I can watch most Dev Anand films till late 70s unless they are some weird love stories. They would have something in it to keep you entertained. Give me a "Banarasi Babu" and I will enjoy the song "aap yahan se jana ka kiya loge". Put "Darling Darling" on and I will have fun with "aise na mujhe tum dekho" and "ek main hoon, ek tu hai" ... Many of his films take you on interesting adventures ... From 80s onwards, his films went down hill. He was so passionate about making films that he sold most of his property to finance his projects iirc. His diehard fans used to give him money to make films too later on. Despite failures, he kept making films as films were probably his life. 

Some of his gems include:

CID

Guide

Jewel Thief

Prem Pujari 

Johny Mera Naam 

Hare Rama Hare Krishna 

and so on 

Which is your favorite? 

Admittedly Guide has won many awards and technically a good film too, but, usually, I do not watch Bollywood for a Guide but for paisa vasool masala entertainment so my favorite is Johny Mera Naam. Some elements of the film are based on the 007 book Diamonds are forever (Johny mera naam was released before the 007 film with the same name so the unit probably read the book). It was the biggest hit of 1970 and probably ran for over 100 or so weeks to be an all time blockbuster. It will be in my top 10 Bollywood Masala Entertainers too. 

And another killer background score by Kalyanji Anandji:

One interesting segment in Johny mera naam is where Johny (Dev Anand) is asked to carry diamonds in to Nepal. There he meets Pran & his gang, who want to find out who Johny really is. They beat him up and Johny gives them information, which is verified by the gang. Afterwards, Pran gives him 10K for bringing the diamonds in + 5K for the beating. Dev Anand says - "agar phele pata hota ki maar khane ki 5k aur milagain toh mein 10K ki maar kha leta" :phehe:

If you listen to the interviews of likes of Dev Anand and Manoj Kumar, you can see why they are such geniuses:  

In many Dev Anand films, the last sequence used to be in court and Dev Anand usually used to be his own lawyer 

^ Above Dev Anand actually played a lawyer in Duniya (1968)

He was too good in earlier BW films , jaal, baazi, CID, 9-2-11, Kala Baazar my fav is Maya. Culminating in Guide. Jewel Thief and Johnny Mera Naam are Vijay Anand projects. His movies are most popular with Vijay Anand, but his screen presence had gone down by then.  Talking about his music sense, it was much much better than Raj Kapoor. He and the two Burmans created magic in Hindi movies much better than anybody else.

Btw, a legend in my town was that one of my late uncles (in his younger days) watched Johny mera naam for more than 100 times (including watching continuous shows) in cinemas ... there was a diehard Dev Anand fan right in the family 

Cid, jewel theif, Baazi,but not a fan of his mannerism,tbh same with rajkumar,found Ashok Kumar a better actor than both,even manoj kumar was better and offcourse gurudutt

1 hour ago, ravishingravi said:

Guide ofcourse. 

It’s still the best film Bollywood has made till date. Way way ahead of its times. 

That has to be Guru Dutt's Pyaasa.

It is not even a contest.

Guide without  a doubt.  I didn't understand the point of Prem Pujari though..  I had Agent Vinod vibes by the 2nd half. 

My parents love Johnny mera naam:yess: