Dharamsala loses third test

cowboysfan

Just now, Lone Wolf said:

Poms made a lot of noise when we cancelled the Test...  I remember Ganguly had to go & calm things down.  Similar reasons like tourism hospitality & revenue were given when Test was cancelled/moved out if Manchester. 

But yeah travelling Aussie fans will surely be miffed or feel cheated.  

Indian domestic flights are cheap. 150 US dollars tops.

Also most hotels fully refund cancellations. 

it is chump change for first world visiting tourists.

i would not worry about it hitting their pockets quite frankly. 

17 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said:

Not only fans but foreign media also suffers as pointed by Narula as arrangements are done well in advance regarding equipment& stuff. 

Any inconvenience to Foreign teams doesn't paints a good picture about a certain organization...  And that too richest cricket board. 

But knowing BCCI & India we will go with Chalta hai attitude. 

3 hours ago, speedracer said:

So if I had bought tickets abd accommodation, do I get refunded by corrput bcci? Who will pay for all expenses? Tera baao karega kya? 

Tickets will be refunded. Flights can be canceled for a small fee or get travel credit. Hotels can be canceled usually with no fee. Not a big BFD. Just a minor irritant. 

Unless you adorn your bedroom wall with Jay Shah's laminated photograph, you wouldn't be defending this spineless, inept, corrupt POS board and what they've just done with their last second change.

It may not be to you, but any amount of a money is a big f'n deal to a lot of us.

20 minutes ago, vijaydude said:

Unless you adorn your bedroom wall with Jay Shah's laminated photograph, you wouldn't be defending this spineless, inept, corrupt POS board and what they've just done with their last second change.

It may not be to you, but any amount of a money is a big f'n deal to a lot of us.

Some are defending him that he is a Gujju others Coz he is son of HM. 

That's why nation comes secondary for some people.  

Party>>>Nation...  That's the mantra here. 

Raipur would be great, don't think the aussies would be able to handle the humidity, Dehradun can be a option but why allow the aussies some great temperature, it's a lot cooler. Would love to see a game at Jaipur 

5 hours ago, rangeelaraja said:

Whether its foreign tourists or domestic - this is is inept management by BCCI and unfair to anybody who spent money on making plans.  In today's day and age, vacations, trips, flights are planned and booked months in advance, not days or weeks.  

Its not a question of whether "first world tourists" can afford it or not.  Its whether an organization sucking in multi-billion dollar profits can handle its affairs in a remotely reasonable and structured way. 

Weather is not in anybody's control, but given what has happened, this decision should have not been delayed so much.  Its clear that this problem didn't come up overnight.  This is a management and organizational failure, that once again, screws over the paying public.  Both Indian and visiting.  

And its not a surprise either - BCCI's scheduling and planning always has been sub-par and to the inconvenience and cost of paying fans.  The fact that pseudo-patriots somehow feel the need to defend such failures and lack of accountability claiming that its "chump change for foreign tourists" is.........telling. 

4 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

Some are defending him that he is a Gujju others Coz he is son of HM. 

That's why nation comes secondary for some people.  

Party>>>Nation...  That's the mantra here. 

I can't stand Jay Shah and he should never have been appointed BCCI president or whatever the F his title is.  But this screw-up is not just about that unqualified moron.  Its about the BCCI as an organization, they have always been inept and bumbling, at the cost of the fans.  

This is why Indians are such strong proponents of privatization of key government services and infrastructure, because the record of the lazy buffoons who squat on those chairs is so poor, that Indians are ready to sell off national crown jewels hoping for better service delivery.  And here, the goddam BCCI is a private organization to begin with, but they are stuffed with entitled babus who treat local and state cricket associations as zamindaari fiefdoms.  

7 minutes ago, sandeep said:

I can't stand Jay Shah and he should never have been appointed BCCI president or whatever the F his title is.  But this screw-up is not just about that unqualified moron.  Its about the BCCI as an organization, they have always been inept and bumbling, at the cost of the fans.  

This is why Indians are such strong proponents of privatization of key government services and infrastructure, because the record of the lazy buffoons who squat on those chairs is so poor, that Indians are ready to sell off national crown jewels hoping for better service delivery.  And here, the goddam BCCI is a private organization to begin with, but they are stuffed with entitled babus who treat local and state cricket associations as zamindaari fiefdoms.  

Babudom is bane in India's progress & will remain so...  No matter how strong we become economically.  Sad reality. 

4 hours ago, Mesky99 said:

Raipur would be great, don't think the aussies would be able to handle the humidity, Dehradun can be a option but why allow the aussies some great temperature, it's a lot cooler. Would love to see a game at Jaipur 

Can't believe I don't remember a Test match in Jaipur being played in ages.   Absolute gold mine for tourist attraction as well.  Local economy could get a boost.   English & Aussie tourists could shore up in great numbers. 

Proper clown job whoever picks these venues. 

Agree this is unprofessional. Heads should roll for this

Unfortunately its a given no one in media will even question it except some having their own agendas

5 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

Not only fans but foreign media also suffers as pointed by Narula as arrangements are done well in advance regarding equipment& stuff. 

Any inconvenience to Foreign teams doesn't paints a good picture about a certain organization...  And that too richest cricket board. 

But knowing BCCI & India we will go with Chalta hai attitude. 

So are you saying foreign teams don’t change venues ? Equipment travels with foreign media. They didn’t even travel to the stop. India and England ODI got moved in 2021. If the ground is not ready people should move on and make plans accordingly. Weather is not anyone’s control.

4 minutes ago, Lord said:

Unfortunately its a given no one in media will even question it except some having their own agendas

How is it unprofessional? Delays in work are caused by weather 

All the guys are making arguments don’t even understand how weather impacts lot of construction work. If it rains how can they install drainage ? Sod can’t be installed if it rains as it creates gaps between sod pieces.

Edited by gattaca
43 minutes ago, Lord said:

Weather is not known for this time in Dharamsala?

Yeah we all know its crazy cold there...  Throw in the seasonal rains from Western disturbances as well. 

BCCI as usual clowns...  To schedule it there in the first place at a place where renovation is going on or are getting delayed due to poor weather.  Means they had no idea wth was going on...  Hence schedule change at last moment. 

Are ICC clowns for hosting ICC test finals in England in early part of June when weather is so unprediactable. We all saw how rain played a vital role in deciding two world cups. 2019  and 2021 ICC test final.

You cannot preditct weather, BCCI are clowns but we have to give them a pass on this issue.

Edited by putrevus
1 hour ago, Lord said:

g****nd mein dum nahi fake "journalists" mein, that they would dare ask a question on this screw-up.  

Stadiums that I prefer (in alphabetical order) from the top of the mind recall:

A'bad, Dharamshala, Kanpur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Pune, Raipur, & Rajkot.

May be time to move away from some of the legacy stadiums which can be ugly concrete mess, relatively small, and/or in polluted cities.