Adi_91 Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 1 minute ago, Texan said: Disagree. With the kind of talent we have waiting in the wings, we should be dominating World cricket. We won only two home series, those too close ones. But no, we play the same old warhorses who have long lost their mojo. I hope this serves as a wake up call, but considering who the selectors are, I doubt anything will change. We will co tinue playing with this "mediocrity is acceptable" standard because some of our public continue to applaud mediocrity. Agree with you. The selectors did not do a great job with the team selected for Windies. MCcricket 1
maniac Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 13 minutes ago, Cricketics said: But who you want to drop? You should be specific yaar? Drop Kohli? Drop Rohit. Sabke naam le bhai, sabko pata lage. Pura post mortem karenge, fikar nahi. You think Yuvraj should continue? What aout Dhoni? Is Jadeja a match winner? I know what you think about Ashwin so won't ask you that because even I agree. Is Misraji the solution? When is the right time to bring in youngsters? Do we have some passengers in the team? I will sit back and read to your thoughts...let us see if you think this is a disaster or not
maniac Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 @Cricketics these are not knee jerk reactions.People have been calling out on Yuvraj and Dhoni even when we were doing well because we know that it is a backward step playing them and they were done....Today it was justified. Jadeja's lack of allround ability and darts have been challenged too. People also said that Ashwin has to be replaced by Kuldeep or Chahal. so tell me what knee jerk reactions you are seeing? Texan, Laaloo, Hell Raiser and 1 other 4
Haarkarjeetgaye Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 23 minutes ago, Cricketics said: But who you want to drop? You should be specific yaar? Drop Kohli? Drop Rohit. Sabke naam le bhai, sabko pata lage. Pura post mortem karenge, fikar nahi. Why does it have to be a drop. It is the batting approach which is faulty. There has to be a direction from Kohli to Rohit and Dhawan to take calculated risks, the point Kohli made about Zaman in the post match conference today. That is the issue. If really someone has to be dropped from this team, it is Yuvraj for certain, but I don't blame him or our middle order. It is our top 3 who have gobbled up most of the balls, trying to score big. Faulty approach. Adi_91 1
Late Cut Posted June 18, 2017 Posted June 18, 2017 It's not about this one game, it's about how this team can be better. There are clearly players who do not belong in the one day squad and can be replaced with better and younger contributors with more potential. Ashwin is not a good ODI player and has never really been one and Yuvraj is laborious at his age. Replacing these two is a step in making the team better.
Number Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 Dont agree with posts suggesting overhaul. Though a couple of changes are needed.
maniac Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 2 minutes ago, Number said: Dont agree with posts suggesting overhaul. Though a couple of changes are needed. DHoni,Yuvi,Ashwin,Jadeja,Karthik,Rahane that's nearly half the squad MCcricket 1
Deleted_User_1 Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 2 hours ago, Haarkarjeetgaye said: I find this a loser mentality, but may be that is just me Tics is the biggest loser complacent mind on ICF!!!
Adi_91 Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 10 minutes ago, dandaroy said: Tics is the biggest loser complacent mind on ICF!!! Danda, you should have opened jinx/antijinx thread yesterday.
Deleted_User_1 Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 5 minutes ago, Adi_91 said: Danda, you should have opened jinx/antijinx thread yesterday. This time I thought I did not need it. Man was I fooled!!!
Vk1 Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 Teams world over plan from a world cup to world cup basis. Ours is perhaps the only team that has no clue who are our 4,5,6,7,8 and 10 for 2019 . We should start the musical chairs game at least now to find those missing spots.
SK_IH Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 i am not displeased with pak winning the title,its good more competition in cricket which i like to see and any ways their team is more or less still flawed but pakistan can get into such a roll it was same in wt20 2009 but am, not happy with virat way of thinking as far as team selection is concerned and captaincy Adi_91 1
Pollack Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 4 hours ago, Adi_91 said: Barring the Bangladesh loss, all other series was between the top sides, so we haven't been great, but not bad either. India turn on their A game come the ICC tournaments. In a way, a tired Dhoni as captain after all these years was also responsible for these not so great performances. If you just about manage to win a series in home then it is not good actually. So series was between top sides. Is that an excuse. Is India a minnow side that winning against top sides closely or losing is considered good.
Adi_91 Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 4 minutes ago, Pollack said: If you just about manage to win a series in home then it is not good actually. So series was between top sides. Is that an excuse. Is India a minnow side that winning against top sides closely or losing is considered good. Well, anyway you guys all attributed it to Dhoni. Since he's gone, things should now look better right? Am optimistic that this Indian side can be successful, but we need to set sights on the Cup that counts.
Pollack Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 1 minute ago, Adi_91 said: Well, anyway you guys all attributed it to Dhoni. Since he's gone, things should now look better right? Am optimistic that this Indian side can be successful, but we need to set sights on the Cup that counts. Where has he gone bro? He wants to play Wc2019. Subcontinent greats just don't understand when to retire. Look if you bring in youngsters without being cynical about experience and such nonsense results would show. Pakistan after first match dropped Wahab, Ahmed Shahzad. Brought in Fakhar, faheem and shadab into the tournament. They were not hesistant to throw this youngsters into the real deal. They did not care about fakhar having no prior England conditions experience. Neither about debuting him in a big tournament. Results are everybody to see. All those guns fired in one or more matches.
Adi_91 Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 2 minutes ago, Pollack said: Where has he gone bro? He wants to play Wc2019. Subcontinent greats just don't understand when to retire. Look if you bring in youngsters without being cynical about experience and such nonsense results would show. Pakistan after first match dropped Wahab, Ahmed Shahzad. Brought in Fakhar, faheem and shadab into the tournament. They were not hesistant to throw this youngsters into the real deal. They did not care about fakhar having no prior England conditions experience. Neither about debuting him in a big tournament. Results are everybody to see. All those guns fired in one or more matches. I personally as an ardent fan want him to go now as well. I think this is the right time. But, ideally Pant should play alongside him for sometime before he retires. Will be good for Indian cricket. beetle and Pollack 2
Cricketics Posted June 19, 2017 Author Posted June 19, 2017 6 hours ago, maniac said: @Cricketics these are not knee jerk reactions.People have been calling out on Yuvraj and Dhoni even when we were doing well because we know that it is a backward step playing them and they were done....Today it was justified. Jadeja's lack of allround ability and darts have been challenged too. People also said that Ashwin has to be replaced by Kuldeep or Chahal. so tell me what knee jerk reactions you are seeing? Where did I mention knee jerk reaction? I think you quoted the wrong guy. GoldenSun 1
King Tendulkar Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 6 hours ago, maniac said: You think Yuvraj should continue? What aout Dhoni? Is Jadeja a match winner? I know what you think about Ashwin so won't ask you that because even I agree. Is Misraji the solution? When is the right time to bring in youngsters? Do we have some passengers in the team? I will sit back and read to your thoughts...let us see if you think this is a disaster or not You read his op properly . He not sayjng don't analyse and make some valid changes but ott reaction is thick . Based on most a brand new team is needed . Lol 11 changes lol
Pollack Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 7 hours ago, Haarkarjeetgaye said: I find this a loser mentality, but may be that is just me Your moniker says otherwise. Laaloo 1
StriKe Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 (edited) 8 hours ago, Cricketics said: So I am reading lot of comments and feel that some people are comparing this to even 2007 disaster that we need over haul etc. I need to remind that we haven't lost or gotten knocked out in the first round. So reaction to that is quite OTT. Reaction to changes in the team is valid and that is always valid after every ICC tournament, you do good or bad we have always looked on to changing team when we havent won and hence here too we should be talking about the place of the seniors rightly. But all in all, this tournament was a success for us. We reached finals and lost to a team which was good in the day. We did not really play extremely bad. People are hurt because it was a defeat to Pakistan for the title and hence it is making many think that this was a disaster. Yes, we surely need to make changes and talk about the seniors, but we had a pretty good tour to England where our top 3 batted really well and our bowlers looked good like Bhuvi and Pandya. If we reached he finals, we have achieved success. Yes reactions are OTT and we performed good but team doesn't need overhaul. We didn't achieve success, Trophy counts in the end, Why? Same way members bought up how many times Dhoni has failed in Finals and SF in IPL.It will happen to Kohli. Sending UV/Ashwin/Jadeja/Dhoni to WI Tour - What success does it bring it for the future? You have to cross the finish line and hold the trophy, runner up doesn't count in Cricket. Edited June 19, 2017 by StriKe