Qatar, 8 Indian Navy veterans

randomGuy

* 8 Indian Navy veterans gone there to train Qatar Navy caught last year by Qatar intelligence, sentenced to death yesterday on charges of spying for Israel. India expresses shock.

Some facts on qatar

* Sunni Arab, ruled by Al Thani family, 3 lac citizens, 8 lac Indians out of rest ~25 lacs residents 

* largest US base from where they conducted operations in Afghanistan, Syria, Iraq.

* Houses Hamas leadership. 

* Al Jazeera is their state mouthpiece headquartered in Doha

* world's largest natural gas reserves.

* made a lot of noise during Nupur Sharma episode.

sentenced to death?

What is the point of self-stroking vishwaguru BS if we can't even protect our personnel from crap like this?

Unacceptable.  

Qatar has $$ but beyond that, its a pinhead sized monarchy.  Problem for IND is that it needs to tread lightly due to massive diaspora that works all over the Gulf.  But regardless of the constraints, this needs to be handled.

19 minutes ago, sandeep said:

sentenced to death?

What is the point of self-stroking vishwaguru BS if we can't even protect our personnel from crap like this?

Unacceptable.  

Qatar has $$ but beyond that, its a pinhead sized monarchy.  Problem for IND is that it needs to tread lightly due to massive diaspora that works all over the Gulf.  But regardless of the constraints, this needs to be handled.

Australia couldn’t do jack when their citizen was sentenced to death in Malaysia. Still can’t believe all the 8 officers involved in spying. It is something deeper than this the owner of the company was also arrested when he came to visit them in jail and was kept in solitary confinement for few days.

19 minutes ago, sandeep said:

sentenced to death?

Unacceptable.  

India can only do kadi ninda...

If india wanted they could blockade Qatar with their navy and refuse natural gas supplies to leave the gulf- whats the point of being a superpower military if you get bossed around by a country almost the size of Goa.. 

22 minutes ago, gattaca said:

No. This has been over a year. That announcement came only recently. 

Not just the ME corridor, but they are warming to India since a few years much to the dislike of Qatar and Iran. Maybe. Qatar has 21% of Indians, I don't think India  can threaten to  pull out 6 lakh people . Hope they do negotiate and get them home.

52 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Qatar/US negotiating with India over its overtures with KSA and UIAE. 

Agree. I suspect US is telling India that their blessing is needed. However we can side with UAE/Sauds in any future blockade.

BTW Hundreds of Indian worker died while making FIFA world cup a success in Qatar. Families need to open a case in Indian Court and ask for Compensation and Court should award what GoI thinks is deemed amount

These are bullsheet charges. There is nothing these 8 sailors could have done that deserved this sentence. This shows the nature of their judicial system and nothing else.

Inidan bureaucracy deserves some blame too. Should have made sure that this never went to trial but we don't know the facts.

On 10/27/2023 at 8:07 AM, LordPrabhzy said:

India can only do kadi ninda...

If india wanted they could blockade Qatar with their navy and refuse natural gas supplies to leave the gulf- whats the point of being a superpower military if you get bossed around by a country almost the size of Goa.. 

That is how war starts. Not a good way of doing things.

It's a dictatorship and then Muslim countries have their extreme red lines and taboos. So something must have crossed...

It's also a case of our own complete lack of Muslim lobby. Despite having 3rd most Muslims , there aren't any Muslim leader who will willing to lead our nation viewpoint, but much rather always be submissive to the ME.

1. The Middle East was no better than sub-saharan Africa till Oil and Natural gases were discovered, without this petro dollar money they are no better than sub-saharan africa.

2. The only exception to this is Iran ( which is not really middle east ) - the Persians have a very rich history and are a great civilization 

3. With the massive world transition to renewables and ESG,  in 25 years max - give or take a generation - these tiny good for nothing sunni islamic extremist states in the Middle east will become increasingly irrelevant - and up for sale to the highest bidder.

4. They can't do jack shyte without outside support - they are primitive in science and tech - everything modern there is bought off the shelf. They can't build anything using their domestic population. They neither have the capability nor capacity.

5. Do we need to molly-cuddle these thugs for a generation ? Absolutely not- the middle east is NOT united. Qatar does not have good relations with Saudia.

6. We have excellent relations with Saudia and UAE - the 2 most consequential ME countries.

7. The only way to fight rogue sunni islamic states like Qatar that support terrorism is  - pit them against one another - create more friction between Qatar and other ME states -massively reduce LNG  imports from them for slightly pricier alternatives.  We do have leverage - we just don't use it.

Edited by rangeelaraja

On 10/27/2023 at 7:02 PM, coffee_rules said:

Not just the ME corridor, but they are warming to India since a few years much to the dislike of Qatar and Iran. Maybe. Qatar has 21% of Indians, I don't think India  can threaten to  pull out 6 lakh people . Hope they do negotiate and get them home.

It has to be a well worded threat. Our stance should be we will pull out 6 lakh people and only potential alternate will come from Pakistan so qataris release 8 Indians or be ready for pakistani invasion 

On 10/28/2023 at 7:11 PM, Khota said:

These are bullsheet charges. There is nothing these 8 sailors could have done that deserved this sentence. This shows the nature of their judicial system and nothing else.

Inidan bureaucracy deserves some blame too. Should have made sure that this never went to trial but we don't know the facts.

Foreign ministry & MEA to blame totally...  Colossal failure. 

Qatar bullied us in Nupur's fiasco & now this...  China would hang Qatar by its Ba** if they even dare