1 minute ago, Under_Score said:

I have seen you pro-bjp posts too :flybye:

Yes I support BJP as I believe Modi is about progress ...  compare infra , road overall India since Congress . Day and night . Just the fact that the cash given to poor goes directly into account is worth gold . No way it would’ve ever happened with Congress but you won’t see it with your glasses and that’s fine . I got my opinion and you yours .  nothing wrong with that ...good night I am off now

IMO ppl are pro-BJP for two main reasons:

1. There is noone in the opposition who is talking about anything constructive for the country. For the last 7 years ppl see that the opposition is willing to degrade and humiliate the country just to bring down Modi. This is only making the BJP stronger in the minds of the common man. The day there is someone who puts the country first over politics - that is the day the BJP loses support. 

2. Ppl are sick and tired of appeasement politics. Ppl are sick and tired of the duplicity of woke ppl. Until Modi came to power the normal Hindu was resigned to turning the other cheek. Now they know they don't have to put up with being treated like a second class citizen in their own country. When a former PM like Manmohan Singh could state that the first share of the country's resources should go to Muslims

20 minutes ago, Clarke said:

PK ho kya, they just make THE LAWS and have gazillion bodies from police & pollution control to tax dept & cbi. They hold the power to bring down the shutter on any damn industry and throw billionaires in jail for violations. 

Do u not understand the difference between REGULATION & running an industry ? 

All over this thread we hear whining about dictatorial govt and now allowing more agri market access is gonna reduce dictators to powerless stooges :facepalm:

They will lose all that power once the money is gone to private sector. Tell me, who is the boss in world cricket? MCC or BCCI?

MCC makes rules for the game but the game is run by the BCCI, CA and ECB pretty much. 

The dictator here is not Modi but the oligarchs in corporations. If you are okay with the concept of India ceasing to exist in future with corporations controlling pretty much everything, then fine, farm bills are good and everything should be privatized.

2 minutes ago, MechEng said:

They will lose all that power once the money is gone to private sector. Tell me, who is the boss in world cricket? MCC or BCCI?

MCC makes rules for the game but the game is run by the BCCI, CA and ECB pretty much. 

The dictator here is not Modi but the oligarchs in corporations. If you are okay with the concept of India ceasing to exist in future with corporations controlling pretty much everything, then fine, farm bills are good and everything should be privatized.

What nonsense! If ur so in love with govt running all agri & industry why not immigrate to Venezuela instead of the evil capitalist amreeka.

Disconnect ur evil corporation wala electricity internet water, don't buy petrol from evil corporation, better don't buy car itself from them. Don't ever go to Walmart or browse amazon. Get urself a soviet lada or British leyland car, pure govt piece of crap. 

1 hour ago, Clarke said:

What nonsense! If ur so in love with govt running all agri & industry why not immigrate to Venezuela instead of the evil capitalist amreeka.

Disconnect ur evil corporation wala electricity internet water, don't buy petrol from evil corporation, better don't buy car itself from them. Don't ever go to Walmart or browse amazon. Get urself a soviet lada or British leyland car, pure govt piece of crap. 

It's no doubt that capitalism is more efficient and innovating. But biggest drawback of capitalism is now it's rapidly moving towards automation which means less and less jobs. You will have handful of highly skilled people working for corporates with 5x salary. But on the other hand you will have army of unemployed

1 hour ago, Singh bling said:

It's no doubt that capitalism is more efficient and innovating. But biggest drawback of capitalism is now it's rapidly moving towards automation which means less and less jobs. You will have handful of highly skilled people working for corporates with 5x salary. But on the other hand you will have army of unemployed

Yep. The #XYZLivesMatter type civil unrest situations in "democracies" where communities are being pitted against each other are linked to that IMHO.

1 hour ago, Singh bling said:

Goes without saying, can't have unlimited control/power from either govt or private enterprise. I just found the earlier mentioned argument absurd. 

6 hours ago, MechEng said:

Totally wrong analogy. MCC was involved initially because of the history, Lord’s , and they were a bunch of elites, snobbish Brit cultured people wanting to keep the game gentlemanly and what have you, they never had control or power of the game over revenue etc. The cricket boards always had it. MCC was just a advisory board for them. Nowadays, even MCC is not involved, ICC has its own advisory committee with ex-players, so even that aspect is gone. The power and money always was with the rich boards. Pehle CA and ECB , and now BCCI.

A better analogy is if you had lived in a country with laws for Intellectual protectionism, prevent brain-drain, allow you to study only 20 kms away from your village, allow only minimal number of subjects that the government mandates to study, would you be for laws to reform such oppressive system to allow options for  private institutions to let you study wherever you want and have personal fweedom of choices ?

Or would you worry about private institutions taking over education sector and government losing control over private institutions?

Our farmers, 85% middle and small ones, are working under such regressive, archaic systems and hence majority of them stay poor. The agrarian crisis has been there forever and needed reforms. Read about how many commissions have been set up, by previous governments to reform it. These reforms are a result of past 50 years of working it politically.  When Congress had majority they never cared for reforms, and then we have had only coalition governments since 1989. So this government with the majority has passed reform laws with protection from private companies in having predatory practices. Let them bring in reforms, there are ways to check governments to regulate malpractices. Host of industry is there to whine - activists, NGOs, international media, activist judiciary are enough to check vested interests from taking over the lands of Sikh farmers . 

8 hours ago, Nonbeliever said:

Where exactly did I say ambani wants the land.   Who needs the land when you have major share of profit and  slaves to do the farming.   And  just check previous replies to see who ran away.  It was you.

Here’s your smart farmers and holy Punjab government favoring contractors and people are happy earning MSP  , getting loans from middlemen and are so content.

This is the Punjab Govt Contract framing act. There are provisions for jail time for farmers for contract violations and no court jurisdiction in disputes. And Modi is the corporate stooge!!! These laws end such draconian laws, now you can see why there is so much protest

4 hours ago, Under_Score said:

A beautiful article on the current situation of the Farmers protest.......written by retired IAS officer Avay Shukla...Respect to him :nice:

From the article;

BJP shot itself in the foot

By closing off Delhi, literally and figuratively, to the farmers, Modi and Amit Shah may have committed their biggest miscalculation. They have forced Tikait to change his strategy midway. He is doing three things now: one, he has made Western Uttar Pradesh, not Punjab, the hub of the movement.

This is the region that enabled the BJP to come to power in the state in 2017, winning more than 100 Vidhan Sabha seats in just this belt. The BJP did so by creating a communal rift (remember the Muzzafarnagar riots?) between the dominant communities here, the Jats and the Muslims. Now, Tikait has healed the rift, united both against the government, and demolished the formula that won BJP western UP.

Two, as the de-facto supremo of the farmers’ movement now, Tikait is more acceptable to the rest of the Hindi (or Hindu) heartland than the earlier Sikh leaders and he will be able to take the protests to the other states – Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Himachal, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand – more successfully. This is precisely the belt that allows BJP to win big in parliamentary elections, and the spread of the agitation here does not augur well for it. It would have made more sense for the BJP to have limited the protests to Delhi and its vicinity.

The game has changed, but the farmers have made it clear that the rules have not – winner takes all. This rule had been made by an arrogant and over-reaching government and it may just come back to bite it.

The nails on the road at Ghazipur could well be the nails in the BJP’s coffin. The pampered and indifferent upper middle classes of Delhi can now live in peace – the battle has been taken away from them, they no longer count.

https://thewire.in/agriculture/farmer-protests-bypass-delhi-modi

The pampered and the middle class, stated so correctly. These are the people who use their "connections" to get a job and are gauranteed lifelong wages for doing nothing. I am repeating for doing nothing, nada, zilch, zero, cipher. But look at that farmer he is making 5000 rupees per month. Socialism , blah blah blah.

2 hours ago, Khota said:

The pampered and the middle class, stated so correctly. These are the people who use their "connections" to get a job and are gauranteed lifelong wages for doing nothing. I am repeating for doing nothing, nada, zilch, zero, cipher. But look at that farmer he is making 5000 rupees per month. Socialism , blah blah blah.

Yup and the dream is to go to Canada, USA (or maybe already migrated ) . Then go buy the cheapest veggies and grains at Walmart . Watch Netflix and post #farmersprotest on social media. Blah blah blah .

12 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

Here’s your smart farmers and holy Punjab government favoring contractors and people are happy earning MSP  , getting loans from middlemen and are so content.

This is the Punjab Govt Contract framing act. There are provisions for jail time for farmers for contract violations and no court jurisdiction in disputes. And Modi is the corporate stooge!!! These laws end such draconian laws, now you can see why there is so much protest

And these bills was passed by akalis and bjp in 2013.  :phehe:

you also know you can't call me congressi because I am not a political chamcha or bhakt.

51 minutes ago, Nonbeliever said:

And these bills was passed by akalis and bjp in 2013.  :phehe:

you also know you can't call me congressi because I am not a political chamcha or bhakt.

Why didn’t the Sikh farmers protest against that since 2013? Kabaddi  khel rahe the kya? 

4 hours ago, Khota said:

Tikait , the dakait is your hero now? Aake yogi aur Modi ko harayega? 

11 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Why didn’t the Sikh farmers protest against that since 2013? Kabaddi  khel rahe the kya? 

And what about whole india playing kabaddi for 60 years under congress before 2014.:phehe: