These 2 IPL team owners have a horrible attitude.

randomGuy

I thought the young kid would be an @ss, but its the older guy who's the moron.  Just dismissed the work ethic of guys like Ishant and Irfan.  I think that's grossly inaccurate and harsh.  As the Guj team owner politely pointed out - some players are a better fit for other formats, and form is a consideration.  Absolutely no need to insult players that you didn't think fit your team needs.  

The Pune owners in general have demonstrated their idiocy consistently.  From their team "name" to uniforms to team selections earlier and this time around - the captaincy decision - stupidity and tastelessness on the "branding" front, and lack of cricket understanding and reactive thinking on the cricket front.  Easily the worst team in IPL.  

I personally believe if one of these IPL teams signs up Irfan, they will get a motivated player who will be pissed and determined to prove a few folks wrong.  He's an under-rated bat in this format in particular, and an experienced handy bowler as well.  

1 minute ago, sandeep said:

I thought the young kid would be an @ss, but its the older guy who's the moron.  Just dismissed the work ethic of guys like Ishant and Irfan.  I think that's grossly inaccurate and harsh.  As the Guj team owner politely pointed out - some players are a better fit for other formats, and form is a consideration.  Absolutely no need to insult players that you didn't think fit your team needs.  

The Pune owners in general have demonstrated their idiocy consistently.  From their team "name" to uniforms to team selections earlier and this time around - the captaincy decision - stupidity and tastelessness on the "branding" front, and lack of cricket understanding and reactive thinking on the cricket front.  Easily the worst team in IPL.  

I personally believe if one of these IPL teams signs up Irfan, they will get a motivated player who will be pissed and determined to prove a few folks wrong.  He's an under-rated bat in this format in particular, and an experienced handy bowler as well.  

Agreed on all points except the captaincy. Dhoni performed poorly last season and was dropped for a guy captaining a top team in all 3 formats....that's how corporates work and that is how a good organization should work.

As for the name,I agree tool move if the rumor is true it was named after himself.

And totally agree on Ishant and Irfan.

Say whatever, Pathan and Ishant aren't as bad. Infact Pathan is a pretty good all rounder for IPL. He is not suited for Indian team but players like him, Dinda are still good enough for IPL teams and to play ahead of other players. 

They were unlucky, seriously.

2 hours ago, maniac said:

That was the biggest shock of the IPL....unless there is a complete cure for arthritis,don't see how he is picked :wall:

Munaf is such a lazy ass. Such a waste of talent. Same is the case with RP Singh. They should learn a thing or two from Nehra.

Edited by Mosher
3 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

Say whatever, Pathan and Ishant aren't as bad. Infact Pathan is a pretty good all rounder for IPL. He is not suited for Indian team but players like him, Dinda are still good enough for IPL teams and to play ahead of other players. 

Irfan was unlucky but Ishant has himself to blame. Ishant would have been picked up by some team if only he had kept his base price lower.

7 minutes ago, Mosher said:

Irfan was unlucky but Ishant has himself to blame. Ishant would have been picked up by some team if only he had kept his base price lower.

Yes, Ishant got greedy. He should learn from Negi. Negi ended up making almost crores by putting a low bid price.

Was watching Gambhir's interview in between the auction and he said how some bowlers sold are good but he didn't buy because they had extremely high price.  He mentioned how Tymal Mills is a brilliant bowler, and he would love to have him but not for 8crores.

So Ishant being one of India's recognized bowlers, would have been easily picked ahead of many if not for that huge mistake. 

1 hour ago, sandeep said:

Young kid had some good points but was also agreeing with the older dick. So he also proved himself to be a (smaller) dick imo.

(Just realised i happened to hold a few shares of a co. where the older dick is the chairman btw -  firstsource solutions )

Edited by randomGuy
12 minutes ago, Viper said:

He said "He was impressed by the way steve smith rebuilt the team over 18 to 20 months" Does this idiot even watch cricket  ? Mate 

Last 18 to 20 months 

1. He got whitewashed in SL which is #7 ranked Team

2. He got Whitewashed in RSA 5 - 0 

3. He lost WCT20 didn't even make it to knockout stages

4. Lost ashes and T20 series in England

5. Lost against PAK

6. Lost series last year against NZ and on and on

Last year you didn't perform well because all players you got are injured and smith especially ran away in the middle

Fap gone

KP gone

Smith gone

He has no idea what he is talking about. He thinks stokes is a genuine fast bowling allrounder :fear1: Old guy IPl is not for you... 

Comments both of them made on Irfan is Totally uncalled for... 

He probably watched the last series and saw them smashing around Pakistan..

I hate these owners who act like they know about cricket when they don't.I hate when they think they are bigger than the players.

The comments about Ishant and Irfan were uncalled for and unprofessional .

I  really hope these teams get disbanded after this IPL and there is no talk of 10 team IPL.

Gujarat team selections appear to have a quota of 3-4 players for non-cricket purposes.  Munaf probably fits that criteria - former gujarat star, being taken care of by the Gujarat based team.  Suspect similar reasons for them having that useless Saurashtra ranji "captain" on their payroll last year, and the UAE gujju son of a businessman who got picked up.  

1 hour ago, maniac said:

Agreed on all points except the captaincy. Dhoni performed poorly last season and was dropped for a guy captaining a top team in all 3 formats....that's how corporates work and that is how a good organization should work.

As for the name,I agree tool move if the rumor is true it was named after himself.

And totally agree on Ishant and Irfan.

What, no silly name calling and insults this time?      Regardless whether Dhoni is fit or not for captaincy - overlooking Ashwin, who has a brilliant cricketing brain, and is going to be a all-season starter for them - and looking to Steve Smith, who is by no means a proven great T20 brainiac is silly.  Its an Indian IPL team, and I would argue that either Ash or Rahane would have been better placed to get the most of that squad, and either of them are tactically sound enough - Ash in particular.  But no.  Let's go with the "name" white guy.  Because he's "australian", and they are winners.  Facts be damned.  No disrespect to Smith he's a gun test and ODI player, don't recall his T20 track record off the top of my head, maybe decent as well.  But to go with a "phoren" captain based on flimsy logic smacks of reactive thinking and buying into pre-conceived notions and "conventional" wisdom - not actual meritocracy - and THAT's how good corporate organizations are supposed to work.  

13 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

Young kid had some good points but was also agreeing with the older dick. So he also proved himself to be a (smaller) dick imo.

(Just realised i happened to hold a few shares of a co. where the older dick is the chairman btw -  firstsource solutions )

Look, he's on TV - he's not going to cross swords with another "captain of industry" on some BS talk show about some off the cuff statements.  But at least he didn't insult our players.  Can't blame him much for not "disagreeing" with the old chewt uncle.  Money never buys smarts.  Or class for that matter.  Whether its "new" money, or "old".

1 hour ago, maniac said:

That was the biggest shock of the IPL....unless there is a complete cure for arthritis,don't see how he is picked :wall:

his base price was low. If Ishant had his base was 50 lacs, he would have easily been picked. Regarding Irfan, he stays injured all the time.

11 minutes ago, beetle said:

I hate these owners who act like they know about cricket when they don't.I hate when they think they are bigger than the players.

The comments about Ishant and Irfan were uncalled for and unprofessional .

I  really hope these teams get disbanded after this IPL and there is no talk of 10 team IPL.

Dont think they said anything wrong, especially, Keshav Bansal. 

1 hour ago, Cricketics said:

Irfan stays injured all the time. Why would a team waste a spot for him?

2 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

his base price was low. If Ishant had his base was 50 lacs, he would have easily been picked. Regarding Irfan, he stays injured all the time.

Didn't he have a couple of good SMA games?

Yeah Ishant's base price was too high

6 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

Irfan stays injured all the time. Why would a team waste a spot for him?

Shami too gets injiured all the time and isn't a great 2020 bowler, similarly Pathan is a handy Indian player for any team.