Gambhir and Shastri

putrevus

36 all out, best batsman from the team leaves the team.The toughest place to tour just got tougher if that is possible.What does coach do, offers no excuse, asks team to wear and accept it then move on.

Against all odds team wins next test and before final test  team has already lost its best fast bowler,best spinner, best allrounder and had  barely XI players fit to play.

Shastri then guides and cajoles them to greatest triumph in Indian test cricket history . 

Let us not go into NZ series, Australian series. Let us just take SA series.

Team loses first test by 30 runs, best batsman of the team is out injured, what does Gambhir do , oh we lost our best batsman and still  only lost by 30 runs.

Okay let us attribute first test loss on injury.What does team do then, it loses next test by highest margin at home by  400 plus runs. What does this Gambhir do then, tells whole world  this team is in transition , so accept losing.

Then two guys who are out of test team comeback and help the team win the odi series after overcoming your idiotic coaching .What does Gambhir do is talk about everyone except those two and barely acknowledging their contribution. But he can claim CT win built on these two players as his own.

He can talk, abuse ,degrade any player present and past but no one can talk about this idiot.

Coaching  matters as it sets the tone in dressing room. I feel these guys GG and Agarkar are setting all wrong tones.

Edited by putrevus
8 minutes ago, Gollum said:

His conduct towards Ro and Ko has been very petty. Shame that he still hasn't been sacked, all those political connections of his screwing Indian cricket. 

General sentiment would be that Shastri is bewda useless and non-serious guy just because he drinks and Gambhir is serious, working guy.

1 hour ago, Trichromatic said:

Shastri was one of the best coaches India had.

He was best coach  and he was mocked by lot of geniuses on too. He was very clear in what he wanted his teams to do.

He was asked to take Zaheer Khan as bowling coach by CAC guys like VVS and Sachin.He said no I want Bharat Arun and rest was history.He let captain be the boss and still have his input.

He got saddled with two guys who screwed him in two different cups. One Dhoni and second Bumrah. Dhoni was afraid to hit even full tosses and Bumrah could not sniff a wicket in most favorable bowling conditions.

2 minutes ago, putrevus said:

He was best coach  and he was mocked by lot of geniuses on too. He was very clear in what he wanted his teams to do.

He was asked to take Zaheer Khan as bowling coach by CAC guys like VVS and Sachin.He said no I want Bharat Arun and rest was history.He let captain be the boss and still have his input.

He got saddled with two guys who screwed him in two different cups. One Dhoni and second Bumrah. Dhoni was afraid to hit even full tosses and Bumrah could not sniff a wicket in most favorable bowling conditions.

What do you mean saddled? He selected them. Selecting Bhuvi/Chahal over inform Shami was a major blunder too.

3 minutes ago, Lord said:

What do you mean saddled? He selected them. Selecting Bhuvi/Chahal over inform Shami was a major blunder too.

Yes he selected them, I am not talking about those losses and why they happened. I am talking about people holding against him.He bears responsibility for selecting them.

India did win most test matches in that cycle and also lead the points table in world cup. Is that case here.

They failed in knockouts.

So I agree 1st test could have been won had gill been fit however you couldn't chase 120 odd so coach needs to take some ownership. So much insecurity about position in playing. Most are playing for their position not team. Plus the selection has been horrible. The odi team we fielded won't even make it to semis. 

I am not sure what was broken that was needed to be fixed when GG joined as coach, just needed to continue with the status quo and make minor changes here and there.

India performance since 2013:

2013 ODI CT WINNER
2014 T20 WC RUNNER UP
2015 ODI WC SEMI FINALIST
2016 T20 WC SEMI FINALIST
2017 TEST MACE WINNER
2017 ODI CT RUNNER UP
2018 TEST MACE WINNER
2019 TEST MACE WINNER
2019 ODI WC SEMI FINALIST
2021 WTC RUNNER UP
2021 T20 WC SUPER 12
2022 T20 WC SEMI FINALIST
2023 WTC RUNNER UP
2023 ODI WC RUNNER UP
2024 T20 WC WINNER
2025 ODI CT WINNER
2025 WTC 3RD PLACE

Along with the above, 2 Test series wins in Australia in 2019 & 2021 & 18 test series wins in a row at home from 2013-2024.

Edited by Prabhdeep Singh
12 hours ago, putrevus said:

Shastri insisting for Bharat Arun over Zaheer khan is one of the great moments in our history. Closest is sachin recommending Dhoni over Yuvi for captaincy

21 hours ago, Lord said:

Even Dravid didn't make such excuses. Beat Eng 3-1 despite missing Pant and even when we lost such excuses didn't come.

As if pant is doing anything lately…. People were frustrated same way during shastri and dravid’s time. Ok gg is worst of all in test cricket. BTW what was shastri credentials we lost all icc tourney during his time. I see same people who use to criticise shastri and dravid have change in heart now. I know you were supportive of dravid always and puttevus used  to  back kohli and shastri. But many were not happy with them its other thing that they are changing goal post now. I still had my issues with shastri and dravid. Shastri was successful in test but note that under his coaching we lost in eng and nz badly when our test team was at its peak. And even with raddi coach GG we drew a series. I am not going to change my opinion with hind sight. Just because current coach  in test is bad it doesn’t mean shastri and Dravid suddenly became great. BTW its dravid under whomour bowling standard started degrading. Many people were in support of dropping rohit and kohi from test but suddenly now rohit aur kohli ke saath achha nahi hua.

Edited by raki05
26 minutes ago, raki05 said:

As if pant is doing anything lately…. People were frustrated same way during shastri and dravid’s time. Ok gg is worst of all in test cricket. BTW what was shastri credentials we lost all icc tourney during his time. I see same people who use to criticise shastri and dravid have change in heart now. 

Opinions don't change. Even with evidence. That's a scientifically established fact. I have been seeing a lot of names here and they all have same opinions regarding Kohli, Shastri, Rohit, Dravid as they had earlier. Including you off course. 

2 minutes ago, Chakdephatte said:

Opinions don't change. Even with evidence. That's a scientifically established fact. I have been seeing a lot of names here and they all have same opinions regarding Kohli, Shastri, Rohit, Dravid as they had earlier. Including you off course. 

Lol scientific fact my foot just because some gora scientists pick some brown sepoy sample like you and proven something in his garage lab doesn’t mean zilch. Every other day  our yasasvi neta change their opinion with their party and you are giving reference to some loony scientific  experiment.

People were frustrated during Shastri and Kohli  but they reached semifinals or better in all except one t20.

Dravid we saw some deteriorating in tests but they finally broke the curse of not winning the big one and it proved they won CT also in canter.

That is not the case here the team has gone down hill in every format. I doubt they would have won the Odi series if not for ROKO.

T20s you will see what wonders they will do soon.

The super star culture which  Gambhir was whining about and got lot of geniuses here wanting this bozo to be coach.

What is he doing with Gill then forcing him into all formats.

Gambhir is just jealous bastard who was first whining about Dhoni ,then Kohli and Rohit.

Edited by putrevus
4 hours ago, raki05 said:

As if pant is doing anything lately…. People were frustrated same way during shastri and dravid’s time. Ok gg is worst of all in test cricket. BTW what was shastri credentials we lost all icc tourney during his time. I see same people who use to criticise shastri and dravid have change in heart now. I know you were supportive of dravid always and puttevus used  to  back kohli and shastri. But many were not happy with them its other thing that they are changing goal post now. I still had my issues with shastri and dravid. Shastri was successful in test but note that under his coaching we lost in eng and nz badly when our test team was at its peak. And even with raddi coach GG we drew a series. I am not going to change my opinion with hind sight. Just because current coach  in test is bad it doesn’t mean shastri and Dravid suddenly became great. BTW its dravid under whomour bowling standard started degrading. Many people were in support of dropping rohit and kohi from test but suddenly now rohit aur kohli ke saath achha nahi hua.

Pant was among our best Test batsman when he got accident.

I want GG to stay in white ball but leave Tests. 

I still can list 10 issues with Dravid. Guy literally panicked in final and sent Jaddu ahead of SKY and made no message to KL to accelerate. Total screw up that was.

In red ball he was good  at home atleast and we often played depleted sides. 

Also both Shastri and Dravid didn't enjoy the power GG does so he gets more bashing. 2 whitewashes in Tests is just indefensible after a great run

2 hours ago, helperononline said:

Shastri was good coach in test cricket but we were not winning icc trophies under him. We also lost World Cup to Pakistan under him. So cannot conclude he is superior coach.

So far Gary Kirsten and John wright were the best coach for our team. 

Bharat Arun played a role in shaping the fast bowling unit.