CCP arrests bloggers and journalists for daring to question official account of LAC clash

https://www.thehindu.com/news/international/china-detains-three-bloggers-for-insulting-pla-soldiers-who-died-in-galwan-valley-clash/article33895277.ece

The reporter in question has 2.5 million followers on Weibo, because he has reported bravely on corruption in the past.  

Before we get the ejaculations of some of the overly excitable uber-bhakts on this forum - an important point to be made here is that this is the outcome if you allow government and bureaucrats to abuse power and fabricate legal 'cases' on dissent and views that you disagree with.  Its a slippery slope and I do not want to see India even begin to slide down on it.

More info on this incident and what they posted

Don't worry, India will never fall that low.

In India you can mockingly call the PM chaiwala, ask proofs for Air Strikes, falsely say that India lost area to China, spread false news about CAA, NRC, farm laws etc without any fear and still stay free

1 hour ago, sandeep said:

https://www.thehindu.com/news/international/china-detains-three-bloggers-for-insulting-pla-soldiers-who-died-in-galwan-valley-clash/article33895277.ece

The reporter in question has 2.5 million followers on Weibo, because he has reported bravely on corruption in the past.  

Before we get the ejaculations of some of the overly excitable uber-bhakts on this forum - an important point to be made here is that this is the outcome if you allow government and bureaucrats to abuse power and fabricate legal 'cases' on dissent and views that you disagree with.  Its a slippery slope and I do not want to see India even begin to slide down on it.

If it is a slant reference to Disha Ravi or Delhi rioters or Naxal sympathizers, show me what was fabricated? Ad hominem attacks and China comparisons won’t fly. China has no independent judiciary , whatever India has corrupt or not, there is an independent judiciary that sometimes opposes the government. So don’t worry about turning to China

1 hour ago, coffee_rules said:

If it is a slant reference to Disha Ravi or Delhi rioters or Naxal sympathizers, show me what was fabricated? Ad hominem attacks and China comparisons won’t fly. China has no independent judiciary , whatever India has corrupt or not, there is an independent judiciary that sometimes opposes the government. So don’t worry about turning to China

India's "independent" judiciary hasn't exactly covered itself in glory.  

Don't get defensive Coffee bhai - you know my motivations - I'm no commie or lefty pseudo-woke.  

And I genuinely believe there is cause for concern in some of the things that are happening.  

28 minutes ago, sandeep said:

Don't get defensive Coffee bhai - you know my motivations - I'm no commie or lefty pseudo-woke.  

And I genuinely believe there is cause for concern in some of the things that are happening.  

I don’t think everything is perfect under BJP either. But at the same time not all is lost like we hear from likes of some opposition buddhijeevis 

BJP is muffling dissent. Folks on this forum think it is OK but in west they have started questioning if India is democratic anymore. Putting out arrest warrants agains Greta does not help the matter. Several journalist are in jail and if universities open up BJP will not like the dissent. 

Modi is smart and he needs to explain to people that there are limits to the abuse going on.

BJP needs to pump the brakes on this crap they are doing.

7 minutes ago, Khota said:

BJP is muffling dissent. Folks on this forum think it is OK but in west they have started questioning if India is democratic anymore. Putting out arrest warrants agains Greta does not help the matter. Several journalist are in jail and if universities open up BJP will not like the dissent. 

Modi is smart and he needs to explain to people that there are limits to the abuse going on.

It isn't.

Do you think joining hands with separatist movements and deliberately trying to spread false news is dissent? That's sedition.

Universities where useless Arts & Humanities students study will show dissent, students who do actual work i.e STEM won't have any dissent.

40 minutes ago, PunterLog said:

It isn't.

Do you think joining hands with separatist movements and deliberately trying to spread false news is dissent? That's sedition.

Universities where useless Arts & Humanities students study will show dissent, students who do actual work i.e STEM won't have any dissent.

BJP gets to define who is doing what in their kangaroo courts. Their dictatorial actions will have consequenses and that day of reckoning is near not far.

And I feel offended by you demeaning Arts and Humanities because I am a student of that. STEM engineers in India cannot even make a rifle for the army. So much for STEM, PSU and DRDO. Atleat farmers are net exporters and not leeches like babus who getto decide their future. 

1 minute ago, Khota said:

BJP gets to define who is doing what in their kangaroo courts. Their dictatorial actions will have consequenses and that day of reckoning is near not far.

And I feel offended by you demeaning Arts and Humanities because I am a student of that. STEM engineers in India cannot even make a rifle for the army. So much for STEM, PSU and DRDO. Atleat farmers are net exporters and not leeches like babus who getto decide their future. 

The ones who can migrate overseas thanks to the Socialist shithole this country is and the Bureaucrats who run this country.

Kick the leeches in the public sector and privatize everything and our best STEM people will stop migrating overseas and start working for the country.

22 minutes ago, PunterLog said:

The ones who can migrate overseas thanks to the Socialist shithole this country is and the Bureaucrats who run this country.

Kick the leeches in the public sector and privatize everything and our best STEM people will stop migrating overseas and start working for the country.

I am surprised but I agree with you ocassionally. That does not mean we will not argue.

3 minutes ago, Khota said:

I am surprised but I agree with you ocassionally. That does not mean we will not argue.

Of course!

I'm more than happy to hear different opinions on various topics. Nobody can be right on every topic so entertaining various opinions is extremely important.

It's a huge problem when people stop listening to the other side and become extremely tribalistic.

3 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

I see what you did there.

That's racist.

I kid

6 hours ago, PunterLog said:

More info on this incident and what they posted

Don't worry, India will never fall that low.

In India you can mockingly call the PM chaiwala, ask proofs for Air Strikes, falsely say that India lost area to China, spread false news about CAA, NRC, farm laws etc without any fear and still stay free

Thats cause india a free society is not scared of dissent, opinion and dissent are integral part of a a democracy. 

3 hours ago, Khota said:

Its embarrassing seeing a state like India going to the level of paid left shils and issuing arrest warrants. 

3 hours ago, sandeep said:

You don't have to a left to center to see it even genuine connservative right to center individuals can see the crap thats happening. Its ridiculous that bjp has so many trigger happy followers who look at any question on their approach as a left extreme position, its sad to see the country go to this. 

3 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

Let’s talk specifics, no diatribes or platitudes . How is BJP stifling dissent and what is the concern? 

Income tax raids against your perceived opponents.

Journalist in jail.

Arrest warrant against Greta.

And on and on.

19 minutes ago, Khota said:

Income tax raids against your perceived opponents.

Journalist in jail.

Arrest warrant against Greta.

And on and on.

Go look there is no FIR by DP on Greta. It is about the toolkit and Disha and others are being interrogated.

IT raids and journalists arrests are nothing that other governments like UPA didn’t do. BJP is not sacrosanct To be cocerned about.