"We wanted them to grovel" - South African Coach Conrad

10 minutes ago, maniac said:

3-4 years ago we thought SA cricket was cooked due to quota system and was the next Zimbabwe.fast forward ahead- they are WTC champs, played WT20 final, reached WC and CT semifinals, drew test series in Pak, won test  series in India, have a bench that they can be proud about.

he has earned the bragging rights.

Also SA20 is set to become the 2nd best league after IPL, quality-wise and also financially. 

Once their black population takes up cricket seriously, it is over for the other teams. Look at how their rugby team (now multi-racial except desi representation :cantstop:) is pulverizing every other team including All Blacks. Winner of last 2 rugby WCs, number one ranked team now. 30 years back it used to be an all white sport, their team was hated by 90% of their population, and there were calls to ban their rugby team from Mandela's own party.

New Zealand 7-35 South Africa: Rugby World Cup warm-up international – as  it happened | Rugby union | The Guardian

38 minutes ago, Lord said:

Hope this has the same effect as it had on WI 

But inko kuch sharam haya nahi hai

Kya effect ? Batsman hai koi hamare paas ? 2 ghante main all out. :phehe:

Whatever said and done, no one dared to make such comments when we had lions like Kohli and Shastri at the helm. That too in India.....get lost Gambhir. 

3 hours ago, lemsip said:

The statement from the current SA coach is perfectly fine

I would disagree with the "perfectly fine" phrasing. It was a bit thoughtless and unnecessary, but nothing to fret too much about. He could've used "struggle mightily" or some such expression.

41 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Whatever said and done, no one dared to make such comments when we had lions like Kohli and Shastri at the helm. That too in India.....get lost Gambhir. 

They only got us a.o. for 36 and themselves grovelled for the next 3 tests when "lion" went to the den, so there's that. 

Edited by BacktoCricaddict
30 minutes ago, Vickydev said:

LMAO loving this. Need more personalities like this in such a bland sport

True, I won’t a proper competitive rivalry.

Pak rivalry is too toxic and below the belt.

Aussies are too nice now 

England are too woke.

WI are minnows

other subcontinent teams are minnows even though they hate us and get competitive playing us .

so SA it is. Bring it on :cheer:, love it.

Edited by maniac
15 minutes ago, maniac said:

True, I won’t a proper competitive rivalry.

Pak rivalry is too toxic and below the belt.

Aussies are too nice now 

England are too woke.

WI are minnows

other subcontinent teams are minnows even though they hate us and get competitive playing us .

so SA it is. Bring it on :cheer:, love it.

Yup that's how sports should be. If you cant mock your opponent after you beat them at their home then what's the point? Its the ultimate humiliation

Much rather have a Pat Cummins as your opponent rather than Kane Williamson types

Unnecessary comment, especially coming from a team with the chokers tag, so you know this can come back to bite them. We've grilled Gambhir for making much softer statements over the years.

To me, it seemed like South Africa weren't confident enough in defending a lower total than this. Kinda similar to how India declared super late to set a massive target in Edgbaston despite the rain threat.

I wonder if he would have said the same thing if India hadn't lost a single wicket at stumps. Else it's all just hindsight bravado. I'm sure SA players are more humble than him.

He did say he borrowed the phrasre. He is being humble enough

"I don't know if we're better," South Africa head coach Shukri Conrad said, when asked if Harmer and Keshav Maharaj made up a better spin attack than India's in conditions like Guwahati. "I think we're just used to these conditions a lot more. Because back home, the spinners don't bowl in spin-friendly conditions.

"So I think our defensive game is better. If you look at the Indian spinners, I think they're used to bowling on wickets that are conducive to spin bowling. So the pace they bowl at, the ball reacts a lot quicker, which makes them a lot more dangerous.

"I think back home, our spinners are forced to bowl with a little bit more guile and a little bit more variation. And it certainly stood us in good stead coming here, on a good wicket like this, where we're able to play with our flight, play with our lines and lengths a bit more: overspin, sidespin, all of the variations that are needed.

"So I don't think we're better than them. I think we might just be slightly better-equipped in these conditions."

6 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Basically their Chandrakant Pandit.

Came through the system after multiple coaching stints. Instead of just getting Test coaching based on IPL