Atleast in t20s he should be among the main men

Rohit, Iyer,kela currently don't deserve a place not even a 12th man prospect

7 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

I never rated him

They should have given Samson a long rope,bats in middle ,has the power game

Atleast in t20s he should be among the main men

Rohit, Iyer,kela currently don't deserve a place not even a 12th man prospect

Say what?

Samson has been given the long rope since 2014.

Not amounted to much meaningful for Team India. Has the one off all guns blazing IPL performance a season.

6 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Say what?

Samson has been given the long rope since 2014.

Not amounted to much meaningful for Team India. Has the one off all guns blazing IPL performance a season.

He was recalled after 4 years

He's a T20 specialist,long rope implies continuous run

Infact should feature in odi side as well

Edited by Suhaan

1 hour ago, deepdynamo said:

Jurel was sensational yesterday. Can he bowl?

Also, I like Jitesh is getting consistent chances at No.4, excellent chance to impress the selectors.

Riyan Parag has regressed though.

He's a keeper. Upendra Yadav and Dhruv Jurel are wicket keepers for UP.

2 hours ago, Mosher said:

Tilak Verma is good. I thought Samad will turn to be a good power hitter but he has regressed. 

Samad is not bad, problem is our power hitters don't have 360 degree game and hence at times they succumb to change up deliveries in front of the wicket. 
Even during the SMAT, I didn't found many batters who can explore the area behind the keeper for runs...everyone is just trying to hit in the V.

I still have hope that either of Abhinav, Hooda, Samad, Parag or Tewatia can develop into one power hitter at no 6/7 (albiet with certain limitations), Tilak/Axar are decent as well....Washy and Jaddu has long way to go (although Washy has 360 degree game). Shahrukh is a powerless power hitter.

2 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Samad is not bad, problem is our power hitters don't have 360 degree game and hence at times they succumb to change up deliveries in front of the wicket. 
Even during the SMAT, I didn't found many batters who can explore the area behind the keeper for runs...everyone is just trying to hit in the V.

I still have hope that either of Abhinav, Hooda, Samad, Parag or Tewatia can develop into one power hitter at no 6/7 (albiet with certain limitations), Tilak/Axar are decent as well....Washy and Jaddu has long way to go (although Washy has 360 degree game). Shahrukh is a powerless power hitter.

Abhinav Manohar is a good power hitters as well 

Hitting one handed sixes to spinner is not easy for everyone 

But that so called chusi hui murgi pandya giving chances only to lord Shankar to play test knock

Shahrukh I feel he tries to hit so hard should work on his timing a bit 

Samad still is not in his bashing form

KL Rahul is such a doofus. He has ability to hit big 6’s. Never say never with Dravid but his days as an opener seem over. His best slot is 4-5-6 in LOIs and yet he decides to open in IPL for some meaningless orange cap.

He should be at 5-6 going for bit hits from ball 1.  His cameos innings will be more useful than his 80(60) type knocks.

I would say he is still among the best 6 hitters in the country especially against pace. 

17 hours ago, maniac said:

Sky is not a good example. Sky is a modern day batsman and yes we need such players in the middle order but I am talking specifically about players with the power to clear the boundary at will.  

Just a hypothetical example you need 30 from 10, you have sky and pollard whom would you pick? It’s not about batting quality.

you need someone to back himself to clear the boundary. 5 6’s means 50% success rate. A boundary hitter even if he has 360 game will take 7-8 deliveries which means you can have only a 20-30%. I am obviously speaking hypothetically to make a point.

as @BacktoCricaddict said Raina,Yuvraj, Yusuf, MSD, Kapil, Rohit qualify in that category.

I put  sky and even Gill 2.0 who has added a 360 game  in the  Kohli category. I would back a well set Kohli to find a boundary at will over most batsmen but that’s a different skill.

Forget WI cricketers I think a player like Ifthikar Chacha or Sikandar Raza or Bracewell will walk into the Indian line up even though they might be inferior to Indian spinners but their hitting ability puts them much ahead of them.

In India its not easy to have powerful built like WI..we can probably groom someone for 360 shots..powerful hitter with 360 game..will be a step above..

so we wont need really powerful guys..but even decent built guys..with 360..can do job for us..

I mean more chances for us to create more such cricketers..to answer our woes..

Edited by Need4Speed

I am surprise how some third grade self anointed expert forcibly put chapri pandya in the same sentence of Kapil, Sachin,Kohli and Rohit . Even though the last 2 failed in icc tournaments but even just on individual cricketing talents there is no comparison it’s like comparing Hahul Gandhi to seasoned leader like Indira, Modi and Shah.btw chapri  is also playing since last 7 years kya Ukhada hai usney. 

Ruturaj has amazing six hitting ability. But he is not a power hitter though. He is just a timer. Even Venky Iyer is not a power hitter. He uses the pace of the bowlers very well rather than him providing the pace.  Sanju Samson can be our genuine power hitter.  He just has to recalibrate his approach.

10 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Sanju Samson can be our genuine power hitter.  He just has to recalibrate his approach.

Sanju Samson has that WestIndian power, everytime I see him putting on power when he tries to hit,not that he can't time,he sometimes times as well

Only he has himself to be blamed for not letting him rule world cricket,so casual happy go lucky approach won't work most of the times

Still feel he has a place in our LOI line-up

On 4/17/2023 at 3:32 PM, Suhaan said:

He certainly has,one of few power hitters we have

his hitting doesn't usually go beyond a certain threshold though, and he has knocks with low SR in between, which is why his career or IPL SRs are not that high