The Trundler love of the New team management

The new team management of team India seems to be in love with trundlers.

First they kept playing a hopeless Bhuvi in SA,where on hard bouncy tracks he was mince meat.

Today they have played 3 medium pacers in the team.

Is this their strategy for hard bouncy tracks of Australia? These trundlers will be massacred there. Yet the team management plays them.

Then again, this team management kept playing Pujara and Rahane.

4 minutes ago, raki05 said:

Rohit captain this series. What about sa series and sl series where dravid took all the calls.

Even there, its the captain who makes the calls. Not the coach. But the whole TM has to take the blame.

19 minutes ago, kubrickian said:

Even there, its the captain who makes the calls. Not the coach. But the whole TM has to take the blame.

Bhai toh coach ka kya kaam hai. Btw do you think kl would have taken the call during sa series ahead of dravid or Samson during sl series.

2 hours ago, kubrickian said:

I dont get how conveniently everyone is bashing Dravid. The captain has the final say in team selection, so its Rohit's call than anybody else. 

Coach does off-field strategy, bat 1st-2nd , team combo etc. sure captain might sign off but this isn’t Shastri, Dravid’s input has a lot more leverage.

Captain runs the show on field.

Edited by maniac
1 hour ago, express bowling said:

This is so so disappointing from Rohit-Dravid duo.

Picking 3 shortish and floaty medium pacers is even worse than our 1980s attack where Kapil.was atleast on the taller side and sharpish. 

Total lack of vision.

Even if one orr two out of those three concede 55-60 runs in two overs ,fns can digest it without digestive pills with a churan called "deception, variation"

Bigger sides can  hit Bumrah,Prasidh,Avesh etc for plenty but can't go after these "variation"bowlers?weird logic, isn't it?

3 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

Bumrah,Prasidh,Avesh etc for plenty but can't go after these "variation"bowlers?weird logic, isn't it?

Prasidh is one of the worst batsman and fielders I have seen. Don’t jump on me yet. I think he is a very good prospect as a bowler.

Is his bowling that good to guarantee a slot is the question.

Avesh too I have seen him huffing and puffing on the boundary while fielding and not sure if he can bat either.

I am not justifying trundlers but this isn’t such an obvious solution as people seem to think.

On top or that add guys like Chahal and Kuldeep who are equally poor in other departments.

Some fine balance has to be maintained unfortunately when we have too many one dimensional cricketers.

Prasidh and Avesh are not Mcgrath or Anderson that they can walk in as pure bowlers yet.

why can’t you see that problem?

1 minute ago, maniac said:

Prasidh is one of the worst batsman and fielders I have seen. Don’t jump on me yet. I think he is a very good prospect as a bowler.

Is his bowling that good to guarantee a slot is the question.

Avesh too I have seen him huffing and puffing on the boundary while fielding and not sure if he can bat either.

I am not justifying trundlers but this isn’t such an obvious solution as people seem to think.

On top or that add guys like Chahal and Kuldeep who are equally poor in other departments.

Some fine balance has to be maintained unfortunately when we have too many one dimensional cricketers.

Prasidh and Avesh are not Mcgrath or Anderson that they can walk in as pure bowlers yet.

why can’t you see that problem?

Are they that worst on field that their primary skills should be overlooked?

Why don't you compare "variation bowlers"(also they can bat) with Klusners,Pollocks or even Heath Streaks of the world?Do they match their skills

why you have to bring in ATGs like those two to compare with Avesh(not endorsing him as he hasn't played yet),Prasidh

I know there are people in the forum who find it wierd for those who only discuss pace bowlers

Most of us don't madly talk about pace,else we would have blindly heaped praise on Umesh,Aaron(who were the first pair of genuine quicks from India)

Just to tell you we discuss bounce, movement,zip,stamina,height etc

You need wicket takers,that can do a lot of balancing

Just for the sake of it can't load this side with pretenders

1 minute ago, Suhaan said:

Are they that worst on field that their primary skills should be overlooked?

Their primary skill isn’t the question or having 1-2 such players isn’t either. The question is how many such one-dimensional players can we carry is the question.

To put it into context

India has 3 keeper-bats 

Main spinners Chahal-Kuldeep can’t field or bat

Most 140+ bowlers can’t field or bat

main batsmen don’t bowl 

this world in odi and tests. In t20, you need a batting depth till 8 at least.

i wasn’t questioning or criticizing  you personally but what is your combo?

12 minutes ago, maniac said:

Their primary skill isn’t the question or having 1-2 such players isn’t either. The question is how many such one-dimensional players can we carry is the question.

To put it into context

India has 3 keeper-bats 

Main spinners Chahal-Kuldeep can’t field or bat

Most 140+ bowlers can’t field or bat

main batsmen don’t bowl 

this world in odi and tests. In t20, you need a batting depth till 8 at least.

i wasn’t questioning or criticizing  you personally but what is your combo?

For Australia,based on present form

Siraj

Bumrah

Prasidh(bounce is his USP,he needs to be there)if he can take out 2 crucial wickets his fielding ability can be overlooked

Chahar/Avesh(Chahar can be used upfront then comes his batting)

Chahal/Bishnoi(Bishnoi should play,he will come good)

Chahar will play most games,means we have batting till 7, batting till 8 at the expense of a bowler/wickettaker is overkill in t20s

We need wicket takers more than others sides do , against us as top sides have more attacking batsmen ,you can stop them only by picking wickets

While other sides need containing bowlers against us, there's a difference

Two spinners aren't needed either

I don't understand this obsession with batting ability of bowlers. @Suhaan has pointed this out too.

Batting till 8 should be more than enough in any format. Even more so in T20s where only 20 overs are there.

If batting is the primary requirement for choosing the 3 specialist bowlers also then it means that " baggage specialist batsmen " are being chosen based on reputation rather than current ability.

Edited by express bowling
15 minutes ago, express bowling said:

I don't understand this obsession with batting ability of bowlers. @Suhaan has pointed this out too.

Batting till 8 should be more than enough in any format. Even more so in T20s where only 20 overs are there.

If batting is the primary requirement for choosing the 3 specialist bowlers also then it means that " baggage specialist batsmen " are being chosen based on reputation rather than current ability.

When you add chahal/another spinner with no batting ability you get 5 tailenders. That means as soon as 3 wickets go down we will be forced to shut the shop. In T20 you just need two gun bowlers.

2 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

When you add chahal/another spinner with no batting ability you get 5 tailenders. That means as soon as 3 wickets go down we will be forced to shut the shop. In T20 you just need two gun bowlers.

Even in T20s,  3 bowlers must be chosen based on bowling ability. Taking wickets is the only true way to stop explosive batsmen on flat decks.

Batting till 8 is enough.

3 specialist bowlers + 1 bowling allrounder at 8 + 1 allrounder at 7 ... is the way to go.