Gollum Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 34 minutes ago, Kron said: I respect diving. Great skill. I respect swimming but why Synchronised swimming and Synchronised diving?? Makes no sense. Just to satisfy the whims of mad goras who just want to add random medals to their tallies. Pointless sport. Artistic swimming like f off lmao. Go dance instead. Good idea For 2036 we must have Bharatanatyam Kathakali Manipuri Kathak Odissi Mohiniattam Kuchipudi Bhangra Bollywood songs Mollywood Kollywood Tollywood Dandiya individual Dandiya mixed doubles Dandiya team Who can come closest to Mithun Da from 'I am a Disco Dancer' contest All these events will make more sense than synchronized diving and gymnastics. Ultimate_Game, neel roy, Kron and 6 others 7 2
coffee_rules Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 (edited) 16 minutes ago, putrevus said: No, it is one of the hardest sport.Just take time to understand the scoring you will then enjoy it. Biles suddenly had yips during the Tokyo Olympic and was crucified by certain section of media as quitter.She turns around and has already won three gold and She is the oldest gymnast and still she is dominating the field . Our own Dipa tried then the most difficult version of Vault in 2016 Rio games just missed bronze medal. Know all that. But to sit and watch in my living room is boring like figure skatings. Worst is Pummel Horse. Must be the gayest sport ever. Tough it may be. Sorry for my biases Edited August 3, 2024 by coffee_rules
Ultimate_Game Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 (edited) 6 minutes ago, Real McCoy said: another reason why social media or any form of media cant be trusted Always look for sources as lot of material is rehashed or the context is missing or worse the story changed. I'm sure this same post will make the rounds next Olympics as well. Edited August 3, 2024 by Ultimate_Game Real McCoy 1
Kron Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 3 minutes ago, Real McCoy said: ouch i wouldnt play such a sport. thats too "extreme" for moi. but for people who want to dick around (like bullying in high school), its fair game and i wouldnt bat an eyelid while doing the same as you. so the craziness id there but i prefer not to use it in sports Tbf only a few play like dicks cause they can't tackle. They act tough but they very quickly learn they aren't lol. Having said that yea I wouldn't Recommend playing that for too long. Glad I joined a proper club instead of street football. I play rough myself but on concrete floors it only take some bad tackle and you are screwed. The hardest and scariest thing I ever did was paragliding. Felt great but there was a moment where I felt like I wouldn't make it. The other time was when I went canoeing against a big wave. Worst mistake ever. I really thought i was finished lol but me and my buddy survived. Trying to conquer huge waves is one thing I wanted to do. But yea it is terrifying. I couldn't do it. Tbf considering it's Australia I am more worried about sharks than waves lmao. Ocean is scary man. I just can't fathom how people do cave diving in oceans lol. Real McCoy 1
Real McCoy Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 13 minutes ago, Gollum said: We have a South Korean coach in archery who guided South Korean girls team to two Olympic golds in the past. He himself won 5 archery Olympic medals including 4 golds in the past. Because of internal politics he wasn't allowed to travel with the team. Outraged over Olympic snub, India’s Korean archery coach to leave after contract expires the blame goes to the federation itself. it seems govt is there to block our players from winning medals not for helping them. it woud be better if the entire federeration is privatized. sick bastards Kron, rollingstoned, AKane and 2 others 1 4
Kron Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 2 minutes ago, Real McCoy said: the blame goes to the federation itself. it seems govt is there to block our players from winning medals not for helping them. it woud be better if the entire federeration is privatized. sick bastards Yea so hard to eliminate corruption in our country. Very sad. Atleast sport should be merit based. Seems like they gain more if they keep Indian down.
Kron Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 May I ask one unrelated question. We had a thread for how rich bcci etc is Pcb earns like 67 mil in revenue per year. What the hell do they do with it? That's plenty of money for a 3rd world country.
Gollum Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 (edited) 7 minutes ago, Real McCoy said: the blame goes to the federation itself. it seems govt is there to block our players from winning medals not for helping them. it woud be better if the entire federeration is privatized. sick bastards With good administration, the archery, boxing, wrestling fiascos could have been prevented and we would have been on course to double digits medal haul. Forget his individual achievements, just the fact that he coached South Korean women to 2 gold medals is reason enough to have him in the camp. He could have provided better advice regarding form or wind conditions, adjustments. This lady coach seems like a quota pick, I have seem her in Olympics since London (seems she even travelled to Beijing 2008 as assistant coach), where is the accountability? Viren Rasquinha (former hockey player, head of Olympics Gold Quest...spotted and promoted Lakshya Sen since he was 10 years old) who is usually calm/collected and very supportive to all athletes lashed out yesterday on twitter. The Govt/SAI has 8 High Priority Disciplines in Sport and funds/supports all these 8 sports very well: 1. Archery 2. Athletics 3. Badminton 4. Boxing 5. Hockey 6. Shooting 7. Weightlifting 8. Wrestling Only Archery has yet to win an Olympic medal. Food for thought. — Viren Rasquinha (@virenrasquinha) August 2, 2024 Edited August 3, 2024 by Gollum randomGuy and Real McCoy 1 1
Sgattick10 Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 39 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: As suspected this is clickbait and an old story which happened before 2013 and was some low profile event... this keeps on coming up and rehashed on reddit and other forums regularly... https://www.truthorfiction.com/kenyan-runner-abel-mutai-won-a-race-due-to-ivan-fernandezs-sportsmanship-viral-post/ I highly doubt anyone would give up an Olympic medal. One thing to do it in some random event which nobody cares about and has no impact on the athlete. Goddamn i got fooled
Gollum Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 2 minutes ago, Sgattick10 said: Goddamn i got fooled Happens. Positive story nevertheless. Sgattick10 and Ultimate_Game 2
Gollum Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 India’s Full Schedule at the Paris Olympics for August 4, Sunday: 12:30 PM – Shooting: 25m Rapid Fire Pistol Men’s Qualification Stage 1 (Vijayveer Sidhu, Anish) 12:30 PM – Golf: Men’s Golf Round 4 (Shubhankar Sharma, Gaganjeet Bhullar) 1:00 PM – Shooting: Women’s Skeet Qualification Day 2 (Maheshwari Chauhan, Raiza Dhillon) 1:30 PM – Hockey: Men’s Quarterfinal (India vs Great Britain) 1:35 PM – Athletics: Women’s 3000m Steeplechase Round 1 (Parul Chaudhary) 2:30 PM – Athletics: Men’s Long Jump Qualification (Jesswin Aldrin) 3:02 PM – Boxing: Women’s 75kg Quarterfinal (Lovlina Borgohain vs Li Qian) 3:30 PM – Badminton: Men’s Singles Semifinal (Lakshya Sen vs Victor Axelsen) 3:35 PM – Sailing: Men’s Dinghy Race 7 and Race 8 (Vishnu Saravanan) 6:05 PM – Sailing: Women’s Dinghy Race 7 and Race 8 (Nethra Kumanan) 7:00 PM – Shooting: Women’s Skeet Final (if qualified) Action packed day, Lovlina too will be in action. randomGuy, Cricketics, AKane and 1 other 1 3
Cricketics Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 Katie Ledecky’s free 800m final will be happening soon as well. surely the best swimmer long distance ever. It will be fun to see her win this one as well. She will surely compete one more time in LA before retrying because she would like to retire at home. Vickydev 1
Gollum Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 (edited) All in IST 1:30 pm Hockey QF: India vs Great Britain (may go on till around 3:15 pm) 3:02 pm Lovlina's QF bout against the top seeded Chinese who won bronze in Rio, silver in Tokyo 3:30 pm Lakshya vs Axelsen (Tokyo gold medalist) badminton single's SF 3:30 pm Alcaraz vs Djokovic gold medal match @Real McCoy @coffee_rules Edited August 3, 2024 by Gollum Real McCoy and coffee_rules 1 1
Real McCoy Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 8 minutes ago, Gollum said: With good administration, the archery, boxing, wrestling fiascos could have been prevented and we would have been on course to double digits medal haul. Forget his individual achievements, just the fact that he coached South Korean women to 2 gold medals is reason enough to have him in the camp. He could have provided better advice regarding form or wind conditions, adjustments. This lady coach seems like a quota pick, I have seem her in Olympics since London (seems she even travelled to Beijing 2008 as assistant coach), where is the accountability? exactly. these coaches are hard to find. if not here, they would coach some other country. it seems the govt is taking on the sports industry to do politics and who knows make money through it but not benefitting the players. If it was as profitable as cricket, we could privatize it. maybe we could have the entire olympic federation privatized but still have individual sports within the government. I don't knwo but that could be a start. Gollum 1
randomGuy Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 @Gollum Viren rasquinha has been good administrator, hope that govt. keeps him at important positions ...a sportsman himself, a long term strategic thinker, has eye for talents and a good administrator. As @Numbersaid , the archery team was a manhoosiat for the entire team and their mediocrity n losses kept coming day after day. Sorry to be harsh here but things need to change. neel roy, Gollum, coffee_rules and 1 other 1 3
Number Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 (edited) Mexican media is reporting Nishant's opponent is injured. Edited August 3, 2024 by Number randomGuy 1
Gollum Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 31 minutes ago, putrevus said: IOA is the most corrupt organisation, how can they leave the coach out . Opposition should raise these kind of things in Parliament instead of dramebaazi.
neel roy Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 4 minutes ago, Real McCoy said: the blame goes to the federation itself. it seems govt is there to block our players from winning medals not for helping them. it woud be better if the entire federeration is privatized. sick bastards He couldn’t go because there is a limit. How can he go when it will breach the number of members. How will the politician officials and their wives go and have a free all paid paris trip then?? Dont they deserve it. They wait for 4 years.. e ji sunte ho is baar kahaan olimpiks gamesh ho ra ha hai.. haan jee is baar hum jayenge loash angeles.. ooo kahan hai jee.. kanadda main.. rollingstoned, Lord and Ultimate_Game 1 2
Real McCoy Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 26 minutes ago, Kron said: Yea so hard to eliminate corruption in our country. Very sad. Atleast sport should be merit based. Seems like they gain more if they keep Indian down. I consider this as the lesser of all evils. As much as we think sport is important, there are other areas that need improvement. We have a dog eat dog world today its all because of population and our human nature to take the short cut. of course the politics is a dirty game and those who come out are some of the most immoral and cunning people that benefit from other people's exploitation. We cried racism when it was the brits doing it to us but our babus have taken over from them doing the same. No racism just exploitation. there is a saying its all business no hard feelings but when stuff like this happens, hard feelings are bound to present themselves. Kron and New guy 2