Clarke Posted September 1, 2015 Posted September 1, 2015 Ishant has moe potential than zaheer.He is just 26 his best years are ahead.He has all the natural gifts that a fast bowler can ask for just need to continue this action and not try anything he will have that average around 30 in few years. I'd differ on that. Zaheer had a much bigger skillset (reverse swing, yorker, bouncer, slower delivery etc) and I haven't seen Ishant operate with as much variety, he usually relies on seam movement and tries the short stuff, sometimes too much of the latter.
Trichromatic Posted September 1, 2015 Posted September 1, 2015 He took 1 run of his average with this ten wicket haul.Zak had a similar average even more he got it down in couple of years 8 wickets or more come once in 15-20 matches. 1 point drop is preceded by 2-3 points rise also. You can form questions similar to lizard on wall with ishant's avg.
Laaloo Posted September 1, 2015 Posted September 1, 2015 I'd differ on that. Zaheer had a much bigger skillset (reverse swing' date=' yorker, bouncer, slower delivery etc) and I haven't seen Ishant operate with as much variety, he usually relies on seam movement and tries the short stuff, sometimes too much of the latter.[/quote'] You can thank Dhoni for that process Afridi90 1
maniac Posted September 1, 2015 Posted September 1, 2015 ave is :facepalm: The horrendous 2011-2012 season didn't help...to add to that there were some really unlucky situations....if he took 4 wickets at a good average...that was messed up when the pitch eased out and the opposition almost chased 400...He took 6 wickets in a star performance and this was followed up with a freak comeback when an opposition player scored a 300 and lower order batsmen scored 100's.
rkt.india Posted September 1, 2015 Posted September 1, 2015 Not really.....He bowled well against Aussies at home and I am sure' date='he will against S.A as well unless they come up with Pattas....and on Pattas likes of Devillers and Anla will take apart anyone....infact I am more concerned about likes of Yadav and Aaron bowling to S.A batsman who are used to that pace.......for some reason I think Shami will be the best bet though to bowl along with Ishant for his reverse swing ability.[/quote'] Yadav/Aaron will be thrashed by everyone with the way they are bowling.
MechEng Posted September 1, 2015 Posted September 1, 2015 If he maintains his seam position and makes the proper use of bowling crease, he will be a top notch bowler.
Vijy Posted September 1, 2015 Posted September 1, 2015 ave is :facepalm: Quite easily the worst bowler with 200 wkts and above.
Rightarmfast Posted September 1, 2015 Posted September 1, 2015 His avg will never decrease, but if he continues bowling in the same fashion, in the next 2 yrs, he will become one of the world's best bowlers, just as Zak had become towards the *** end of his career. I also would like to add for all those who have been abusing Yadav. Please go through his bowling again, in the series. He bowled more than a few overs which were absolutely world class. We are expecting too much. He did his job. If he can maintain that standard for a prolonged period of time in the years to come, I dont think we need more.
Deleted_User_1 Posted September 2, 2015 Posted September 2, 2015 Kya din aa gaya, Pissant bhi hero ban gaya!!!
Adi_91 Posted September 2, 2015 Posted September 2, 2015 Sanjay Manjrekar once asked a question which I remember, "If Ishant's bowling average is assumed to be a Indian batsman's, will he be consistently picked as Ishant is into the team?" Till date, I am not sure if the question has a solid answer.
rkt.india Posted September 2, 2015 Posted September 2, 2015 Sanjay Manjrekar once asked a question which I remember, "If Ishant's bowling average is assumed to be a Indian batsman's, will he be consistently picked as Ishant is into the team?" Till date, I am not sure if the question has a solid answer. You cannot compare indian pacers to Indian batsmen. Lot of our bowlers average more. None of them will be picked if we look at averages. Zaheer too had similar average once.
Adi_91 Posted September 2, 2015 Posted September 2, 2015 You cannot compare indian pacers to Indian batsmen. Lot of our bowlers average more. None of them will be picked if we look at averages. Zaheer too had similar average once. To be honest, India is not producing good fast bowlers for a very long time now. With this bowling, whatever Indian team has achieved in all formats of the game is tremendous.
CG Posted September 2, 2015 Posted September 2, 2015 I'd differ on that. Zaheer had a much bigger skillset (reverse swing' date=' yorker, bouncer, slower delivery etc) and I haven't seen Ishant operate with as much variety, he usually relies on seam movement and tries the short stuff, sometimes too much of the latter.[/quote'] Seam bowlers generally are harder at test level and zak allthough mastered swing but he did too late.Ishant does reverseswing the ball well and has a good bouncer and cutter along with pace and height he should be better than zak at end of career otherwise it will be a waste.
CG Posted September 2, 2015 Posted September 2, 2015 8 wickets or more come once in 15-20 matches. 1 point drop is preceded by 2-3 points rise also. You can form questions similar to lizard on wall with ishant's avg. Ishant has been miser giving runs in last few years so now as he is taking wicket that average shuld drop.
zakk Posted September 2, 2015 Posted September 2, 2015 Kya din aa gaya' date=' Pissant bhi hero ban gaya!!![/quote'] kyu nahi banna chahiye kya?
Trichromatic Posted September 2, 2015 Posted September 2, 2015 Ishant has been miser giving runs in last few years so now as he is taking wicket that average shuld drop. Even if he takes next 100 wickets at 27, his average will drop to 34 only. His career avg will always remain around that mark at best.
CG Posted September 2, 2015 Posted September 2, 2015 Even if he takes next 100 wickets at 27' date=' his average will drop to 34 only. His career avg will always remain around that mark at best.[/quote'] No zak started at 38 finished at 32 ishant should be around 30-31 .His peak is yet to come.