Vijy Posted March 7, 2021 Posted March 7, 2021 1 minute ago, SK_IH said: May be there were some but what ICFs think shouldn't matter. TM should have the courage to treat every player equally. There should not different standards for different player. A player like Sundar, who has performed everytime he got the opportunity, should be encouraged to play more at international level, instead of languishing in domestic. There are certain other batsmen who can go back to domestic & improve their game. the message that TM is sending out (and being endorsed by some people on ICF) is that seniority is everything. even if Chepu has declined for 2 yrs, and even though rahane has been poor since 2017, they are given a long rope because of "senioritis" (the disease of favoring seniors no matter what their current performances and physiological responses are). GautiMaan, express bowling and SK_IH 3
Vijy Posted March 7, 2021 Posted March 7, 2021 Just now, ShoonyaSifar said: Nope. Reason why he hasn't played kuch FC vricket recently is because he has been with the National side/ India A. Played 2 Ranji seasons for TN - in 2016-17 and 2017-18. Was injured in 2019-20, no FC cricket this year. When he layed last for TN, opened in his last few games. Am surprised even Ashwin doesn't know this. Kohli-Shastri obviously are busy praising each other to know much about their own team members. I was wondering what about the 2018-19 season? And though I don't remember fully, I thought he was fit for part of the 2019-20 season.
Vijy Posted March 7, 2021 Posted March 7, 2021 3 minutes ago, express bowling said: @Jimmy Cliff now you know what I was saying in the Impact Performance thread. it's almost as though someone read your mind and wanted to prove your point. express bowling 1
Adamant Posted March 7, 2021 Posted March 7, 2021 1 hour ago, Gollum said: @ShoonyaSifar it seems these assholes have plans of sending Sundar back to domestic . When he should be gaining max exposure at international level in all 3 formats. This is great. Basically converted high praise from a coach to another conspiracy theory. @ShoonyaSifar is this your second account or something lol. Bhai duniya mai sab shaitaan ke saale nahi hote. Kuch normal bande bhi rehte hai. cowboysfan 1
cowboysfan Posted March 8, 2021 Posted March 8, 2021 20 hours ago, Gollum said: @ShoonyaSifar it seems these assholes have plans of sending Sundar back to domestic . When he should be gaining max exposure at international level in all 3 formats. this is ideal but he wont be playing playing much if we dont have injuries,the reason why Shasstri want him in ranjis is to improve his bowling which right now is sub par for test cricket.
jusarrived Posted March 8, 2021 Posted March 8, 2021 19 hours ago, Vijy said: point 1: he has already scored 1 150+ score in Ranji. it's not his fault that DK and Tamil Nadu did his best to marginalize his talent. point 2: he was never given a consistent run in List A and domestic T20s at the top of the order. so, we don't really know what he is capable of in shorter formats. He is a much better version of hafeez and shoaib malik, and both these guys had pretty decent ODI/T20 careers. Malik was as good as anyone hitting spinners and Hafeez is arguably the top 2-3 T20 bats on the world currently. I don't think Sundar is anywhere near that for LoIs
Vijy Posted March 8, 2021 Posted March 8, 2021 2 minutes ago, jusarrived said: Malik was as good as anyone hitting spinners and Hafeez is arguably the top 2-3 T20 bats on the world currently. I don't think Sundar is anywhere near that for LoIs Hafeez took 20 yrs to get to the stage where he is (in T20 ability), and Malik was good only against spin or flatter tracks. that's why I said sundar is a better version in the sense that he has more potential. give him a long rope, and sundar can prove himself in all formats. express bowling 1
Ankit_sharma03 Posted March 8, 2021 Author Posted March 8, 2021 shastri didnt mean that sundar will be dropped but what he meant was when he playing domestic he shud bat high. Anyways he wont always be in playing XI BacktoCricaddict 1
rkt.india Posted March 8, 2021 Posted March 8, 2021 21 hours ago, ShoonyaSifar said: Someone should ask Coach Motormouth, if Sundar has so much natural ability, why was he dropped for the 3rd test and why has he never batted up the order in T20Is? As usual, trying to steal the credit and pat their own backs like they all did after Australia. He isn't a T20 player. He has always been a a long form batsman.
rkt.india Posted March 8, 2021 Posted March 8, 2021 (edited) 4 hours ago, cowboysfan said: this is ideal but he wont be playing playing much if we dont have injuries,the reason why Shasstri want him in ranjis is to improve his bowling which right now is sub par for test cricket. He was always a part time bowler. First they try to turn a batsman into a bowler and when he performs with the bat, you say his bowling is sub-par. Can Kohli, Rahane, Pujara bowl? No. They are playing as a specialist batsman, so, can Washington who is a batsman who can bowl. Edited March 8, 2021 by rkt.india express bowling 1
ShoonyaSifar Posted March 8, 2021 Posted March 8, 2021 30 minutes ago, rkt.india said: He isn't a T20 player. He has always been a a long form batsman. So a guy ranked 12th in ICC T20 rankings isn't a T20 player. Tell us more such jokes
cowboysfan Posted March 8, 2021 Posted March 8, 2021 26 minutes ago, rkt.india said: He was always a part time bowler. First they try to turn a batsman into a bowler and when he performs with the bat, you say his batting is sub-par. Can Kohli, Rahane, Pujara bowl? No. They are playing as a specialist batsman, so, can Washington who is a batsman who can bowl. you missed the whole point,a Sundar whose bowling is an actual threat like Jadeja will be more valuable to us than him bowling occasionally to relieve some pressure from our frontline spinners.
BacktoCricaddict Posted March 8, 2021 Posted March 8, 2021 (edited) 1 hour ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: shastri didnt mean that sundar will be dropped but what he meant was when he playing domestic he shud bat high. Anyways he wont always be in playing XI We can always twist people's statements to fit our narrative. If our narrative is that Kohli and Shastri exist simply to destroy careers, we will start with that premise and make every one of their words and actions fit that premise. Thing is - none of us on ICF has any inside information on what goes on in their minds or in the dressing room. On the one hand - if the environment is as toxic as public claims, the team is unlikely to be performing at such a level for so many years. On the other hand: 36 a.o. --> Kohli leaves --> History made --> eyebrows raised. Edited March 8, 2021 by BacktoCricaddict
Yoda-esque Posted March 8, 2021 Posted March 8, 2021 This guy should be a permanent fixture in the team.He has it. Mosher and express bowling 2
rkt.india Posted March 8, 2021 Posted March 8, 2021 2 hours ago, ShoonyaSifar said: So a guy ranked 12th in ICC T20 rankings isn't a T20 player. Tell us more such jokes As a batsman?
rkt.india Posted March 8, 2021 Posted March 8, 2021 2 hours ago, cowboysfan said: you missed the whole point,a Sundar whose bowling is an actual threat like Jadeja will be more valuable to us than him bowling occasionally to relieve some pressure from our frontline spinners. Difference is jadeja was always a bowler first and his batting only improved in last few years.
express bowling Posted March 8, 2021 Posted March 8, 2021 2 hours ago, rkt.india said: He was always a part time bowler. First they try to turn a batsman into a bowler and when he performs with the bat, you say his bowling is sub-par. Can Kohli, Rahane, Pujara bowl? No. They are playing as a specialist batsman, so, can Washington who is a batsman who can bowl. Exactly ! Now I understand why most batsmen don't want to bowl these days. If they bowl then their bowling quality is often held against them and they maybe dropped. Mosher, Vijy and BacktoCricaddict 3
ShoonyaSifar Posted March 8, 2021 Posted March 8, 2021 29 minutes ago, rkt.india said: As a batsman? You said he wasn't a T20 'player'
sarcastic Posted February 6, 2022 Posted February 6, 2022 Washington's time is approaching I guess. All he needs is one good ranji season under his belt and he will be a great addition to the test team in the place of Rahane.
Jay Posted February 6, 2022 Posted February 6, 2022 I knew the moment I saw him and witnessed his glorious tehcnique, I had a feeling he would go on to be a fine player. He is showing signs. He has the highest ceiling out of all batsmen in the world. By far. What a talent he is. Nothing but praise for this wonderful talent. His technique is air tight. Bullet proof. No real weakness. You can say many have had glorious days early in their careers. But you don't get to smack around peak Cummins and peak hazlewood like they are chump bowlers if you weren't a world class talent. Vijy 1