rangeelaraja Posted February 26, 2023 Posted February 26, 2023 Australia coach Andrew McDonald plays down Nagpur pitch controversy: We too produce bouncy tracks Border-Gavaskar Trophy: Australia head coach Andrew McDonald stated that he was not surprised by what was on offer on the Indian pitches ahead of the series opener in Nagpur. https://www.indiatoday.in/sports/cricket/story/australia-coach-andrew-mcdonald-plays-down-nagpur-pitch-controversy-2332440-2023-02-09 A nice kick in the nuts for Hardik Pandya’s lover. raki05, Under_Score and Lord 1 1 1
speedracer Posted February 26, 2023 Posted February 26, 2023 55 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said: Australia coach Andrew McDonald plays down Nagpur pitch controversy: We too produce bouncy tracks Border-Gavaskar Trophy: Australia head coach Andrew McDonald stated that he was not surprised by what was on offer on the Indian pitches ahead of the series opener in Nagpur. https://www.indiatoday.in/sports/cricket/story/australia-coach-andrew-mcdonald-plays-down-nagpur-pitch-controversy-2332440-2023-02-09 A nice kick in the nuts for Hardik Pandya’s lover. Exactly. @Lone Wolf Oz not to so nice either. I am sorry. I live here and trust me pitches are tailored for bounce based bowlers. It's just that we have good bowlers for bouncy conditions and that's why we did well. Actually for all conditions. It's our batting that usually let's us down in sena.
speedracer Posted February 26, 2023 Posted February 26, 2023 1 hour ago, vvvslaxman said: Yup. The way India wins Tests is completely different. Pacers in SENA. Spinners everywhere else. Spinners play support role in SENA. Seamers support everywhere else. Last 10 years India has the best bowling performances Home and Away. Correction. Indian pacers are deadly in Asia too. As deadly as spinners. That's why we dominate teams. Averages are very close.
Lone Wolf Posted February 26, 2023 Posted February 26, 2023 2 hours ago, speedracer said: Exactly. @Lone Wolf Oz not to so nice either. I am sorry. I live here and trust me pitches are tailored for bounce based bowlers. It's just that we have good bowlers for bouncy conditions and that's why we did well. Actually for all conditions. It's our batting that usually let's us down in sena. Aussie tracks are the best if u want high quality cricket. True pitches no extravagant movement, no doctored tracks likes of which we see in NZ SA. Batters as well as bowlers are interested. Indian batters have enjoyed over the years batting in Australia. Sachin called it best place for stroke makers. Sure sometimes they leave grass on on drop in pitches like MCG otherwise they can go dead. T20 WC in Australia was also exciting... It was good to see strong bowling sides doing well & Trundlers getting dispatched. Lord and Vijy 1 1
speedracer Posted February 26, 2023 Posted February 26, 2023 (edited) 18 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said: Aussie tracks are the best if u want high quality cricket. True pitches no extravagant movement, no doctored tracks likes of which we see in NZ SA. Batters as well as bowlers are interested. Indian batters have enjoyed over the years batting in Australia. Sachin called it best place for stroke makers. Sure sometimes they leave grass on on drop in pitches like MCG otherwise they can go dead. T20 WC in Australia was also exciting... It was good to see strong bowling sides doing well & Trundlers getting dispatched. True. I can't stand 2 teams. Nz and England. Phd in pitch rigging. Need to teach them a lesson especially kiwis. We almost beat England and we really should have. Bazzball or gasball. They are still no different. It's the dame players barring Brook. It's a mentality shift sure. They are doing well. I always knew they had some quality stroke players for flat tracks. But their techniques on bowling friendly pitched is poor and will be exploited. Also their bowlers are either old or trundling. Edited February 26, 2023 by speedracer
vvvslaxman Posted February 26, 2023 Posted February 26, 2023 7 hours ago, speedracer said: Correction. Indian pacers are deadly in Asia too. As deadly as spinners. That's why we dominate teams. Averages are very close. I mean. They can. But used sparingly in comparison.
Vijy Posted February 26, 2023 Posted February 26, 2023 7 hours ago, speedracer said: True. I can't stand 2 teams. Nz and England. Phd in pitch rigging. Need to teach them a lesson especially kiwis. We almost beat England and we really should have. Bazzball or gasball. They are still no different. It's the dame players barring Brook. It's a mentality shift sure. They are doing well. I always knew they had some quality stroke players for flat tracks. But their techniques on bowling friendly pitched is poor and will be exploited. Also their bowlers are either old or trundling. NZ always give us massively diff pitches. good thing bangers smacked them around
zen Posted February 27, 2023 Posted February 27, 2023 With Leech picking up 8 wkts in NZ, below is a list of spinners who picked up a 5-er in SENA since 2014: Host country Australia or England or New Zealand or South Africa Start of match date greater than or equal to 1 Jan 2014 Type of bowler (by style) spin bowler Qualifications five wickets in an inns greater than or equal to 1 Ordered by bowling average (ascending) Overall figures Player Span Mat Inns Overs Mdns Runs Wkts BBI BBM Ave Econ SR 5 10 L Embuldeniya (SL) 2019-2019 2 3 41.3 4 143 6 5/66 6/117 23.83 3.44 41.5 1 0 Kuldeep Yadav (IND) 2018-2019 2 2 40.5 7 143 5 5/99 5/99 28.60 3.50 49.0 1 0 NM Lyon (AUS) 2014-2023 66 123 2802.3 554 8186 256 7/152 12/286 31.97 2.92 65.6 10 2 KA Maharaj (SA) 2016-2023 40 66 1159.1 220 3648 114 7/32 9/97 32.00 3.14 61.0 7 0 MJ Leach (ENG) 2018-2023 19 29 580.1 118 1849 48 5/66 10/166 38.52 3.18 72.5 3 1 MM Ali (ENG) 2014-2021 45 77 1267.0 185 4601 119 6/53 10/112 38.66 3.63 63.8 4 1 Taijul Islam (BAN) 2017-2022 3 4 113.0 12 446 11 6/135 9/202 40.54 3.94 61.6 1 0 DM Bess (ENG) 2018-2020 10 15 280.5 66 771 19 5/51 6/87 40.57 2.74 88.6 1 0 DL Piedt (SA) 2015-2016 5 8 145.0 28 543 12 5/153 6/216 45.25 3.74 72.5 1 0 RL Chase (WI) 2017-2022 12 17 337.0 33 1335 26 5/172 5/172 51.34 3.96 77.7 1 0 Yasir Shah (PAK) 2016-2020 16 26 654.0 63 2534 46 6/72 10/141 55.08 3.87 85.3 2 1 Missing are the two experienced Indian spinners leaching on turners in India AKane 1
zen Posted February 27, 2023 Posted February 27, 2023 (edited) Let's not forget these two, like most stat padding Indian cricketers, keep an eye on their stats: He (Rohit) was asked about how he manages three spinners, all of whom want a piece of the Australian batters and want to take wickets on helpful pitches. In his typical, comical Bambaiya accent, Rohit Sharma revealed that both Jadeja and Ashwin had tussle in the middle as both were approaching milestones and both wanted to bowl from that one end that was favoring the bowlers. “Jadeja was saying, ‘ Main 249 wickets pe hu yaar mujhe 250 chahiye (I am on 249 wickets and I want to get the 250th. Give me the ball). Ravichandran Ashwin, who has taken 450 wickets, but still said ‘Maine 4 wickets liye hai mujhe 5 chahiye (I want to pick the five-wicket haul)’,” Rohit said, leaving Irfan and Dasgupta in splits. Edited February 27, 2023 by zen
vvvslaxman Posted February 27, 2023 Posted February 27, 2023 Leach's bunnies :) You can exclude Rohit as he conceded 66 runs for each dismissal. Rest are bunnies raki05 1
vvvslaxman Posted February 27, 2023 Posted February 27, 2023 You need to be an extraordinarily mediocre batsman to be a bunny of Leach who averages 35 in his career. rangeelaraja, sarcastic and raki05 3
sarcastic Posted February 28, 2023 Author Posted February 28, 2023 On 2/27/2023 at 7:50 AM, vvvslaxman said: You need to be an extraordinarily mediocre batsman to be a bunny of Leach who averages 35 in his career. Cough*** Pujara ****cough vvvslaxman and raki05 2
Chakdephatte Posted December 18, 2024 Posted December 18, 2024 Seeing Jadeja bowl without Ash in India will be awkward. 537 wickets at 24 apiece, one of the greatest spinners in 150 years of test cricket history. Plus a better batsman than the likes of Gill, Iyer, Rahane. Lord and Rondu 2
Lord Posted December 18, 2024 Posted December 18, 2024 1 hour ago, Chakdephatte said: Seeing Jadeja bowl without Ash in India will be awkward. 537 wickets at 24 apiece, one of the greatest spinners in 150 years of test cricket history. Plus a better batsman than the likes of Gill, Iyer, Rahane. Their bonding was awesome cricspirit 1
goose Posted December 18, 2024 Posted December 18, 2024 i'd be bery miffed if i was ashwin. a failing batting order refusing to pick jadeja as a batsman only, always leaning on his spin, despite him being the best batsman in the side in recent times, and ashwin being the better spinner. Ultimate_Game 1
Ultimate_Game Posted December 18, 2024 Posted December 18, 2024 3 hours ago, goose said: i'd be bery miffed if i was ashwin. a failing batting order refusing to pick jadeja as a batsman only, always leaning on his spin, despite him being the best batsman in the side in recent times, and ashwin being the better spinner. Ashwin struggled in one series (NZ) and retired. Jadeja struggled in one series (NZ) and he was dropped despite being a better batter than our specialist batters. But our specialist senior batters who've been laying eggs for ages, and in case of the fake king for more than 5 years, there're no repercussions. They're still there. They're not scoring runs, dropping catches, captaining like an inebriated drunk, and forcing the team to play with 9 players. Yet they're neither dropped or held accountable. Nearly every other player, especially bowlers and youngsters, is made to pay for these so called stars' lack of performances but they continue playing. In fact even now Ashwin and Jadeja deserve to play much more than both Kohli and Rohit but that won't happen coz the so called "King" is simply going through a 5+ year rough patch and we should all wait for the rough patch to be over anytime within the next 5 years.
goose Posted December 18, 2024 Posted December 18, 2024 1 hour ago, Ultimate_Game said: Ashwin struggled in one series (NZ) and retired. Jadeja struggled in one series (NZ) and he was dropped despite being a better batter than our specialist batters. But our specialist senior batters who've been laying eggs for ages, and in case of the fake king for more than 5 years, there're no repercussions. They're still there. They're not scoring runs, dropping catches, captaining like an inebriated drunk, and forcing the team to play with 9 players. Yet they're neither dropped or held accountable. Nearly every other player, especially bowlers and youngsters, is made to pay for these so called stars' lack of performances but they continue playing. In fact even now Ashwin and Jadeja deserve to play much more than both Kohli and Rohit but that won't happen coz the so called "King" is simply going through a 5+ year rough patch and we should all wait for the rough patch to be over anytime within the next 5 years. I hear you but I’m not quite as hostile as you. be it Bollywood or cricket this is our way and it will never change and I accept it. my only concern is the next two tests and which bats are most likely to contribute. KL has had a bang average career but is delivering. I stay hopeful the others join in two for one last hurrah!
Ultimate_Game Posted December 18, 2024 Posted December 18, 2024 4 hours ago, goose said: I hear you but I’m not quite as hostile as you. be it Bollywood or cricket this is our way and it will never change and I accept it. my only concern is the next two tests and which bats are most likely to contribute. KL has had a bang average career but is delivering. I stay hopeful the others join in two for one last hurrah! If we don't change, we'll continue to be mediocre instead of dominating the game as we should. IMO we deserve better and though we don't have much of a say but we shouldn't accept it.