If county cricket make players improve their skills, why English cricket still sucks !!!

velu

They are not creative or naturally gifted. Dravid batted against swing bowling better than any English batsman i can think of. County stint helped him. It is merely to improve your shot selection when conditions are challenging. Only two flair players from England i can think of are Gower and Treschothik. Rest of them are all imported.

The experience of playing in county cricket is definitely better because it is different conditions from what you have been playing all your life. There is nothing wrong in experiencing it. It can only help as something new and challenging. Its not more skillful or anything that everyone tries to portray.

However, saying it is better than IPL or Ranji or any other form is just BS. I feel English and Aussie players should play in Ranji/IPL and their game would improve by many folds.

Edited by Shunya

It depends from person to person and how they take it. It might not help someone like Kohli much as he won't get to face top English seamers like Anderson, and can score runs against other guys easily who are bowling 80ish miles in county. However, county stint can help someone like Pujara a lot(even though he struggled last year in the county season), that he can realize from his county season mistakes and put higher price on his shot selections which he does when he plays in India.

For bowlers though bowling anywhere in alien condition is helpful as you realize your potential of what you can gain from different wickets if you do things differently.

No one is saying CC is the greatest quality (even me) just that it can sometimes help already gifted players improve in conditions they don't face at home. However for some players it doesn't have any effect whatsoever. I've lost count of the number Aussies Yorkshire have signed who have struggled and continue to struggle abroad. Finch (nowhere near the Test side) Maxwell (same) and Handscombe (just dropped from the Test side) are three examples from Yorkshire. The ones that tend to do well are those that are already quality Test match players such as Sangakkara, Du Plessis, Williamson and Langer to name a few off the top of my head from the last decade.

Love the picture by the way. I'm a tough, hard faced Yorkie but I'm a sucker for cute dogs :D

It's more about the sheer number of games a player plays through a County season that helps, 16 first class games in a single season, whereas most countries' domestic FC only contain 6-10 matches. For established international players it is useful platform to tweak, sharpen or adjust their game, be it they are batsman or bowler.

That's why the current Ranji format falls short, most teams only play max 6 FC games!!,     

The arrogance of Indian fans is staggering !!!! So Brits lack talent or ability? FFS their best sporting talent is diverted to athletics, football, boxing, tennis, rugby etc and not cricket. If cricket were UK's number 1 sport and still had they sucked as some posters have so eloquently put, may be we could have debated. But unlike India they don't have the luxury of getting top drawer talent to cricket, same is the case with Australia and SA. England got more Olympic medals in Rio than what India will get in this century, so let us stop being so disrespectful about their state of cricket. In spite of all their flaws they won in Aus, SA and India this decade. No Asian team has ever won in SA/Aus and England have competed much better here than what we have historically done in UK. 

CC is better than Ranji albeit the gap is very narrow now....IPL is BS and a proper menace, what help has it been for us since its inception in 2008?

25 minutes ago, Khota said:

Cricket is not a important sport for England. They are really into football and majority could care less. You talk to some English people about cricket and you get the impression that they could care less.

That explains why county cricket sucks.

County cricket doesn't suck, your 1st para explains the point perfectly. It is CC that has made England a competitive team, else they will descend into minnow status. 

10 minutes ago, Gollum said:

County cricket doesn't suck, your 1st para explains the point perfectly. It is CC that has made England a competitive team, else they will descend into minnow status. 

kapil Dev when he played county cricket commented that it was easier to score in county cricket. 

13 minutes ago, Khota said:

kapil Dev when he played county cricket commented that it was easier to score in county cricket. 

Easier compared to international cricket agree, but easier than Ranji?

The GOAT team of WI credited CC a lot for their long format dominance. 

1. The cream of British sporting talent is guided into Olympics and several other high profile sports.

2. Their biggest mass fanbase sport is football which the prince harry, 90 percent non elite working class and every kid in England follows. 

3. Cricket is neither their aesthetic sport which brings Olympic glory nor their mass fanbase sport. It is a symbol of old England - boring and uncool.

4. If cricket is the only sport which england play then have no doubt that they will trounce australia 7 times out of 10. Don't forget that England are regularly at top 5 in Olympics while Australia barely manages to hold itself in top 10. 

5. British sportsmanship and determination is not root and cook. It's something much more powerful.

Edited by Temujin Khaghan
2 minutes ago, Temujin Khaghan said:

1. The cream of British sporting talent is guided into Olympics and several other high profile sports.

2. Their biggest mass fanbase sport is football which the prince harry, 90 percent non elite working class and every kid in England follows. 

3. Cricket is neither their aesthetic sport which brings Olympic glory nor their mass fanbase sport. It is a symbol of old England - boring and uncool.

4. If cricket is the only sport which england play then have no doubt that they will trounce australia 7 times out of 10. Don't forget that England are regularly at top 5 in Olympics while Australia barely manages to hold itself in top 10. 

5. British sportsmanship and determination is not root and cook. It's something much more powerful.

England have done better since 2008, recent development. Historically Aus have done better with a <2 crore population, IMO Aus is the greatest sporting nation in the world considering their minuscule population. 

We make fun of Anderson or other English fast bowlers for their cloud based technique...however Indian fast  bowlers(the ones with decent careers) more

often than not bowl better in Subcontinent than taking advantage of such conditions .

I don’t have stats in front of me but this is based on what I have seen...Zak,Ishant or even Srinath,Kapil did better at home than in England from what I can remember.

9 minutes ago, BeardedAladdin said:

Lol. Not as staggering as your slave mentality. 70 saal hogaye azaadi milke babu, ab toh unka chaatna band kar.

England won more olympic medals....yeah because they spend about 50 billion pounds more on athletics. Even then, their medals are won in....lets see...indoor cycling, parasailing, equestrian. Yawn. What superiority. What does India spend, about a 1/20th as much? If the budgets were comparable you'd have a point.

You know what IS their number 1 sport? Football. Their football association is the richest in the world, and so is their league. What's their record in international football? How do english players compare to their European and south american counterparts?

There is nothing 'arrogant' about what these posters said, they are 100% correct. English cricketers (and sportsmen by and large) are less skilled and generally substandard. Its just what it is.

Bear in mind that their country ran the sport of cricket for 110 years, and their board still gets a massive amount of TV money.

and a bigger LOL @ the usual 'IPL sucks' line. tum log kabhi nahi sudhroge....:phew:

Their football team has always been top 20 in the world. They haven't been that good but not trash by any stretch of imagination. Much better than us because we can't even beat teams (with comparable/lesser budget than us) like St Kitts, Maldives, Turkmenistan, Palestine EXTRA LOL.

England have produced more F1 champions than any other country, gun rugby team, great boxers, MMA fighters, golfers, good tennis players, track athletes, hell even their field hockey team owns our team. It is stupidity to proclaim that they have no talent in sports.

If their cricketers are less skilled explain how they have won test series' in SA, Aus, India this decade while we have never won in Aus/SA in the last 70 years !!!! And this is the H2H between India and England in the 3 formats:

Test: Played 117, India won 25, lost 43....we have a negative H2H record since the turn of the millenium :facepalm:

Overall 6-30 in UK and 19-13 in India

If you ignore the pre Aug 15, 1947 records it reads 6-26 and 19-11 

ODI: 52-39 in our favor, tied 3-3 in WCs 

T20: 6-5 in England's favor, we lead 2-1 in WT20

Pray tell me how England are a mediocre sub standard cricket team.

1 hour ago, Gollum said:

Easier compared to international cricket agree, but easier than Ranji?

The GOAT team of WI credited CC a lot for their long format dominance. 

During those days crappy as county wages were those were the best wages those players could earn. Times have changed quiet a bit.It is a myth but you dont learn as much as some people think in county.

3 hours ago, Gollum said:

The arrogance of Indian fans is staggering !!!! So Brits lack talent or ability? FFS their best sporting talent is diverted to athletics, football, boxing, tennis, rugby etc and not cricket. If cricket were UK's number 1 sport and still had they sucked as some posters have so eloquently put, may be we could have debated. But unlike India they don't have the luxury of getting top drawer talent to cricket, same is the case with Australia and SA. England got more Olympic medals in Rio than what India will get in this century, so let us stop being so disrespectful about their state of cricket. In spite of all their flaws they won in Aus, SA and India this decade. No Asian team has ever won in SA/Aus and England have competed much better here than what we have historically done in UK. 

CC is better than Ranji albeit the gap is very narrow now....IPL is BS and a proper menace, what help has it been for us since its inception in 2008?

Helped us discover new talent. Suresh Raina, who then went on to be an integral part of our world cup winning side. I can list many more. IPL is a successful self sustaining business, which provides employment to thousands. The model has been copied by other nations to varying degree of success. And the IPL took off during the time of the subprime crisis. :p

Give credit where due.

What is your exact grouse with the IPL anyways?

21 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Helped us discover new talent. Suresh Raina, who then went on to be an integral part of our world cup winning side. I can list many more. IPL is a successful self sustaining business, which provides employment to thousands. The model has been copied by other nations to varying degree of success. And the IPL took off during the time of the subprime crisis. :p

Give credit where due.

What is your exact grouse with the IPL anyways?

Raina was discovered by the much maligned Chappell-Dravid duo in 2006, IPL had nothing with his ascension because he was already a match winner before the 1st ball in IPL was bowled. 

IPL may provide employment to thousands but so does the drug cartel or some crime syndicate. Even they are self sustaining businesses. I hate IPL because:

- it is a stinkingly corrupt and a tool for money laundering

- the focus of nextgen is shifting away from red ball cricket, youngsters are content with a few small successes in IPL

- team selection is being affected, corporate takeover of Indian cricket is well and truly on

- our players are getting less rest in the traditional cricket off season and hence are more prone to getting injured/stressed out by playing lesser international matches the rest of the year, also off season is a time you hone your sills and repair any technical deficiency, because of IPL Indian cricket has no off season

- technique of our cricketers is getting adversely affected, have a look at the young IPL stars and compare their techniques to the players of yesteryear who graduated through the grind of Ranji/Duleep/Hazare Tournaments

- how have we benefited from IPL? After 2007 WT20 we have won zero WT20s and our T20 team is ****. We have become A grade chokers, IPL was supposed to help our players handle pressure well but all we do these days is choke in the big games.

Zaheer khan's experience was fruitful. As per County schedules are hectic. You have to manage yourself. You are on your own. You rediscover yourself. Javagal Srinath picked  87 wickets in a single county season with Glouchestershire. Kumble picked 105 wickets in a single season at an average of 20. Zak took like 78 wickets. Not everybody needs a stint. Tendulkar never needed. Played a mere 16 matches. Had a moderate average of 46.02. DInesh Mongia averages 47 lol . Whatever happened to that guy. Best performance by an Indian batsman in county in terms of average is Laxman averaging 61.

http://www.cricketcountry.com/articles/indian-cricketers-in-county-championship-career-statistics-164267

Edited by vvvslaxman