Has IPL hurt Indian Cricket?

Stradlater

11 hours ago, mishra said:

Back to IPL, It should be made mandatory to share certain percentage of revenue as bonus to test specialists. I am sure it wont be more than 0.01% to make test cricketer interested in doing well1

why ??? 

Test specialist get good money from BCCI, and they can go play county and earn  may not be as much but still good money. 

Aur paisa chahiye to in btw series go join some news network or commentary team ....acha paisa milega

Watever Indian players earn is enough, but again paisa jitna mile utna kum lagta hai

10 hours ago, Singh bling said:

And please see most run getters and wicket takers of Ranji trophy 2017 -18 very few of them were seen in IPL and hardly any of them picked in Indian test team .So it is fault of selectors to pick K L Rahul and Pant ahead of those who scored in Ranji

Where did you learn this? KL Rahul got picked into Test side because of his excellent performance in one of the domestic seasons. He was not even a regular in IPL until 2-3 years after his debut for India. 

14 hours ago, anoop S said:

Pujara still is a flop overseas batsman so i will still say IPL has nothing to do with this debacle.

Infact butler's performance has improved in test after IPL 2018 (though i will again say nothing to do with IPL)

Pujara has the second highest average amongst all batsmen this series. 

35 minutes ago, anoop S said:

2nd means nothing when difference between first and 2nd is massive. Moreover he doesnt play IPL and was playing county still couldnt make any difference. His overall record outside asia is pathetic.

Second highest average not just from our team but also from both teams . Yes his overall performance has not impressed but the likes of Dhawan and rahane need to be replaced before pujara is. 

I think ipl has psychological and monetary impact on players will.

If I make 2 crores say in a season and if I am from a middle class or lower middle class that is a lot. There are 10 teams with 100 spots for grabs. 

I can get into that and make my life. All i need is 1 good year .

So with decent efforts and some eye catchy knocks or bowling my life is set.

Case in point unadkut.  Why will he even try harder .

So I think ipl has brought in easy money and low level talent to succeed.

Bumrah is an exception than the norm.

I don't think so, even players who don't play in the IPL failed for the most part ie Shami and Vijay. Kohli and Bumrah play all IPL matches and they have been stars without a doubt. 

I think it is the lack of practice matches. Look how much better the team has played in the last 3 matches with the bat vs the 1st two, although pitches are different as well.

5 hours ago, Lannister said:

Where did you learn this? KL Rahul got picked into Test side because of his excellent performance in one of the domestic seasons. He was not even a regular in IPL until 2-3 years after his debut for India. 

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/records/batting/most_runs_career.html?id=12014;type=tournament

Just check the name of top 10 run scorers apart vihari none of them got chance.If Ranji is qualification exam for test team then on what basis these players are not selected.Look at Anmolpreet Singh 100 plus average with 20 year of age.Surely deserve  a chance

1 hour ago, prasen82 said:

If I make 2 crores say in a season and if I am from a middle class or lower middle class that is a lot. There are 10 teams with 100 spots for grabs. 

Playing for country is passion for emerging cricketers.All dream of becoming big , surely you can make money in IPL but for a big name you have to play for country

1 hour ago, prasen82 said:

Exactly!!!. Why toil years and years for lesser monetary rewards while you can do it in 2 months

Edited by Stan AF
6 hours ago, rkt.india said:

Absolutely, we were winning all overseas test series before IPL ruined our cricket.

We did if you care to check the history.

Australia: 1-1, later lost 2-1 in 2007-08 but we all know how that series played out.

Pakistan: 2-1 

South Africa: 1-1 

West Indies: 1-0

NZ: 1-0

England: 1-0 

But carry on with your agenda.

24 minutes ago, Singh bling said:

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/records/batting/most_runs_career.html?id=12014;type=tournament

Just check the name of top 10 run scorers apart vihari none of them got chance.If Ranji is qualification exam for test team then on what basis these players are not selected.Look at Anmolpreet Singh 100 plus average with 20 year of age.Surely deserve  a chance

You said Rahul got his Test spot based on his IPL performance. That's not true. He was one of the top scorers in Ranji cricket when he made his Test debut.

It's too soon for Anmolpreet Singh. Let him play A tours first.