Tokyo 2020 Paralympics: Record 19 medals thus far!!!! Amazing

6 hours ago, Jay said:

Well india pays 1500 dollars in comparison. So........yea. 

Money matters. Besides Australia offers free university scholarship worth 36000 for elite athletes. 

Special elite athlete graduate program opportunity worth 55 k. 

So it all adds up. 

In India you just get a low paying clerical government job. 

They will get crores if they win any medal.

24 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

yep agree with you on paper but how will a private organisation like IOA in that case raise funds? Do any of you go watch these Olympic sports? How many times are major comps held in india ? And if they are do tv companies pay for media rights? But why would they? No ones interested in supporting the athletes that way. BCCI only makes money due to there being a mad obsession with the public over cricket which equates to eyeballs and which equates to tv revenue.

The same interest can be generated for example hockey. We have a history with winning gold medals in hockey and all it needs is promotion and see what happens. India Pakistan hockey was still watched in India in the 90s even though we were nowhere near our best and Pak was on its way down as well. It was held in Chennai. So maybe take less popular sports there and it will create interest. Same can be said about smaller towns than big metros. Chennai has a history of sports loving people. For a long time, it held an ATP tour event. 

Why are sports like Handball, beach volleyball, and water polo in the Olympics? These are all time pass sports, played casually.

Instead of sports like, Polo, cue sports, chess, bowling, etc

We have not done bad.

Countries like Portugal, Argentina, Belgium, Iran ( weightlifting yet to start though) have just won a medal or two as well. Lets wait to see where we end up

8 minutes ago, I6MTW said:

Why are sports like Handball, beach volleyball, and water polo in the Olympics? These are all time pass sports, played casually.

Water Polo might be among the most intense sport out there. Its wrestling in water. Eastern Europeans treat it as warfare

If you look at 2012 we got 2 shooting 2 wrestling 1 boxing and 1 badminton.

Rio 1 badminton 1 wrestling 

Beijing 1 shooting 1 boxing 1 wrestling 

The truth is india needed 2 from shooting and 2 from wrsetling to make 6 or overtake it.

Shooting has been a huge failure. Wrsetling we need to wait.

Even boxing. Mens 7 boxers won 1 match between them. Barring Satish kumar indian men boxing has been a **** show even with low expectations.

So what do indians do? Keep expectations so low that even winning a single medal is over achievement ?

Just now, Vickydev said:

Water Polo might be among the most intense sport out there. Its wrestling in water. Eastern Europeans treat it as warfare

When I watch it, it looks so dumb and lame. Like one of those pass time games you play on the beach or a pool for fun. 

9 minutes ago, I6MTW said:

When I watch it, it looks so dumb and lame. Like one of those pass time games you play on the beach or a pool for fun. 

Watch any match between the erstwhile Yugoslav nations, Russia, Hungary etc it will change your mind.

This is about the US women's teams prep for the games

Edited by Vickydev
25 minutes ago, I6MTW said:

Bhai water polo isn't time pass, it is physically one of the toughest sports out there. Combination of swimming and wrestling, and the fouls they do underwater, need a lot of courage to take part. 

Not many sports harder than boxing, wrestling, but water polo makes a strong case. 

24 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

If you look at 2012 we got 2 shooting 2 wrestling 1 boxing and 1 badminton.

Rio 1 badminton 1 wrestling 

Beijing 1 shooting 1 boxing 1 wrestling 

The truth is india needed 2 from shooting and 2 from wrsetling to make 6 or overtake it.

Shooting has been a huge failure. Wrsetling we need to wait.

Even boxing. Mens 7 boxers won 1 match between them. Barring Satish kumar indian men boxing has been a **** show even with low expectations.

So what do indians do? Keep expectations so low that even winning a single medal is over achievement ?

lets see. hopefully sindhu and the hockey team make it 2 more and then a few from wrestling (phogat+punia, some others) and maybe karanjeet/neeraj.

thing is india's sporting ability is broad rather than deep, as in we are above average in lots of fields and just world class (genuine medal contenders) in a few.

that's why our tally is good in cwg (no asians to fight in boxing, wrestling, badminton, weightlifting etc etc) and asian games (lots of athletic medals cause no europeans or americans) but in olympics we falter, often in qfs and pre-qfs.

we need that breakthrough olympics where in these "good enough" categories we really break through and turn into medal contenders.

thats how small countries win loads of olympic medals - jamaica sprinting, kenya long distance running, uzbekistan boxing.

for example in boxing we had players qualifying for 9/13 this time (us - 10/13, uk - 11/13, uzbekistan - 11/13 and kazakhstan - 9/13 are the only ones with more). but only one medal. it has to reach the stage where we win at least 3-4 out of 10/11. Same with other sports.

our contingents are becoming bigger which is good but we really need to push our "good enough" sports to the next level. once that happens, medal tally will increase by huge amounts.

Edited by deathmonger

No contact sport can be played casually. 

Combat sports

Rugby

Water Polo

American Football, Australian Football

Ice Hockey

Kabaddi

30 minutes ago, Vickydev said:

I thought there was no contact allowed in that and handball? What? 

1 minute ago, Jay said:

I thought there was no contact allowed in that and handball? What? 

The player with the ball can be dragged, pulled etc. Lots of underwater kicking as well. It can get bloody nasty

9 minutes ago, Gollum said:

No contact sport can be played casually. 

Combat sports

Rugby

Water Polo

American Football, Australian Football

Ice Hockey

Kabaddi

There is contact allowed in water polo though? Are you allowed to take people down or something?

2 minutes ago, Vickydev said:

The player with the ball can be dragged, pulled etc. Lots of underwater kicking as well. It can get bloody nasty

Oh wow ok. Never knew about that. I thought it basically had handball rules. Handball is boring to watch but fun to play. Apart from Europeans no one takes handball seriously anyway. I guess same applies with water Polo.