Tokyo 2020 Paralympics: Record 19 medals thus far!!!! Amazing

2 hours ago, Gollum said:

Entirely expected. Must be so embarassing. Some idiot journo started this 'source' based news, which was picked up by other Indian media outlets and soon became breaking news.

3 hours ago, LordPrabhzy said:

SAILING

8:35 a.m. onwards Laser Men Race 7 & 8 - Vishnu Saravanan (Currently 22nd position out of 35)

8:35 a.m. onwards 49er Men Race 5 & 6 - Ganapathy Kelapanda and Varun Thakkar (Currently 18th position out of 19)

8:45 a.m. onwards Laser Radial Women Race 7 & 8 - Nethra Kumanan (Currently 33rd position

Why do we even participate 

10 hours ago, QuarantineTormentino said:

All our Olympic medals off late have come from women:hatsoff::adore: 

Men have much more competition than women. For a Sport to be an Olympic event. It should be played by 75 countries for men and  40 countries for women . Also plenty of Islamic nations Africans don't give much importance to women sports. So women have to compete with nations where there  is equality but men has to compete with all nations.

1 hour ago, Singh bling said:

Men have much more competition than women. For a Sport to be an Olympic event. It should be played by 75 countries for men and  40 countries for women . Also plenty of Islamic nations Africans don't give much importance to women sports. So women have to compete with nations where there  is equality but men has to compete with all nations.

But in India we have too many social taboos making female participation in sports much more difficult. India isn't much better than many of these Islamic countries, and let's be honest Muslim majority countries like Turkey, Azerbaijan, Kosovo, Lebanon, Albania, Tunisia, Algeria, Morocco, Central Asian States (Soviet legacy), maybe even Bangladesh....way better when it comes to female empowerment. How many girls did we have in school playing sports? In college? Many African countries are ahead of India as well, I often see fellow Indians looking down upon or pitying Africa when we trail most of those countries in many socio-economic parameters. 

There are several reports, rankings indicating the same. Western countries, East Asia all do far better, you known countries that actually dominate the medals table!!!!! Their female athletes have advantage in every facet whether it be family/society's acceptance, participation, funding, encouragement, high school and college sports, competition, safe environment etc. There may be more competition among men but our women have to conquer far greater odds just to participate in sports, forget winning medals. Even bigger challenge in places like Haryana, Punjab where female foeticide and infanticide are common, You must be familiar with Saina Nehwal's background, her grandmom refused to even look at her face because she wanted a grandson. In TV shows (like comedy) and adda sessions, our countrymen (not all but significantly high %) make fun of women in sports, mocking and/or casting aspersions on their appearance, sexual orientation, character, family values etc. Guarantee that **** doesn't happen (at least to that extent) in Europe, Americas, Oceania, large part of Africa and Asia. 

1 hour ago, Gollum said:

O bhai, old news hai. Jadhav himself got knocked out next round, against #1. 

Cmon anyone with the name jhadav is bound to lose. After all kedar

2 hours ago, Gollum said:

But in India we have too many social taboos making female participation in sports much more difficult. India isn't much better than many of these Islamic countries, and let's be honest Muslim majority countries like Turkey, Azerbaijan, Kosovo, Lebanon, Albania, Tunisia, Algeria, Morocco, Central Asian States (Soviet legacy), maybe even Bangladesh....way better when it comes to female empowerment. How many girls did we have in school playing sports? In college? Many African countries are ahead of India as well, I often see fellow Indians looking down upon or pitying Africa when we trail most of those countries in many socio-economic parameters. 

There are several reports, rankings indicating the same. Western countries, East Asia all do far better, you known countries that actually dominate the medals table!!!!! Their female athletes have advantage in every facet whether it be family/society's acceptance, participation, funding, encouragement, high school and college sports, competition, safe environment etc. There may be more competition among men but our women have to conquer far greater odds just to participate in sports, forget winning medals. Even bigger challenge in places like Haryana, Punjab where female foeticide and infanticide are common, You must be familiar with Saina Nehwal's background, her grandmom refused to even look at her face because she wanted a grandson. In TV shows (like comedy) and adda sessions, our countrymen (not all but significantly high %) make fun of women in sports, mocking and/or casting aspersions on their appearance, sexual orientation, character, family values etc. Guarantee that **** doesn't happen (at least to that extent) in Europe, Americas, Oceania, large part of Africa and Asia. 

Sujit ji should learn from this post. It's hard for india to reciprocate what other nations are able to do because we don't have a proper structure in place. There is no funding. There are poor resources. There is no encouragement. There is no backing. 

There is however corruption. How can you expect medals. 

We need to develop an Indian institute of sport to churn out athletes. A special school. 

1 hour ago, Jay said:

There is however corruption. How can you expect medals. 

We need to develop an Indian institute of sport to churn out athletes. A special school. 

It’s not for all sports, badminton has a fantastic structure now, so does wrestling and the reason why hockey is still more or less doing ok is because of corporate sponsorship.

Yes Indian government and sports ministry  regardless of which political party are incompetent.

China and Russia has government involvement, USA has college sponsorships + corporate sponsorship which grooms these athletes.

However in India there is corporate sponsorship but an athlete has to really standout for them to get that. That’s the problem. There is nothing at the grass root level because it is a cultural problem. A watch man’s son would rather get a easy Degree and work in a call center than risk sports as a career that’s the sad truth. Let IIT and IIM and other big educational institutions encourage sports quotas and see how sports will get better.

Edited by maniac