Temujin Khaghan Posted June 6, 2019 Posted June 6, 2019 4 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: I think Harbhajan was a DSP or something. This is just ceremonial and not to be taken literally. But joginder sharma has joined his duty and doing the job as a DSP.
coffee_rules Posted June 6, 2019 Author Posted June 6, 2019 1 minute ago, The Dark Horse said: Well he’s flaunting it..what will people who actually worked in army think about it. I am pretty sure they will feel proud that somebody is representing them in the WC.
The Dark Horse Posted June 6, 2019 Posted June 6, 2019 1 minute ago, coffee_rules said: I am pretty sure they will feel proud that somebody is representing them in the WC. Pretty sure they feel the same seeing Dhoni in the officer's choice blue ad AK007 1
Haarkarjeetgaye Posted June 6, 2019 Posted June 6, 2019 From what I have seen, cricket isn’t so closely followed or played in the Army. Hockey takes the cake while watching and Volleyball while playing. Cricketers should stop wearing anything related to the Army on a cricket field. Nobody gains anything from this.
Haarkarjeetgaye Posted June 6, 2019 Posted June 6, 2019 9 minutes ago, The Dark Horse said: Well he’s flaunting it..what will people who actually worked in army think about it. For a small percentage who watch cricket, I think it will be a matter to just ignore. I don’t think Army is the intended audience for this. It’s a don’t care for the Army in my opinion.
Gollum Posted June 6, 2019 Posted June 6, 2019 (edited) Totally with ICC on this one, it is one thing to express support post a tragedy but otherwise better keep sports separate from military (on field). Outside it he can do whatever he wants to support IA. Edited June 6, 2019 by Gollum sage, Haarkarjeetgaye and diehardpacer 3
maniac Posted June 6, 2019 Posted June 6, 2019 (edited) If Dhoni was really this enthusiastic about the army he could have joined the NDA or given other Defense exams instead of taking up one of most corrupt jobs in India that is of a Railway TT. This is just a gimmick. This is totally opposite of Kohli going out of his way to show love for the Pakistanis 2 sides of the same coin. Now I am sure Dhoni loves the Indian army like every Indian citizen and Kohli does appreciate his fans across the border but both go out of the way and overboard to rub it in peoples faces. Edited June 6, 2019 by maniac diehardpacer, Bigg Brother and Haarkarjeetgaye 3
Vilander Posted June 6, 2019 Posted June 6, 2019 The thing is. Army is a lethal force. Same work done in non combat zone is murder same work done in combat zones by less legitimately recognized forces is crime against humanity. Wearing an insigna of Army in an international event is inviting trouble. No need for this. No need to take a stand on this best to just let it go and remove it, did army ask for this promotion ? I guess not. Dhoni has made his point already. Clarke and Haarkarjeetgaye 2
mani sha Posted June 6, 2019 Posted June 6, 2019 I am a reserve member in Non Indian Army myself . When I am doing my army job I don’t wear anything unofficial . Off duty in my civilian job , I stick to civilian attire. i think that given that you are participating in an international tournament , u have to abide by tournament rules . That includes non insignia etc . he can easily wear army insignia post match - like in practise sessions . maniac, Haarkarjeetgaye, The Dark Horse and 2 others 5
CSK Fan Posted June 6, 2019 Posted June 6, 2019 1 hour ago, coffee_rules said: Solidarity with Gaza is banned. This is part of his regiment. Yeah kya logic hai. So if some cricketers do some other part time jobs they can wear those uniforms and come to the ground? The Dark Horse 1
Cricketics Posted June 6, 2019 Posted June 6, 2019 6 minutes ago, zen said: are the gloves sponsored by Army Not sure SG, the actual sponsor of the Dhoni's equipment cares what else Dhoni puts on his gloves as long as SG is easily visible.
maniac Posted June 6, 2019 Posted June 6, 2019 Just now, Cricketics said: Not sure SG, the actual sponsor of the Dhoni's equipment cares what else Dhoni puts on his gloves as long as SG is easily visible. You can’t put political symbols and religious statements on your uniform or something that makes a statement. Period. Its different from wearing a turban or growing a beard. diehardpacer and Haarkarjeetgaye 2
Cricketics Posted June 6, 2019 Posted June 6, 2019 7 minutes ago, maniac said: You can’t put political symbols and religious statements on your uniform or something that makes a statement. Period. Its different from wearing a turban or growing a beard. Not sure Dhoni is trying to make a political statement here like you keep referring. This is simply a logo he put for what probably makes him feel positive. If its done by some random player during times of crisis and events, then it can be considered making a political statement. Dhoni just likes to show off his Camoflouge stuff and Army style equipment all the time and hence the logo I feel. He also has a camo cricket kitbag and also used to wear camouflage gloves. So he isn't really making a statement. Its more like fashion statement for him and showing off what he likes. This definitely is not political how it is made to look. AK007 1
maniac Posted June 6, 2019 Posted June 6, 2019 1 minute ago, Cricketics said: Political statement, yes. But not sure Dhoni is trying to make a political statement here. This is simply a log he put for what probably makes him positive. If its done by some randm player during times of crisis and events, then it can be considered making a statement. Dhoni just likes to show off his Camoflouge stuff and Army style equipment all the time and hence the logo I feel. He also has a camo cricket kitbag and also used to wear camouflage gloves. So he isn't really making a statement. Its more like fashion statement for him and showing off what he likes. This definitely is not political how it is made to look. It is not political but there has to be some rules. What next jeans style uniform? ICC is well within its rules to pull him up for it. Also you can’t wear something as sacred as army uniform/symbol in a cricket match. Maybe over the top but but what if he fumbles the ball or drops a catch with those gloves? He can wear what what he wants in practice or personal life. Haarkarjeetgaye and diehardpacer 2
Cricketics Posted June 6, 2019 Posted June 6, 2019 5 minutes ago, maniac said: It is not political but there has to be some rules. What next jeans style uniform? ICC is well within its rules to pull him up for it. Also you can’t wear something as sacred as army uniform/symbol in a cricket match. Maybe over the top but but what if he fumbles the ball or drops a catch with those gloves? He can wear what what he wants in practice or personal life. I don't know or care what the rule books say, I just have to mention that what Dhoni did isn't making a political statement or anything or doesn't fit in that category if they are going to charge or get logo removed based on a law which says "no political statement".
Cricketics Posted June 6, 2019 Posted June 6, 2019 6 minutes ago, maniac said: Also you can’t wear something as sacred as army uniform/symbol in a cricket match. Maybe over the top but but what if he fumbles the ball or drops a catch with those gloves? Come on man, stop being so filmy. We wear a shirt with try color and dive on the field and it gets dirty all day. You don't have to become so filmy to prove your point lol AK007 1
maniac Posted June 6, 2019 Posted June 6, 2019 Just now, Cricketics said: I don't know or care what the rule books say, I just have to mention that what Dhoni did isn't making a political statement or anything or doesn't fit in that category if they are going to charge or get logo removed based on a law which says "no political statement". Army is part of a political structure of any country. In some countries like our neighbors it is the government itself. Again Dhoni May not be intentionally making a political statement here. To be honest don’t think he is articulate enough to make one anyways but that’s a different debate. However wearing army symbol makes it a default political statement. diehardpacer 1
maniac Posted June 6, 2019 Posted June 6, 2019 1 minute ago, Cricketics said: Come on man, stop being so filmy. We wear a shirt with try color and dive on the field and it gets dirty all day. You don't have to become so filmy to prove your point lol Nothing filmy. Army uniform is sacred. There is a reason why not every Tom dick and Harry gets to wear it. Dhoni is a symbolic member of the army so he needs to be more respectful to it. If he is wearing it as a fashion statement it is even more disrespectful. If he is wearing the logo when army had nothing to do with the cricket match just to show off that is disrespectful as well. May be he didn’t realize it because he didn’t earn it obviously so doesn’t know the value. That’s fine. But glad ICC intervened The Dark Horse and Haarkarjeetgaye 2
Cricketics Posted June 6, 2019 Posted June 6, 2019 3 minutes ago, maniac said: Nothing filmy. Army uniform is sacred. There is a reason why not every Tom dick and Harry gets to wear it. Dhoni is a symbolic member of the army so he needs to be more respectful to it. If he is wearing it as a fashion statement it is even more disrespectful. If he is wearing the logo when army had nothing to do with the cricket match just to show off that is disrespectful as well. May be he didn’t realize it because he didn’t earn it obviously so doesn’t know the value. That’s fine. But glad ICC intervened I am talking about Indian tri color uniform being" being sacred too. Anyway, point is you shared a funny cheap example of "what if he drops a catch using those gloves", that was absurd. AK007 1