India of your dreams - Vision 2030

ravishingravi

We are all living in either different parts of world, different states in India, speaking different languages, of different religions / ethnicities / cultures. But I believe most of us are passionate about this India project. I know I am. 

Its hard to make sweeping predictions with changing political and global economic landscape. But when I visualize the future, this is what I would like to see :-

•  GDP of close to $ 10 Trn / roughly 3-4 time increase in per capita. 
  •  Start up hub of the world, second to California.
  •  Largest renewable transition drive in the world ( Wind / Solar / EV / Biofuel )
  •  Strangely, contrary to points 1 and 2, I am hoping against hope that we don't fall into the same viscous consumption cycle where we lose all sense of balance.  
  •  India to be renamed "Bharat"
  •  Uniform civil code to be implemented. 
  •  India is permanent member of UNSC. 
  •  India is one of the top 10 tourist hubs. Regions are packaging and promoting their unique cultures. Tourism provides upto 3-4% of GDP
  •  India's soft power is not just Bollywood but Yoga, meditation and Ayurveda
  •  India continue to be family centric society with great emphasis on diet and health. 
  • Health Infrastructure remains viable for poorest. In fact, the cost and quality of infrastructure makes India a hub of medical tourism. 
  • Undoubted mecca and home for Hindus across the world. This doesn't imply exclusion of other communities. But this land in the only hope to retain this kind of possibility.
  • An education system that adopts the strength of the systems abroad, that is practical, but that is also driven towards building rounded human beings. 

Sapnon ka Bharat. What is your vision ?

39 minutes ago, ravishingravi said:
  • Largest renewable transition drive in the world ( Wind / Solar / EV / Biofuel )
  •  Strangely, contrary to points 1 and 2, I am hoping against hope that we don't fall into the same viscous consumption cycle where we lose all sense of balance.  

A special focus on urban design in terms of housing, public transportation, sustainable development.   India is going to be in a massive build-out phase for some time, and I don't to see a copy-paste of big buildings everywhere, without any proper thought given to public spaces, utility infrastructure, public services.  

Less population & pollution 

More love for art and sustainability esp. in public infrastructure design 

1/3rd of land devoted to forest (minimum human intervention in these areas) and animals 

Better healthcare for everyone 

Optimal waste management system 

Crystal clear water systems 

More relevant education system 

India regains its focus on local culture and strengthens its position as home to the native religions 

Quality population that is accountable, responsible, & ethical 

Miles & miles to go before India sleeps 

Had posted this a while ago in another thread.  Edited and posted here. 

1. Continued commitment to science innovation, especially in the life-sciences and medicine, is a must.  Covaxin is a launching pad that will help India expand from being a manufacturing-under-licence hub to being an innovator and developer of modern medicine. Grab leadership in modern medicine backed by science. There is nothing "Western" about modern medicine - scientific innovation knows no borders. Leadership in innovative, advanced, evidence-based, targeted medicine, not fanciful medicine of yore, is soft power. Put Ayurvedic interventions through the same rigorous, well-controlled efficacy and safety trials as modern drugs. If they pass muster, go for it. If not, have the courage to defy tradition, and stop hanging on to them just because they've been used forever.

2. Agricultural biotechnology for yield improvement - more food on less land with less labour.  You cannot feed people with primitive methods of growing food/feed.  India has the brightest minds in ag research.  Use them to help farmers.  Again, there is nothing "Western" about ag innovations - even Indian plants have genes and Indian soil has nutrients.  Use them.  The neighbour to the north is already doing it on a large scale and seeing results.  

3.  Free people from the farm.  Farming should be a choice, not an enslavement.  Less than 5 % of the population should be tied to farming (again, as a choice), freeing others to become educated in whatever they choose.  As it stands now, 30% of India - including women and children - is tied to the farm, keeping them from pursuing other talents.  

4. Energy independence:  Become a leader in nuclear energy - local, safe, high-density, low-waste, carbon-free, aatmanirbhar energy. Not high-waste, low-density "renewables" peddled by the eNGOs of the world.

Culture, spirituality, social justice etc will automatically thrive in a nation a healthy, well-fed, economically-developed, empowered population.

Edited by BacktoCricaddict

12 hours ago, ravishingravi said:

Strangely, contrary to points 1 and 2, I am hoping against hope that we don't fall into the same viscous consumption cycle where we lose all sense of balance.  

Well we're already past the point of no return! I do hope we don't expand our stupid cities further inwards, as we don't really need to. Forest/nature conservation & planting more trees should be a priority, cleaning up water resources, better policing & much better governance/rule of law etc.

Efficient corruption would be the best goal. Currently, there is inefficient corruption.

We cannot solve corruption but at least make it efficient. In-spite of corruption, let's get the work done correctly, and timely. Even today, paying somebody extra does not get the work done well or correctly. We have this laziness, chalta hai attitude and jugaad environment. That's true for big or small projects...

A young dyamic leader in the country...  Screw oldies

India free from terrorism. 

Pakistan Balkanized for security reasons.  PoK captured (may never happen but one can dream) 

India China reach a mutual consensus & start with a clean slate & realize the potential they both have with each other. 

India becoming a chip manufacturing country with high tech innovation. 

GDP per capita increases in poor HDI states like UP Bihar & Chattisgarh.  These states have been poor in almost every index. 

Sri lanka becoming an Indian protectorate like Bhutan. 

Will be over $8T economy. Money hopefully will be the next thing which binds our diverse cultures. population degrowth, we absolutely need it. Hopefully few more olympic golds including hockey gold, place in football WC and tiger kaisay zindha hai 7.  

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2022-09-02/uk-slips-behind-india-to-become-world-s-sixth-biggest-economy?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=news_tab&mibextid=xId9XV#l7legy41ckv5wlyoqsg

Britain has dropped behind India to become the world’s sixth largest economy, delivering a further blow to the government in London as it grapples with a brutal cost-of-living shock.

The former British colony leaped past the UK in the final three months of 2021 to become the fifth-biggest economy. The calculation is based in US dollars, and India extended its lead in the first quarter, according to GDP figures from the International Monetary Fund.'

The IMF’s own forecasts show India overtaking the UK in dollar terms on an annual basis this year, putting the Asian powerhouse behind just the US, China, Japan and Germany. A decade ago, India ranked 11th among the largest economies, while the UK was 5th.

I'd say an 8 trillion economy with growth rate in double digit preferably,also innovation is given preference,not just manufacturing hub but focus on R&D as well,defence, service, telecommunication, manufacturing leads the way most importantly BIMARU states sees devlopement along with states with resources like Jharkhand and chhatisgarh along with devlopement of north east, modernization of defence forces takes off rapidly ,and our younger generation see's a renaissance of sort in santana dharma hopefully a bhakti movement part 2 ,which eradicates the cast line and also unites the dharmic fold