beetle Posted February 21, 2017 Posted February 21, 2017 @sandeep Irfan is a bigger gujju player in terms of brand value than munaf.He couldn't be less fitter than munaf.
rkt.india Posted February 21, 2017 Posted February 21, 2017 1 minute ago, maniac said: Didn't he have a couple of good SMA games? Yeah Ishant's base price was too high SMA matters for young inexperienced domestic players more than senior experienced players. Ishant has already played IPL and has been very average. Track record is as important. So, he is not considered a T20 bowler. Does not plays T20 or ODIs for India too that plays a big role and his base price was too high. Otherwise, I am sure Kings XI Punjab would certainly have picked him. Dont know who had advised him to keep such a high price. It probably put off franchises too. They thought base price 2 crore and if other teams start bidding, it will increase and you bidding war can be madness and can go out of control due to egos. Look at Aaron, his base price was 30 lacs and teams bid for him and his price went up 9 times more than that. If his base price was 50 lacs, some team might eventually showed interest in him and who knows he might even got more like Aaron did but because the teams dint have huge a purse to spend, most of the teams spent it pretty wisely and Ishant does not bring much of a value as a T20 bowler. Lot of teams bought players at base price. SecondSlip, Mosher, maniac and 1 other 4
rkt.india Posted February 21, 2017 Posted February 21, 2017 2 minutes ago, Cricketics said: Shami too gets injiured all the time and isn't a great 2020 bowler, similarly Pathan is a handy Indian player for any team. Shami is current Indian player and younger is considered a good bowler. Perception works most of the time. Perception for Ishant is that he is a poor LOI bowler, does not play ODIs or T20s for India.
rkt.india Posted February 21, 2017 Posted February 21, 2017 3 minutes ago, beetle said: @sandeep Irfan is a bigger gujju player in terms of brand value than munaf.He couldn't be less fitter than munaf. but that is just by chance chance.
Cricketics Posted February 21, 2017 Posted February 21, 2017 1 minute ago, rkt.india said: but that is just by chance chance. Munaf isn't a bad option with experience. IPL teams play 14 games. You always need replacement bowlers in IPL teams when you are playing 14 games. Not all Indian players bowl so good to play all 14 games for their teams. So Munaf can easily play as replacement for few games at least.
rkt.india Posted February 21, 2017 Posted February 21, 2017 1 minute ago, Cricketics said: Munaf isn't a bad option with experience. IPL teams play 14 games. You always need replacement bowlers in IPL teams when you are playing 14 games. Not all Indian players bowl so good to play all 14 games for their teams. So Munaf can easily play as replacement for few games at least. Munaf is probably the biggest disappointment of my cricket watching life. Sidhoni, Mosher and Lord 3
Lord Posted February 21, 2017 Posted February 21, 2017 28 minutes ago, rkt.india said: Irfan stays injured all the time. Why would a team waste a spot for him? His brand value,specially in Gujarat is still good Could have been picked for Munaf,who also stays injured
Cricketics Posted February 21, 2017 Posted February 21, 2017 4 minutes ago, rkt.india said: Munaf is probably the biggest disappointment of my cricket watching life. Easy for people to make fun here of players when they are down and out or at the end of their careers. They don't realize under what circumstances they reached where they reached even though they couldn't live up to the expectations. Sidhoni 1
Pollack Posted February 21, 2017 Posted February 21, 2017 37 minutes ago, sandeep said: Gujarat team selections appear to have a quota of 3-4 players for non-cricket purposes. Munaf probably fits that criteria - former gujarat star, being taken care of by the Gujarat based team. Suspect similar reasons for them having that useless Saurashtra ranji "captain" on their payroll last year, and the UAE gujju son of a businessman who got picked up. What, no silly name calling and insults this time? Regardless whether Dhoni is fit or not for captaincy - overlooking Ashwin, who has a brilliant cricketing brain, and is going to be a all-season starter for them - and looking to Steve Smith, who is by no means a proven great T20 brainiac is silly. Its an Indian IPL team, and I would argue that either Ash or Rahane would have been better placed to get the most of that squad, and either of them are tactically sound enough - Ash in particular. But no. Let's go with the "name" white guy. Because he's "australian", and they are winners. Facts be damned. No disrespect to Smith he's a gun test and ODI player, don't recall his T20 track record off the top of my head, maybe decent as well. But to go with a "phoren" captain based on flimsy logic smacks of reactive thinking and buying into pre-conceived notions and "conventional" wisdom - not actual meritocracy - and THAT's how good corporate organizations are supposed to work. Warne, Warner, Gilchrist won IPL as captains.Bailey got close to winning one almost. Australian 'white' captains are brilliant and successful. No doubts about that.
rkt.india Posted February 21, 2017 Posted February 21, 2017 11 minutes ago, Cricketics said: Easy for people to make fun here of players when they are down and out or at the end of their careers. They don't realize under what circumstances they reached where they reached even though they couldn't live up to the expectations. where did I make fun of him? I just said he is the biggest disappointment for me as a cricket fan because to the kind of talent he had. beetle and Mosher 2
Cricketics Posted February 21, 2017 Posted February 21, 2017 9 minutes ago, rkt.india said: where did I make fun of him? I just said he is the biggest disappointment for me as a cricket fan because to the kind of talent he had. I am not talking about you. About others above you and in other threads laughing at Munaf.
BeautifulGame Posted February 21, 2017 Posted February 21, 2017 I still cant get over the fact that he picked a rubbish team name so that it can match with his initials lol The guy is clearly a narcissist so his arrogant comments are not really surprising.The IPL owners have been generally on the background allowing coaches to take the limelight generally. Thats one thing that is generally very good about IPL. Wish BCCI would send them a memo to these not to comment about Indians players in Public. randomGuy 1
maniac Posted February 21, 2017 Posted February 21, 2017 (edited) 1 hour ago, BeautifulGame said: I still cant get over the fact that he picked a rubbish team name so that it can match with his initials lol The guy is clearly a narcissist so his arrogant comments are not really surprising.The IPL owners have been generally on the background allowing coaches to take the limelight generally. Thats one thing that is generally very good about IPL. Wish BCCI would send them a memo to these not to comment about Indians players in Public. Srini overriding everything and everyone else to save Dhoni to protect his Franchise and brand? this is just the opposite of that. Edited February 21, 2017 by maniac Ironhide 1
BeautifulGame Posted February 21, 2017 Posted February 21, 2017 (edited) 11 minutes ago, maniac said: Srini overriding everything and everyone else to save Dhoni to protect his Franchise and brand? this is just the opposite of that. What did he override ? When did Srini ever make comments about other players or even CSK in public.He always stayed in the background . His attempt to cover up Meyyappan was completely different issue and has no correlation . Edited February 21, 2017 by BeautifulGame
express bowling Posted February 21, 2017 Posted February 21, 2017 (edited) 2 hours ago, rkt.india said: Munaf is probably the biggest disappointment of my cricket watching life. Munaf was easily the most lethal looking genuine fast bowler I have seen from India when he made his debut. The gap between what he could have achieved and what he actually did is too wide to measure. Edited February 21, 2017 by express bowling Mosher 1
Cricketics Posted February 21, 2017 Posted February 21, 2017 9 minutes ago, maniac said: Srini overriding everything and everyone else to save Dhoni to protect his Franchise and brand? this is just the opposite of that. Some people in TN and CSK fans are too attached to Srini mama. Even if he kills someome in India, they will make it look like it is a positive move as he has decreased Indian population.
Cricketics Posted February 21, 2017 Posted February 21, 2017 2 minutes ago, express bowling said: Munaf was easily the most lethal looking genuine fast bowler I have seen from India when he made his debut. The gap between what he could have achieved and what he actually did is too wide to measure. He bowled well in west indies in 2006 when we won series under Dravid. Remember Gayle's stumps flying away.
BeautifulGame Posted February 21, 2017 Posted February 21, 2017 Just now, Cricketics said: Some people in TN and CSK fans are too attached to Srini mama. Even if he kills someome in India, they will make it look like it is a positive move as he has decreased Indian population. Really ? If anything he is generally mocked relentless often ? We have even made movie where Srini like figure(basically Srini) made as villain lol
express bowling Posted February 21, 2017 Posted February 21, 2017 (edited) 4 minutes ago, Cricketics said: He bowled well in west indies in 2006 when we won series under Dravid. Remember Gayle's stumps flying away. Munaf of 2006 had the ability to make deliveries rear up steeply from just short of good length, at genuine pace, with seam movement and had an excellent yorker too. A rare combination to have. Edited February 21, 2017 by express bowling Mosher 1
Cricketics Posted February 21, 2017 Posted February 21, 2017 4 minutes ago, BeautifulGame said: Really ? If anything he is generally mocked relentless often ? We have even made movie where Srini like figure(basically Srini) made as villain lol Na you guys like him a lot. Even TNPL would have been someone elses idea and since he was president, he got all the credit.