doesn't turn into mediocre by just one game. Right?

It does not, but if one cannot see the obvious flaws in our approach, then we are ok with being mediocre. Our batting approach hasn't been very good in any of the 5 games. Okayish in the game against Bangladesh 

3 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

Loser mentality is to blame players after one bad game while they somianted the whole tournament.

That is losers attitude because our top 3 played like champions in this tournament. This is a fact. 

I am blaming their approach. I can see it clearly. It is for the selectors and management  to blame , drop and change. I am pointing out flaws which I am surprised very few on this site agree to.

2 minutes ago, Haarkarjeetgaye said:

It does not, but if one cannot see the obvious flaws in our approach, then we are ok with being mediocre. Our batting approach hasn't been very good in any of the 5 games. Okayish in the game against Bangladesh 

I am critical too of our approach batting first. Thankfully we are still 2 years away from the World Cup. So we can fix it before the big games arrive.

11 minutes ago, Adi_91 said:

Which good ODI outfit are you talking about? Between last World Cup and this tournament, if you exclude matches against Zimbabwe, our win-loss record is:

Won: 9

Lost: 12

Lost series in Aus

Lost series in Bangla

Lost home series vs SA

Beat NZ by one game in home series

Beat Eng by one game in home series

9 minutes ago, Adi_91 said:

I am critical too of our approach batting first. Thankfully we are still 2 years away from the World Cup. So we can fix it before the big games arrive.

Thankfully you agree there is an issue with our batting approach. 

1 minute ago, Texan said:

Which good ODI outfit are you talking about? Between last World Cup and this tournament, if you exclude matches against Zimbabwe, our win-loss record is:

Won: 9

Lost: 12

Lost series in Aus

Lost series in Bangla

Lost home series vs SA

Beat NZ by one game in home series

Beat Eng by one game in home series

Barring the Bangladesh loss, all other series was between the top sides, so we haven't been great, but not bad either.

India turn on their A game come the ICC tournaments. In a way, a tired Dhoni as captain after all these years was also responsible for these not so great performances. 

16 minutes ago, Haarkarjeetgaye said:

I am blaming their approach. I can see it clearly. It is for the selectors and management  to blame , drop and change. I am pointing out flaws which I am surprised very few on this site agree to.

But who you want to drop? You should be specific yaar? Drop Kohli? Drop Rohit.

Sabke naam le bhai, sabko pata lage. Pura  post mortem karenge, fikar nahi. 

1 minute ago, Adi_91 said:

Barring the Bangladesh loss, all other series was between the top sides, so we haven't been great, but not bad either.

India turn on their A game come the ICC tournaments. In a way, a tired Dhoni as captain after all these years was also responsible for these not so great performances. 

Disagree. With the kind of talent we have waiting in the wings, we should be dominating World cricket. We won only two home series, those too close ones. But no, we play the same old warhorses who have long lost their mojo. 

I hope this serves as a wake up call, but considering who the selectors are, I doubt anything will change. We will co tinue playing with this "mediocrity is acceptable" standard because some of our public continue to applaud mediocrity.