Which was man to man the strongest team ever to play in the cricket world cup ?

40 members have voted

1. 1. Which was man to man the strongest team ever to play in the cricket world cup ?

• Pakistan 1999
    • West Indies 1979
    • West Indies 1983
    • India 2011
    • Australia 2015
    • England 1992
    • South Africa 1999
    • India 1983
    • Sri Lanka 1996
    • India 1987
    • Pakistan 1987
    • South Africa 1992
    • Pakistan 1979
    • Australia 2003
    • Australia 2007
    • Sri Lanka 2007
    • Australia 1999
    • Pakistan 1975
    • West Indies 1975
    • Australia 1987

'Big Bird' Joel Garner is ODI GOAT, never forget that. No one else comes close, 1st name in my team sheet if I were to pick an AT ODI XI. 

Bond though extremely good is overrated. His career was too short and he hardly stepped out of his comfort zone. WI pace quartet was as effective in the SC as in Aus, Eng, WI.

4 minutes ago, Gollum said:

I ask again, how is 1999 Pak above WI/Oz in OP's list?

Comparing teams from different era is always tricky but in 1999 WC definitely SA and Pak were clear favorites not sure I would place them above 1983 WI or 03/7 Aus. The biggest problem with Pak was and has always been is consistency ...they should have won 1987 WC but lost to Aus full of rookies. Same with SA 1999 team which was again extremely talented team but lacked killer instinct to finish games. I think besides WI 80s and Aus 2000s no other team dominated cricket Test/ODI so ruthlessly. 

2 hours ago, singhprakash72 said:

Comparing teams from different era is always tricky but in 1999 WC definitely SA and Pak were clear favorites not sure I would place them above 1983 WI or 03/7 Aus. The biggest problem with Pak was and has always been is consistency ...they should have won 1987 WC but lost to Aus full of rookies. Same with SA 1999 team which was again extremely talented team but lacked killer instinct to finish games. I think besides WI 80s and Aus 2000s no other team dominated cricket Test/ODI so ruthlessly. 

SA was the strongest team in 1999.  Aus wasn't. Even Scotland beaten Aus then.  Not sure about Pak.  SA were running away till they choked. Same was in 1996.  SA were strongest even then.

Did you just place the 1999 Pak team above ATG WI and Oz? You do over rate Pakistanis a lot but this is crazy, can't take you seriously sorry. 

No need for getting your knickers in a twist man. It’s he’s opinion. You are just vexed because he rates Pakistan.

Tanda ho ja. Have some roo afza with ice.
3 hours ago, cric_fan said:

No need for getting your knickers in a twist man. It’s he’s opinion. You are just vexed because he rates Pakistan.

If someone makes a stupid opinion, he deserves to be called out. Tu shant ho ja. 

7 hours ago, cric_fan said:

So you don't question his logic, or the points he makes, but jump to the conclusion that he's saying it because he's "anti" Pakistan.  

Be better.

On 3/28/2019 at 3:33 PM, Gollum said:

Let us play by @rkt.india's rules, checking stats (Avg, SR combo)...

Dhawan (45, 94)>Gilly (36, 97)

Rohit (47, 88)>Hayden (44, 79)

Kohli (59, 93)>Ponting (42, 80)

Rayudu (47, 79)>Martyn (41, 78)

Jadhav (43, 103)>Symonds (40, 92)

Dhoni (51, 88)>Bevan (54, 74)

Pandya (29, 117)=Lehmann (39, 81)

Hence proved that 2019 Indian batting line up>>>>2003 Australian batting line up. That sounds reassuring:laugh:

With bowlers like Bumrah, Shami, Kulcha this 2019 Indian team might be the mightiest ODI team to walk on the planet . Just how did they manage to lose to the 3rd string Aussie team at home a few days back? Could it be that current Aussie team is its strongest in history? Or that India had a temporary blip and normalcy will be restored when our ruthless unbeaten run in the upcoming WC will make people forget about the undefeated campaigns of 2003/07 Aus :dontknow:.

@rkt.india Haven't heard back from you buddy. Ki haal chaal hai, sab badhiya :hello:?

On 3/27/2019 at 8:21 PM, putrevus said:

There is no team in history which would score against that 1983 WI bowling easily. That is the best ever bowling attack in any world cup team.Even without spinner those four giants would make run scoring tough for any team in any conditions.

They would demolish any Aussie world cup winning team easily in a series.

Greatest pace attack of all.However may not have relished the flat tracks of modern times and so many restrictions on short pitched stuff.West Indies also did not have genuine all-rounders and as much batting depth .No doubt more match-winners than any one but to me not as balanced as South Africa ,Australia or Pakistan at their best.Also lacked a genuine spinner.

On 3/29/2019 at 2:08 PM, Zero_Unit said:

The Australian team that ruled the cricket world for almost a decade. We may never see a cricket team like that ever again

In terms of invincibility yes as well as organization and temperament.However still not as talented a bunch as the bets of Pakistan or South Africa if you consider all-rounders and batting depth.In performance touch and go between Aussies and West Indies.On fast wickets I may give the Calypsos a marginal edge with their great pace attack.

On 3/27/2019 at 5:29 PM, Gollum said:

2003 Aus too deserves special mention: Hayden, Gilly, Ponting, Martyn, Symonds, Lehmann, Bevan, Bichel, Hogg, Lee, McGrath. I rate it below 2007 team because Lehmann, Bevan were on their last legs in ODI cricket, and not dynamic enough so the explosive finishing power was lacking. Besides they had a 5th bowler problem and the aura wasn't at max level. Interesting to note Warne missed 2003, Brett Lee missed 2007 (when he was best in the world) and they still stomped through all teams mercilessly. 

Very True.No ODI team looked more invincible ever before a world cup resembling a cricketing machine.However as the tournament reached its final stages 2007 team may have even been better.agree?

On 3/27/2019 at 6:51 PM, SK_IH said:

I am talking in context of how they won the WC. In 2007, Aus won the WC unchallenged. Winning the WC undefeated is one thing but unchallenged is beyond awesome. 

Also that team:

Hayden

Gilly

Ponting

Clarke

Symonds

Hussey

Watson

Hogg

Bracken

McGrath

Tait

Look at this team, 7 batsmen 7 bowling options. 

Agree2007 Aussie team reached an aura of invincibility no world cup team reached before.However pre-world cup 2003 team was better in term sof record.2007 team had just lost 2 successive series versus England and New Zealand.However reaching the knockout stage the 2007 team was more invincible than nay world cup team ever.

On 3/27/2019 at 6:52 PM, putrevus said:

In what world 1999 SA and Pakistan teams are called strongest team. They were nothing special.1983 WI will my strongest team followed by 2003 Australian team. 1983 WI team would win against any team.

It was a miracle India won against that team.

I am referring to depth s of talent and balance.In performance I agree West Indies 83 was almost invincible before final and Aussie 2003 and even 2007 .Look at the all rounders and diversity of bowling in Pakistan's ranks in 1999 apart from great depth in batting.Asess the all-rounders,batting depth and fielding of South African top teams,like in 1999.Pakistan had likes of Wasim,Waqar,Shoaib ,Inzamam,Saqlain Anwar,Mon playing together while the Proteas contained stars like Donald,Pollock,Kluesener,Cronje,Kallis,Gibbs,Kirsten Boucher Cullinan which is quite a handful.

1 hour ago, Harsh Thakor said:

In terms of invincibility yes as well as organization and temperament.However still not as talented a bunch as the bats of Pakistan or South Africa if you consider all-rounders and batting depth.In performance touch and go between Aussies and West Indies.On fast wickets I may give the Calypsos a marginal edge with their great pace attack.

Are you seriously comparing the batting of 2000s Aus with 1999 Pak? 

1 hour ago, Harsh Thakor said:

I am referring to depth s of talent and balance.In performance I agree West Indies 83 was almost invincible before final and Aussie 2003 and even 2007 .Look at the all rounders and diversity of bowling in Pakistan's ranks in 1999 apart from great depth in batting.Asess the all-rounders,batting depth and fielding of South African top teams,like in 1999.Pakistan had likes of Wasim,Waqar,Shoaib ,Inzamam,Saqlain Anwar,Mon playing together while the Proteas contained stars like Donald,Pollock,Kluesener,Cronje,Kallis,Gibbs,Kirsten Boucher Cullinan which is quite a handful.

Bhai stop the nonsense already, 1999 Pak batting was shambolic. Even the A/R and bowlers were overrated, Waqar didn't play while Akhtar was raw. The 2nd string bowling line up of 80s WI would blow the Pakistani counterpart out of the water.

Australia in 2003 could potentially have played the greatest ODI team to play a World Cup. But Dizzy got injured and Warne was caught doping to recover from that injury. 

Gilly

Hayden

Punter

Martyn

Symonds

Lehmann

Bevan

McGrath 

Lee

Warne

Dizzy

This was probably the most complete ODI lineup of all time if they had actually played together. Heck even in 99 had Dizzy been fit and played ahead of Reiffel , that was a damn good ODI side too. I don't rate their 2007 squad much. They won in convincing fashion in the end but the quality of the opposition was poor with India knocked out early and the only other competent team asphyxiating as usual. 

3 hours ago, Harsh Thakor said:

Greatest pace attack of all.However may not have relished the flat tracks of modern times and so many restrictions on short pitched stuff.West Indies also did not have genuine all-rounders and as much batting depth .No doubt more match-winners than any one but to me not as balanced as South Africa ,Australia or Pakistan at their best.Also lacked a genuine spinner.

Who was genuine allrounder in Australian sides of 2000s. You don't need allrounders to be dominant. West Indies bowlers were dominant and were not dependent on pitches. Their batting was explosive for that era and would match any batting side.They did not need a spinner.

Edited by putrevus
3 minutes ago, putrevus said:

Who was genuine allrounder in Australian sides of 2000s. You don't need allrounders to be dominant. West Indies bowlers were dominant and were not dependent on pitches. Their batting was explosive for that era and would match any batting side.They did not need a spinner.

they had symonds, clarke, waugh bros, harvey , lehmann who cud roll their arms. That was a time that part timers worked becoz it was only one ball n there were 5 fielder outside circle. Post 2011 with 4 fielders n 2 new balls part timers were not used often . Thats why even yuvi stopped bowling much in ODi but bowled in t20s were there were 5 fielders . When u give diff era examples u need to check rules also. Now its a diff game ...no team plays without all rounders

9 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

they had symonds, clarke, waugh bros, harvey , lehmann who cud roll their arms. That was a time that part timers worked becoz it was only one ball n there were 5 fielder outside circle. Post 2011 with 4 fielders n 2 new balls part timers were not used often . Thats why even yuvi stopped bowling much in ODi but bowled in t20s were there were 5 fielders . When u give diff era examples u need to check rules also. Now its a diff game ...no team plays without all rounders

No need to play any bits and pieces players if you have batsmen who can do their job and bowlers who can do theirs, Viv was good enough to roll his arm .

Edited by putrevus