Tokyo 2020 Paralympics: Record 19 medals thus far!!!! Amazing

3 minutes ago, deepdynamo said:

The Pressure and expectation argument is fine for the first Olympics. ( 2012)

This is her third Olympics and every time I see her I see an archer full of anxiety, stress and tension.

I strongly believe we need to prepare some new archers for next Olympics. If we are still stuck with Deepika, don't expect any medals.

Fair enough. 

It seems Deepika's heart rate was never below 150 in the R8 match. 

3rd Olympics, 10+ years experience at the top level, against an opponent very few expect you to beat

Poor mental conditioning. Technique, skill and all that stuff is important(all top archers will have these qualities in abundance) but how to make Olympic champions out of sportsmen who are mentally so so weak?

2 hours ago, Gollum said:

To you and your friend

ganesh chaturthi: If modaks aren't your go-to dessert on Ganesh Chaturthi,  try this motichoor laddoo recipe - The Economic Times

Hope to hear more good news from him. Personally have very high expectation from Amit, maybe even gold. 

Woww just got up

n saw the newssss……..

8 minutes ago, Gollum said:

It seems Deepika's heart rate was never below 150 in the R8 match. 

3rd Olympics, 10+ years experience at the top level, against an opponent very few expect you to beat

Poor mental conditioning. Technique, skill and all that stuff is important(all top archers will have these qualities in abundance) but how to make Olympic champions out of sportsmen who are mentally so so weak?

Deepika, Atanu and Tarundeep have been playing for 10 years without any Olympic success and Asian Games success.

From the current lot, only Praveen Jadhav should be continued as he is just 23 year old and he may be a medal prospect in future.

3 minutes ago, neel roy said:

Woww just got up

n saw the newssss……..

Next AGAINST: Welterweight world champ Busenaz Surmeneli.. we only play olympic champions n world champions in KOs without fail..

Think sports like weightlifting, boxing, wrestling are so strength based and/or high paced, short duration, energy sapping that it doesn't leave much room for choking. Let's call this category A.

In sports like shooting, archery, tennis (even cricket) plenty of alone time where the athlete will be contemplating, allowing wavering thoughts, indecisiveness/fear/anxiety basically all types of negative emotions creep in....most chance of choking. Category B.

Indians are simply not mentally tough in sports at the highest level (harsh truth, no escaping the fact). This trait is somewhat hidden in some sports, comes to forefront in others. 

Moving forward we have two options:

1. Invest heavily in mental conditioning right from junior levels, no use starting this process with a 27 yo first time Olympian. Mental coaches should be as important as technique, fitness, strength & conditioning coaches at all age groups, all levels whether it is international or district. Set up a culture of high mental strength across the board (should be basic pre-requisite for selection and this is where mental coaches will play a major role). Mind over matter as the Germans preach and practice, ability to keep a strong nervous system like East Asians. This will help us overachieve or at least not underachieve when stakes are high.

2. Invest more in Category A sports, less in Cat B. I don't see why we can't win more medals in weightlifting and wrestling. Remember the name 'Jeremy Lalrinnunga', a kid from Mizoram, Youth Olympics gold medalist in weightlifting and a bright prospect for Paris 2024 IMO. Instead of spending so much on shooting contingent, target kids like Jeremy and back them to do bulk of winning in future Olympics. 14 events in the sport, don't see why we can't have 4-5 elite lifters in future games. Look at how Chinese (as an extension E and SE Asians) and Central Asians/Turks dominate lifting, certainly not beyond us Indians. Same with wrestling, looking at how casually we treat this sport and its practitioners (compared to USA, Japan, Russia, Iran, Georgia, Sweden...not going into specifics right now, will save that for maybe when the wrestling events start) it is nothing short of a miracle how we punch above our weight in this highly competitive sport. Mind-blowing ROI. 

Cat B has outperformed A in 2008, 2012, 2016, 2020(till now)...shooting and archery are only good for building hype, raising hopes in the buildup to Olympics...khayali pulao. Sure they help us a lot in CWG, Asian Games but must we settle for low grade competition or the Olympics? 

PS (I): Didn't include badminton, hockey since they don't drain our resources that much, have given us medals and/or on a positive trend. Badminton is self-sustainable, hockey will get there very soon I fervently wish.

PS (II): Track, rowing, TT, swimming, gymnastics, diving etc. we are a long long way away from becoming world class (aka Olympic deep runs), just hope we keep bettering our shows in CWG, AG....mainly target must be to improve upon national records/benchmarks for the next 20 years, on a regular basis without losing hope/interest if things don't go our way in international meets. Progress will be slow and we must make our peace with it. First breach the critical mark where we have enough quality athletes in these sports, after that worry about international field. Don't splash money since these sports are not high priority, but continue funding, slow and steady. 

There is potential in field events and can join Cat A in the near future. We have an excellent javelin program and budding talent among both men and women. We can have 2 Indians in this edition's javelin final, Neeraj has an outside shot at a podium finish as well. Will wait and see how the immediate future unfolds, but I see lots of potential in multiple field events.

7 minutes ago, neel roy said:

And another choke from Manu. What the heck man

tbh not her best suit. its the mixed doubles choke that sucks.

10m mens and mixed doubles we should have won medals in both.

now prospects are:

hockey - gold/silver look tough as beating australia and belgium will be tough. but germany/ netherlands/gbr are beatable and we are in with a decent chance for bronze.

women's badminton - similar scenario. top 2 seem tough but others are beatable - equal chance. decent hcance for bronze.

s kumar - very very tough. uzbek is tough

pooja rani - very tough. rio bronze medalist and has been winning no 1 in championships for a time. pooja rani was no 1 in asian championship 2021 but then i assume a lot skipped.

lovlina silver/gold - very tough. turkish is world champion.

amit panghal - good chance for at least a bronze.

atanu - has a good run so far but very very tough.

phogat - good chance for at least a bronze

bajrang punia - good chance for at least a bronze

deepak punia - okish chances. wrestling there are two bronzes so chances are more.

ravi dahiya - okish chances

neeraj chopra - okish chances for bronze.

40 minutes ago, deepdynamo said:

Deepika, Atanu and Tarundeep have been playing for 10 years without any Olympic success and Asian Games success.

From the current lot, only Praveen Jadhav should be continued as he is just 23 year old and he may be a medal prospect in future.

Then why people are expecting olympic medals when don't even have Asian medals.

20 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Damn surprised to see a Malaysian in Synchronized Diving event.  I hope I live to see the day an Indian wins a medal in this event. 

they are almost a first world country at this point so their players are emerging.

41 minutes ago, deathmonger said:

tbh not her best suit. its the mixed doubles choke that sucks.

10m mens and mixed doubles we should have won medals in both.

now prospects are:

hockey - gold/silver look tough as beating australia and belgium will be tough. but germany/ netherlands/gbr are beatable and we are in with a decent chance for bronze.

women's badminton - similar scenario. top 2 seem tough but others are beatable - equal chance. decent hcance for bronze.

s kumar - very very tough. uzbek is tough

pooja rani - very tough. rio bronze medalist and has been winning no 1 in championships for a time. pooja rani was no 1 in asian championship 2021 but then i assume a lot skipped.

lovlina silver/gold - very tough. turkish is world champion.

amit panghal - good chance for at least a bronze.

atanu - has a good run so far but very very tough.

phogat - good chance for at least a bronze

bajrang punia - good chance for at least a bronze

deepak punia - okish chances. wrestling there are two bronzes so chances are more.

ravi dahiya - okish chances

neeraj chopra - okish chances for bronze.

due to politics reigning world no 1 in 25 m pistol chinki yadav was not given the quota which she herself bagged. This was given to Manu Bhaker who was world no 7.. anyways ranking really doesnt matter but for precision sports at least go by form and who got the quota..

Just now, Number said:

Are world championships in archery fraud or what ?

Koreans who are no 1 don’t participate in these championships. They have internal National championships. As per them the pool inside the country in archery and shooting is better than rest of the world combined. Cant argue..

1 minute ago, Number said:

Are world championships in archery fraud or what ?

a lot of the top guys didnt play plus this 2021 version lots of teams didnt participate.

tbh archery they didnt choke. that was their ceiling. no way they were beating the koreans.

now shooting, thats a choke.

21 minutes ago, Lord said:

The coverage from Sony Six has been apalling

Most of time I see either ads or studio discussion while live events are happening

Their cricket match coverage is also appaling ...Hotstar >>>> Sonyliv

whats a bit annoying from the India POV is that nobody seems to come out of no where to win a medal.

I remember peas in 1996. We did not expect a medal but he won a bronze. Same with Vijay singh in 2012.

With India we seem to have pre olympics around 16-7 medal prospects. Out of which the conversion rate has been poor. There is nobody who comes out of no where to win. Mirabai was expected to win and she won. 

The biggest disappointment with the shooters is that they failed to even get to the finals barring Chaudhary. Was not even near miss. 1100 crore I read has been pumped into shooting. Returns are piss poor.

If this continues IMO it just makes sense to invest more in the north east as the returns are better.