Match Thread : India vs Aus 1st ODI, Wankhade on 14th jan 2020

Just now, RAZPOR said:

:dance:best captain with a lovely taste for musical chairs,best team evahhh:dance:

thakur over saini,best decision evaaah

Thakur over Saini is right decision anyday for this team.Even in next match if it is between Thakur or Saini, Thakur should play.Saini is competing with Shami not Thakur.

4 minutes ago, raki05 said:

Kohli has zero legacy in his career as of now. ...offcourse on personal front he has those biletral 100 made against bd, sl and wi and also against aus, SA when main bowlers were missing.

too harsh - as an individual contributor, Kohli has been right up there. His performance in Eng 2018 against Anderson-Broad, after what he endured in 2014, alone is enough to place him at very top. He has absolutely dominated LOIs (even clutch performances in T20 WC '14, CT '13 knockouts)...just that he was not cut out for captaincy, which many fans (myself included) thought he was..thats why selectors should ponder long & hard, ignoring a player's star power, before grooming a captain. If freed from captaincy burden, we might even see Kohli free up and take his batting back up a notch

13 minutes ago, Norman said:

Who on earth are your preferred short form bowlers?

Mostly would be pitch dependant for some. Sometimes maxi may come in for agar. Sometimes hazlewood is in for Richardson. Sometime richardson (jhye) will be in for hazelwood/richardson. He is going to be difficult on certain pitches. Fantastic young talent... even if hes a midget.

Also there are pitches where lyon is more suited.

So sure. That might be debatable about best lineup... there are also so young guys not quite in the picture just yet. But might be for 2023.

14 minutes ago, Sandeep99 said:

And they are...

Ahhh... yeah what i said above. :)

15 minutes ago, Cricwala said:

u nailed it. And don't worry - no one will take such home truths as an insult on this forum...people here know their cricket, and no one here has brought into the hype that we are like dominant Windies and Aussies of their respective eras. If Kohli had swallowed his ego and worked with Kumble, this team might have developed better by now, but Kohli has just completed 5 years as an international captain - this is as good as it gets for him. Indian cricket will move forward.. 

Yeah no doubt it will move forward. And even if the last few years were the peak (which i doubt) it was fantastic to watch.

And the youth it develops creates the future. Being good creates a cycle, creating the generation to replace them.

I believe what i said earlier. Wont be long till india replaces aus as the best cricketing nation in the world. Just not there yet. We have too many wins on the board over a long long time to be knocked off by 1 generation of a team

2 minutes ago, putrevus said:

Are you  kidding me Kohli failed in one match, he hit 77 batting at no 4 in a recent t20 match.Kohli averages 55 at no4  with 97 SR.

Kohli is not the problem.Rahul is the problem , he has no clue on how to build an odi innings.He is playing international cricket from six years.

Kohli has failed at number 4 everytime in the last 5 years (we are talking ODIs).

Rahul is not the problem, Kohli's friendship with Dhawan and his pathetic team selection is the problem. Anyone who is a threat to Dhawan or any of his groupies will not get a run, will never be allowed to settle in the team and will have to adjust. Why doesn't Kohli ask Dhawan to bat at 3?

3 minutes ago, putrevus said:

Thakur over Saini is right decision anyday for this team.Even in next match if it is between Thakur or Saini, Thakur should play.Saini is competing with Shami not Thakur.

yeah absolutely ,thakur is competing with pandya obviously since he is best evah allrounder in odis. 

we are in agreement .:dance: we winning the next wc with best allrounder thakur doing stokes:dance:

Edited by RAZPOR

Indian batsmen and Indian team after facing no competition all season all of a sudden have faced a team which is step above all other teams they have faced this season.They have been found wanting, let us see how do they respond in next match.

Edited by putrevus
2 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Jaddu has totally lost his bowling skills. Bowling like part timer these days.

Because he has been made to think like an allrounder in loi sides these days

Sochne me kya jata hai

11 minutes ago, putrevus said:

Captain is not the problem for this Indian team.Balance is the problem.Starc ,Cummins can handle the bat.Marcus and Turner can bowl a bit if needed, that balance is very important for any team.Kohli is the best captain for this team.

I do agree with that. And agree kohli is the best captain for the team.

But thata all he should be. The captain. From my understanding, and i could be wrong... he has too much say on match day teams.

He shouldnt have much say there. Some but not much. The coach needs to be in charge not a player.

Coaches can do things and work plans in the boxes that a captain just cant. Players play harder when they know their mate the captain cant save their position.

The are 100 more basic management reasons qhy a captain shouldnt have any final say on team selection.

Well thats a lie.... there are some... maybe not 100

1 minute ago, putrevus said:

Indian batsmen and Indian team after facing no competition all season all of a sudden have faced a team which is step above all other team they have faced this season.They have been found wanting, let us see how do they respond in next match.

Because the captain fool preferred to play almost the full strength team every match instead of giving a proper run to youngsters who could have benefitted (same way Kohli benefited early in his career when Sachin, Sehwag, Gambhir would all rest from such matches)