Ind-Eng T20 series review

So we have done pretty much all in bilaterals now in t20 format. Defeated ENG, SA , AUS, NZ in their own backyard and now england also in our home conditions. So lets review this series 

Positives 

• Hardik pandya's bowling- one of the biggest positives is his return to bowling and that to in good form 
  • SKY injection of intent - he was the injection that was needed in this batting 
  • Bhuvi's return
  • Shardul's improvement as a bowler 
  • Not many games wasted on dhawan
  • Kishen- another left hander in the mix who can open to
  • Iyer's batting 

Negatives 

• KL form
  • Chahal's decline means now the spin bowling unit is weak and inexperienced
  • Missed opp to try- Varun. C and tewatia 
  • Batting order still not settled
  • Kohli new genius idea of opening - Matalb PP barbaad 

Key points moving ahead 

1. KL return of form is very important - he has been a gun in t20. If he doesnt its our loss going with one less top class batsman . Also he needs to commit to attacking cricket 
  2. Kishen and Pant shud be persisted and tried to fix in XI. IF you dont want bowlers to settle - a mix of right-left is very important 
  3. DUMP DHAWAN- dont waste a spot on him 
  4. Kohli shud dump his idea of opening , ffs dont waste the PP . 
  5. Hardik needs to work out his chink thats found in new stance also TM shud try to send him early so he gets his eye in. Any batsman will be more dangerous if he gets his eye in or else he ll cow lash in last over which can affect timing 
  6. With chahal loosing form , Ashwin needs to be in fray. Now our spin bowling lacks experience with rahul chahar n sundar.  Again saying ashwin is a must 
  7. IF bigger squad are allowed then select DK. 360 deg player add a new dimension and he is still a top finisher. We have three 360 deg players - DK, SKY, KL and all will add a new dimension to this batting
  8. Make sure Tewatia, Varun.C, Krishna, Saini play next series . Rohit did say in pc that there wud be few more international t20s. So these guys shud be given a shot to see if they can give more edge to the bowling .
  9. Dont wash ur eyes if some wrong players do well in IPL .
  10. Work out the batting order asap and tell everyone their roles. With kohli u knw he ll make a mash of batting order like he did in 2019 wc semi
  11. Work out matchups of every team- if u dnt have guys to then hire analyst from twitter n all which is why IPL teams are doing now. 

Remember the fact that its a very good t20 side but still their is a lot of potential that needs to be tapped. We have defeated every side now so there shudnt be anymore excuses of Kohli not having the team incase Wc doesnt go our way specially in home condition. 

No to DK. Rest I agree.

One difference in WT20 and WC 2019 is that in WC 2019, we had plenty of options for no.4 and no.6 but they weren't good options.

For WT20, we have plenty of options and they are all good options and one can expect maybe 1-2 more after this IPL season like Shaw or Samson.

Edited by Majestic
5 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

So we have done pretty much all in bilaterals now in t20 format. Defeated ENG, SA , AUS, NZ in their own backyard and now england also in our home conditions. So lets review this series 

Positives 

• Hardik pandya's bowling- one of the biggest positives is his return to bowling and that to in good form 
  • SKY injection of intent - he was the injection that was needed in this batting 
  • Bhuvi's return
  • Shardul's improvement as a bowler 
  • Not many games wasted on dhawan
  • Kishen- another left hander in the mix who can open to
  • Iyer's batting 

Negatives 

• KL form
  • Chahal's decline means now the spin bowling unit is weak and inexperienced
  • Missed opp to try- Varun. C and tewatia 
  • Batting order still not settled
  • Kohli new genius idea of opening - Matalb PP barbaad 

Key points moving ahead 

1. KL return of form is very important - he has been a gun in t20. If he doesnt its our loss going with one less top class batsman . Also he needs to commit to attacking cricket 
  2. Kishen and Pant shud be persisted and tried to fix in XI. IF you dont want bowlers to settle - a mix of right-left is very important 
  3. DUMP DHAWAN- dont waste a spot on him 
  4. Kohli shud dump his idea of opening , ffs dont waste the PP . 
  5. Hardik needs to work out his chink thats found in new stance also TM shud try to send him early so he gets his eye in. Any batsman will be more dangerous if he gets his eye in or else he ll cow lash in last over which can affect timing 
  6. With chahal loosing form , Ashwin needs to be in fray. Now our spin bowling lacks experience with rahul chahar n sundar.  Again saying ashwin is a must 
  7. IF bigger squad are allowed then select DK. 360 deg player add a new dimension and he is still a top finisher. We have three 360 deg players - DK, SKY, KL and all will add a new dimension to this batting
  8. Make sure Tewatia, Varun.C, Krishna, Saini play next series . Rohit did say in pc that there wud be few more international t20s. So these guys shud be given a shot to see if they can give more edge to the bowling .
  9. Dont wash ur eyes if some wrong players do well in IPL .
  10. Work out the batting order asap and tell everyone their roles. With kohli u knw he ll make a mash of batting order like he did in 2019 wc semi
  11. Work out matchups of every team- if u dnt have guys to then hire analyst from twitter n all which is why IPL teams are doing now. 

Remember the fact that its a very good t20 side but still their is a lot of potential that needs to be tapped. We have defeated every side now so there shudnt be anymore excuses of Kohli not having the team incase Wc doesnt go our way specially in home condition. 

That number 9 is the most important point. But knowing Kohli he will try to do his usual stuff.

48 minutes ago, Majestic said:

No to DK. Rest I agree.

One difference in WT20 and WC 2019 is that in WC 2019, we had plenty of options for no.4 and no.6 but they weren't good options.

For WT20, we have plenty of options and they are all good options and one can expect maybe 1-2 more after this IPL season like Shaw or Samson.

Samson is behind Sky, Pant. Where will he play?

Even I won't r commend DK unless he does something extraordinary and consistent in IPL. DK would have worked with a captain like Dhoni or Rohit who let's people do their thing but not with Kohli. DK himself being a senior journeyman won't be able to perform under a pathetic captain like Kohli.

Get over DK.... Hadd hai yaar

What has he done in his lifetime? Win a game against Bangladesh FGS

Secondly Kohli's return to form should be number one on the list of positives. 

Kohli opened for RCB in 2016, you know na what happened? 

Don’t judge him by one game, is series mai bhi aankh nahi khuli to kab khulegi

Edited by Adamant

If Virat opens in the tournament, I ll to see Kishan in the middle order over KL Rahul or Iyer. Iyer is a very good back up & can come on if Kishan fails.

Samson or Shaw should be kept in the mix if both a good IPL. 

I think there aren't many flaws with this team, as you said only s confused captain can derail them.

Summed it up very well but if we go back to DK and waste a valuable spot on him again, it'll be extremely unfair on all these young players who've been knocking at the door continuously and are waiting for that one opportunity like Kishan and SKY...

Regarding Ashwin...I don't think we need him at this point. That too will be like taking two steps backward..We need to back Rahul Chahar for atleast one more full series... Also try out Varun, Kuldeep (yes kuldeep... its like everyone has forgotten him or something) and even someone like Axar....

DK needs a great IPL to be in contention...  Even that is far fetched. 

5 T20s in lanka tour will happen as hinted by both Rohit & Virat.  Most likely these two won't feature due to Eng tour.  So we can send a young team with Rahul as captain

Rahul (c) 

Kishan

SKY

Iyer

Samson

Pandya

Tewatia

Bhuvi

D Chahar/Shardul (who's available) 

Prasidh

Rahul Chahar

Reserves : Mavi Chahal/Bishnoi Rana/DK Shaw Saini

Same squad for Zimbabwe tour as well. 

Test these youngsters & give them few games under the belt before WT20

Good points .

Ankit_sharma03 said:

Key points moving ahead 

1. KL return of form is very important - he has been a gun in t20. If he doesnt its our loss going with one less top class batsman . Also he needs to commit to attacking cricket .

Yes . KL in top form is critical . Covers lot of areas  like an aggressive opener , a back up in MO if needed, a back up for WK /Bat in case of injuries to first choice WK.  One more impact player  in the line up. 

2.  Kishen and Pant shud be persisted and tried to fix in XI. IF you dont want bowlers to settle - a mix of right-left is very important .

Kishan should be tested as both opener as well as MO before the WC .  He has done very well in IPL in MO too .  Should be considered for both positions  as a contender.

3. Hardik needs to work out his chink thats found in new stance also TM shud try to send him early so he gets his eye in. Any batsman will be more dangerous if he  gets his eye in or else he ll cow lash in last over which can affect timing .

Another high priority for India. He needs develop shots square of the wickets both sides . Still trying to hit too many deliveries down the ground when bowlers attack him back of length/shortish high pace balls ..

- Batting is not just about putting all in to each & every shot . Getting a boundary is as imp as a SIX.  Maintain a good base and make a mental note of areas both on  onside and off side of getting a boundary  by giving direction to balls in the gap. He has enough power to get fours  without putting big effort. Lot to learn from  Malan in this regard.

- Develop Pull shot and slap shot between wide mid on to mid wicket even to deliveries outside off ( best example Bairstow)  in addition to off side slash, ramp .

4. With chahal loosing form , Ashwin needs to be in fray. Now our spin bowling lacks experience with rahul chahar n sundar.  Again saying ashwin is a must 

For me the biggest worry as of now . Looks like a weak spot of the Indian team. Most of the wickets for WC21 will be like the one yesterday.  My hopes hinge on Varun . Quick , not easily readable and not exposed too much so far.   If he fails we are in trouble in spin department .  Not a bad idea to have ASH  in the loop. 

Persisting with Chahal & Kuldeep  could be disaster in KO matches due to over exposure of these guys over last 4 years and they are not having anything new in their arsenal. 

Equally important where best use of Hardik can be done - At present , he will be more useful if he plays more of spinners & second string pacers that will still provide him the opportunity to hit those monster sixes and if opposition team wants to negate him by bring their best pace bowlers , then the death over bowling will become weak which can be exploited.   

This should be one move India should always keep in mind . Teams like NZ, AUS  and to some extent ENG have tied down India with 2 spinners in MO  with Sodhi/Santner, Zampa/Agar/Swepson, Rashid/Moin . India needs to counter this by having Hardik, SKY , Ishhan, Pant  facing them mostly.

Edited by prudent_kreeda
3 hours ago, Majestic said:

kabhi kabhi samajh nahin aata konsi deewar men jaake sar marru

how is shaw n samson same options to DK.

DK is a finishers, shaw an opener and samson is best suited for top 3

ppl just pick names, pick players for roles and their backup not just top 15 names that come in ur head

8 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

DK needs a great IPL to be in contention...  Even that is far fetched. 

5 T20s in lanka tour will happen as hinted by both Rohit & Virat.  Most likely these two won't feature due to Eng tour.  So we can send a young team with Rahul as captain

Rahul (c) 

Kishan

SKY

Iyer

Samson

Pandya

Tewatia

Bhuvi

D Chahar/Shardul (who's available) 

Prasidh

Rahul Chahar

Reserves : Mavi Chahal/Bishnoi Rana/DK Shaw Saini

Same squad for Zimbabwe tour as well. 

Test these youngsters & give them few games under the belt before WT20

Rahul as captain?

On what basis?

Let him first sort out his state of mind without any added burden .