BCCI’s options post Pakistan boycott

1 hour ago, NameGoesHere said:

Does BCCI have the cojones to respond in a meaningful way?

Or is this nepo baby Shah even more contemptible than he appears?

Many of us are sick of the pettiness of BCCI’s behaviour in the last one year. 

Consider:

1. Not shaking hands with Pakistan team.

2. Refusing to collect the trophy from PCB chairman

3.  Sacking a player from IPL because he’s the wrong nationality.

No substance.  Cheap, frivolous and ultimately laughter inducing actions.  

Why? What were you trying to prove? These are the acts of passive aggressive weaklings.

And now that BCCI has been hit where it hurts the most - in their pockets - I want to see if this administration had the balls  to give a substantial response.

Otherwise it will be clear, to me at least, that BCCI is all talk.  Take your pick - they’re money grubbing pimps or blustering, inept incompetents. 

Maybe both.

How come bcci hurt the most….. is wt20 money is bcci money. Maylab kuch bhi, broadcaster,icc and all members will get impact and not just bcci. BCCI is already sitting on 8 billion dollar powered by ipl without poorki or kangalu players. Poorko bhikhari will face major impact on longer run, remember how they still beg for yearly participation in ipl.

Soft Power matters here. 

1  Schedule t20I tours to countries around the time when they are scheduled to tour Pakistan or Bangladesh. This will force the countries to send weaker teams to Pakistan / Afghanistan initially and then finally just refuse to tour those countries altogether (citing a full calender etc etc). These tours can even happen even as the main indian team is playing tests. 

2. Lot of IPL franchises have picked up ownership in domestic leagues of other countries. Allow a limited subset of Indian players to play for those teams/leagues and in return, expect that the franchises don't pick any Pakistani player. 

3. Dry up opportunities for pakistanis and Bangladesh cricket board to earn revenue. They will end up in financial trouble. 

4. Set up a ipl feeder league which is held on the same time the PSL is played. Don't let PSL have a viable window to attract any foreign players. 

5. Haier in Pakistan is a big time supporter/sponsor for cricket. But the revenue they earn in India far outstrips what they make in the Pakistani market. Armtwist Haier to decrease their presence in Pakistan. It's not beyond the realms of possibility. Same way with Suzuki who are still intent on selling their maruti 800s there. 

Saale bade Kaleshi hai Ye Pakistani. 

Inase door raho, Inako door rakho.

Thats the principal on which ICC should plan its actions 

4 hours ago, Suhaan said:

BCCI must , once it for all stop participating in Asia cups

Don't play them and ask ICC from doing their 'thing' in ICC events as well

Thats exactly what Pakistan wants. ICC is shared between three  powers, ECB , CA and BCCI, but ACC is BCCI. If anything (Specially ECB makes noise), BCCI should reduce the number of games between England and India. That would be enough

Most of the time, we see teams refusing to play at certain places for various reasons (mostly security related) not necessarily opponents. 

Here Pakistan has refused to play an opponent so it will be interesting to see its stand if it makes it to the Super 8 and KOs.

Ideally, ICC should consider all Pak games versus India whether group, super whatever (if Pak makes it), and KOs (if Pak makes it) as forfeited by it. 

In the end PCB will 

(a) come to play India with their tails between their legs and claim a moral victory before the game starts! 

(b) After being soundly thrashed by Indian they’ll claim a victory again, this time for the game as a whole! :wp23:

I’m actually happiest if they boycott because BCCI is going to throw the book at them, plus the kitchen sink

And that’s why PCB still hasn’t formally communicated a boycott to ICC.  No balls to take a firm stand.

4 hours ago, NameGoesHere said:

I’m actually happiest if they boycott because BCCI is going to throw the book at them, plus the kitchen sink

The book would have to be thrown by the ICC not the BCCI. Jay Shah and the ICC are babus whose sole focus is to keep the gravy train going rather than acting as principled leaders. Therefore fully expect nothing to happen.

Edited by lemsip

These are the potential effects. This is a good listen. I can't believe morons invest because we play against Pakistan. High time we dilute this fake rivalry. Every opportunity INdia should tone down this stupid rivalry which has lost its meaning.  India,Australia, England will not be impacted. pakistan will be impacted 50%. Others will be massively impacted. High time we isolate these clowns for pulling off a stunt like this. 

Jiostar have infiltrated majority of India's OTT space through bundled deals with mobile phones / internet service providers that while there will be a loss to them , it's not an insurmountable loss. Pakistan want to use this world cup as a means to hurt india financially which is a dickhead move because this hurts them more than it hurts India. A large chunk of ICC's revenue (and payment to countries which includes Pakistan) relies on the revenue from India - Pakistan matches. 

If anything, The ICC will just hold back Pakistan's money due to them. And possibly impose further fines (making for the overall revenue loss for all the boards). As for collecting the amount, 60% of PCB's funding comes from ICC's coffers , the ICC can stop the funding at source and PCB can do nothing about it. 

Plus add any other action that the ICC seems to do fit which are not off the table which includes foreign players off the table in PSL. 

And in future. India can simply give an ultimatum because the precedence has been set that they will not participate in any ICC tournament that has Pakistan in it. Let the rest of the cricketing world stew in the injustice that it is what it is before realising that they need the money from the Indian market more. 

39 minutes ago, bsriharsha said:

Jiostar have infiltrated majority of India's OTT space through bundled deals with mobile phones / internet service providers that while there will be a loss to them , it's not an insurmountable loss. Pakistan want to use this world cup as a means to hurt india financially which is a dickhead move because this hurts them more than it hurts India. A large chunk of ICC's revenue (and payment to countries which includes Pakistan) relies on the revenue from India - Pakistan matches. 

If anything, The ICC will just hold back Pakistan's money due to them. And possibly impose further fines (making for the overall revenue loss for all the boards). As for collecting the amount, 60% of PCB's funding comes from ICC's coffers , the ICC can stop the funding at source and PCB can do nothing about it. 

Plus add any other action that the ICC seems to do fit which are not off the table which includes foreign players off the table in PSL. 

And in future. India can simply give an ultimatum because the precedence has been set that they will not participate in any ICC tournament that has Pakistan in it. Let the rest of the cricketing world stew in the injustice that it is what it is before realising that they need the money from the Indian market more. 

For ca,ecb, bcci they earn only 5-10% of their entire mony from icc, for pcb its 30-35%. if anything pcb is hurting itself.

They had 1 card and 1 leverage and they gave it up.  the broadcaster is already looking to renogitiate or end the deal with icc, this is just one more reason to do it.

pcb might have thought they have this card and lets play around it, most boards already had enough of this in last couple of years and no1 is interested any longer.

and now none is backing them. 1st they said they wont play wc , they it came down to we want to boycott Ind game.

Icc can do alot of damage if they want to, but do not think they are going to do it.

On 2/2/2026 at 7:17 PM, jf1gp_1 said:

I don't get it. First no one wanted India to play against Pakistan. Now that they have shot themselves we are upset how can they not play. I want BCCI to not say anything. I don't want to see discussion on tv. Infact i strongly urge mods to merge all these threads. More power to Pak continue boycotting 

Same here! First of all it is the umpteenth round of draw rigging which again set up a clash with Pak. Out of fear or whatever motive, they want to boycott the match. Let them! 

On 2/2/2026 at 7:17 PM, jf1gp_1 said:

I don't get it. First no one wanted India to play against Pakistan. Now that they have shot themselves we are upset how can they not play. I want BCCI to not say anything. I don't want to see discussion on tv. Infact i strongly urge mods to merge all these threads. More power to Pak continue boycotting 

Because ICC is literally begging Pakistan and negotiating with them, asking them to play. Which only gives them more importance and ego

https://www.espncricinfo.com/story/icc-pcb-in-back-channel-talks-to-resolve-india-boycott-at-t20-world-cup-1522408

Whats the point of us being so powerful of we don't even have influence over ICC? Face it, if this was any other government, you would be the first one to call us spineless.

And spineless it is, ICC is literally begging them to play against India and we supposedly own ICC.

8 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

These are the potential effects. This is a good listen. I can't believe morons invest because we play against Pakistan. High time we dilute this fake rivalry. Every opportunity INdia should tone down this stupid rivalry which has lost its meaning.  India,Australia, England will not be impacted. pakistan will be impacted 50%. Others will be massively impacted. High time we isolate these clowns for pulling off a stunt like this. 

Pre-2018: Australia’s Tour of South Africa

Australia used to be the Australia of old. They would sledge and sledge hard making life a living hell for the two batsmen in the middle.

The 2017 Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT) was box office, and the 2020/21 series was just as intense. The Australia-India rivalry was peaking perfectly and was on its way to cementing a massive legacy until that happened (Sandpapergate).

Australia needs to return to its roots: hard, rough cricket.

while India Pakistan games often feel meh or artificially hyped, the Australia India rivalry since 2001 has been on an entirely different level

Edited by Suhaan
1 hour ago, New guy said:

And spineless it is, ICC is literally begging them to play against India and we supposedly own ICC.

The bottom line is the ICC and BCCI are both largely commercial bodies not guardians of sport or anything like that. They are doing what they know how to do - find ways of keeping the gravy train rolling on. That is their skillset and mindset. There is no point expecting anything else from them.

Incidents like this have the potential to disrupt the sport in the short term but if they rid the sport of this dependence on India-Pak games for its commercial survival, it is healthy. These contests were due a "mark to market" moment anyway. They ae inferior products that are not good sporting contests and it is about time broadcasters also realised they have been paying way over the odds for the product on offer.

All said and done India should not pull off tit for tat stunt like this against Pakistan. We have to be careful that we don't impact other nations like Pakistan does now. We should isolate pakistan and Bangladeshis without impacting others.