Nikhil_cric Posted August 25, 2023 Posted August 25, 2023 (edited) What combination of batters + WK/BAT have World Cup-winning teams used in the past 1975 Windies = Fredericks + Greenidge + Kanhai + Kallicharan + Lloyd + Richards + Murray (6 batters +1 keeper) 1979 Windies = Greenidge + Haynes + Richards + Kallicharan + Lloyd + Collis King + Murray (6 batters + keeper) 1983 India = Gavaskar + Srikkanth + Yashpal + Amarnath + Patil + Kirmani ( 5 batters + keeper) 1987 Australia = Boon + Marsh + Jones + Border + Veletta + Waugh + Dyer (6 batters + keeper) 1992 Pakistan = Sohail + Rambo + Javed+ Inzi + Malik + Ijaz + Moin (6 batters + keeper) 1996 Sri Lanka = Sanath + Kalu + Gurusinha+ De Silva + Ranatunga + hashan + Mahanama ( 6 batters + keeper) 1999 Australia = Waugh + Gilly + Ponting + Waugh + Lehmann + Bevan ( 5 batters + keeper) 2003 Australia = Gilly + Haydos + Punter + Martyn + Lehmann + Bevan + Symonds (6 batters + keeper) 2007 Australia = Gilly + Haydos + Punter + Watson + Clarke + Hussey + Symonds(6 batters + keeper) 2011 India = 6 batters + keeper 2015 Australia = 6 batters + keeper + James faulkner ( career batting average 42, strike rate 113 and career bowling average of 30 by the end of the World Cup) at 8! 2019 England = 5 batters + keeper 2023 India = 4 batters + keeper . Hardik Pandya with batting average of 33 and strike rate of 112 is not a #6 batter in this day and age. Even if he is the modern-day Kapil Dev, Kapil still played in a team with 5 batters + Kirmani. James Faulkner had superior batting and bowling stats at the time of the 2015 World Cup and Australia played him at #8!!! India's combination is dumb and defies any common sense. Edited August 25, 2023 by Nikhil_cric tweaker, Norman, nitinbwj and 3 others 2 1 3
jalebi_bhai Posted August 25, 2023 Posted August 25, 2023 One doesn't need to look much further beyond the fact that this team is a divided house. Very rarely does a team emerge victorious in a tournament when the players are not united. In 2011, Sachin was the glue, the binding factor. The whole squad wanted to get over the line to fulfill his dream. This lot don't even have 10% of our 2011 squads team chemistry. When the going gets tough, these guys just drop their heads. Don't be fooled by their social media shenanigans. The last time I felt they played as a proper unit was the England tour in 2021. Something just fundamentally broke after we pre-maturely ended that series. nevada, rollingstoned, nitinbwj and 4 others 1 2 4
AKane Posted August 26, 2023 Posted August 26, 2023 (edited) 2 hours ago, Nikhil_cric said: 1999 Australia = Waugh + Gilly + Ponting + Waugh + Lehmann + Bevan ( 5 batters + keeper) 2003 Australia = Gilly + Haydos + Punter + Martyn + Lehmann + Bevan + Symonds (6 batters + keeper) 2007 Australia = Gilly + Haydos + Punter + Watson + Clarke + Hussey + Symonds(6 batters + keeper) Even here the teams with the 6 batsmen + wk were stronger than the 1999 team with 5 batters + wk which sneaked a win thanks to the Gibbs dropped catch and the Donald dropped bat. Pak team which won in the previous round seemed drunk with the fact that Saffies lost in the semis. Edited August 26, 2023 by AKane
AKane Posted August 26, 2023 Posted August 26, 2023 (edited) 13 minutes ago, AKane said: Even here the teams with the 6 batsmen + wk were stronger than the 1999 team with 5 batters + wk which sneaked a win thanks to the Gibbs dropped catch and the Donald dropped bat. Pak team which won in the previous round seemed drunk with the fact that Saffies lost in the semis. Aus was not the best team in 1999 (or 1987 for that matter). Ironically they might have been in 1975 and would have won even with the Lloyd 102 if not for the Viv Richards fielding/runouts... Alan Turner run out 40, Ian Chappell run out 63, Greg Chappell run out 15 and last wicket was run out too with target 17 in 11 balls. Edited August 26, 2023 by AKane rollingstoned, Sandz, express bowling and 1 other 1 3
deepdynamo Posted August 26, 2023 Posted August 26, 2023 We can only play Bumrah, Shami, Siraj, Kuldeep together if we go with 6 batsman + keeper. You can't do that with Pandya & Jadeja in top 7 as they are not reliable batters. That is a very big problem. But then our batsman can't bowl so 6 bastman+ keeper is also ruled out.
AKane Posted August 26, 2023 Posted August 26, 2023 (edited) 4 minutes ago, deepdynamo said: We can only play Bumrah, Shami, Siraj, Kuldeep together if we go with 6 batsman + keeper. and then the 6 batsmen + keeper better be good to handle all the scoring as Bumrah+Shami+Siraj+Kuldeep are good for 20 runs in most matches. Edited August 26, 2023 by AKane nitinbwj 1
deepdynamo Posted August 26, 2023 Posted August 26, 2023 1 hour ago, AKane said: and then the 6 batsmen + keeper better be good to handle all the scoring as Bumrah+Shami+Siraj+Kuldeep are good for 20 runs in most matches. Yes thats why top 7 batsman should be of high quality. Raina used to come at No.7 in 2011. We need that level assuarnce. But with Jadeja and Pandya, we are basically playing with 5 batsman.
wanted_desi Posted August 26, 2023 Posted August 26, 2023 (edited) Hardik Pandya is the weakest link in Indian line up. He isn't someone who should be batting at #7 let alone at #8. 1) Rohit 2) Gill 3) Kohli 4) Iyer 5) KL Rahul 6) Tilak 7) Jadeja 8) Thakur 9) Kuldeep 10) Bumrah 11) Siraj/Shami Trust your 5 main bowlers to complete 10 overs each and have someone who can roll his arm for 3-4 overs whenever required. Edited August 26, 2023 by wanted_desi
Need4Speed Posted August 26, 2023 Posted August 26, 2023 15 minutes ago, wanted_desi said: Hardik Pandya is the weakest link in Indian line up. He isn't someone who should be batting at #7 let alone at #8. 1) Rohit 2) Gill 3) Kohli 4) Iyer 5) KL Rahul 6) Tilak 7) Jadeja 8) Thakur 9) Kuldeep 10) Shami 11) Siraj Trust your 5 main bowlers to complete 10 overs each and have someone who can roll his arm for 3-4 overs whenever required. No Bumrah in ur team..also if we hv Jaddu and Thakur as 4th and5th bowlers..associate nations will give you lot of sweat or may pull out surprise(or not surprise lol) rollingstoned 1
Need4Speed Posted August 26, 2023 Posted August 26, 2023 A part of me want Pak to win this tine and India shudnt even qualify for semis..so that people are very frustrated and the BCCI and TM gets all the stones thrown..for the sheer stupidity and lackluster vision they are doijng from last so many years.. nitinbwj 1
Suhaan Posted August 26, 2023 Posted August 26, 2023 Had Pandya got the fitness to send 8-10 overs regularly,he would have still served his purpose I would have definitely used him down the order Need4Speed, express bowling and nitinbwj 1 2
tweaker Posted August 26, 2023 Posted August 26, 2023 We have half wicket keeper batsman who is still injured and expected to keep wicket,bat in middle order without playing a match for almost 6 months express bowling and Sgattick10 2
deepdynamo Posted August 26, 2023 Posted August 26, 2023 Assuming Tilak to be ready to bowl 5 overs per match, I will go with Gill Rohit Kohli Tilak KL ( wk) Jadeja Sky/ Iyer Pandya Kuldeep Bumrah Siraj Sky at no.7 and Pandya at No.8 will give the team the required firepower. What are we missing - A bowler of average caliber of Axar/ Shardul...both of them can be mascarred on a given day. So I will trust Tilak, Jaddu and Pandya to cover for 20 overs. But for that to happen Tilak must play all games in Asia cup and also bowl regularly. express bowling 1
tweaker Posted August 26, 2023 Posted August 26, 2023 Team management, coach selectors strategy is Virat and Rohit will pull the team and rest all are support players nevada 1
wanted_desi Posted August 26, 2023 Posted August 26, 2023 26 minutes ago, Need4Speed said: No Bumrah in ur team..also if we hv Jaddu and Thakur as 4th and5th bowlers..associate nations will give you lot of sweat or may pull out surprise(or not surprise lol) Completely forgot about him. He will replace Shami Need4Speed 1
jf1gp_1 Posted August 26, 2023 Posted August 26, 2023 India will fail cause we havent bothered building a team. We have bunch of individuals with exceptional talent who have been brought together. Gill has the potential to carry our rich batting legacy forward after kohli. Now will he win us world cup ? NO. the guy doesnt know if he will be in playing XI. if he is then who will be his partner Rohit or Ishan. He is only focused on getting his runs and i wont blame him. I still do not know this fascination with injured Rahul. Only in India are we talking about keeping SKY out of 15 member squad. If he was english he would be playing test cricket, if he was pakistani he would have been next PM. On paper i still believe we have a good side but we dont have a WC winning team. In the last 10-15 yrs i have just assumed we will beat Pakistan and with the exception of CT final we did but this asia cup first time in many many years i see them as favorites. cowboysfan, AuxiliA and tweaker 3
vvvslaxman Posted August 26, 2023 Posted August 26, 2023 One-dimensional hacks + Perennial chokers = NO ICC TOURNAMENT EVER. India is nothing but RCB in blue color. tweaker and Need4Speed 2
Nikhil_cric Posted August 26, 2023 Author Posted August 26, 2023 25 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: One-dimensional hacks + Perennial chokers = NO ICC TOURNAMENT EVER. India is nothing but RCB in blue color. You can only choke if you have the team to win and then lose. Neither RCB nor India have that.
nitinbwj Posted August 26, 2023 Posted August 26, 2023 I want Ind to beat Pak, Eng and NZ in the WC especially NZ. This crap team somehow always beat us in KOs cricketfan28 1