Afghanistan and Ireland Granted Test status!

ireland bangla test series on irish greentops would be interesting.

Virat on those tracks would be very interesting too.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

35 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

Well done. We need to make the game bigger and not the game more pathetic by keeping it to just 8 teams.

Sanity prevails.

USA and Canada will be next in few years.

Aren't these two teams filled with people from South Asia origin? Do non Asians there actually play cricket? Few yrs back I thot China could make it in cricket. 

Good news for minnow bashers and batsmen who just care to make cheap and easy runs. Indian cricket team must be excited to host a few games for Ireland and Afghanistan. Hahane will still not score cuz no way openers will allow someone to get cheap easy runs when they can pad their own stats! Tbf..i doubt he would score eveb if given a chance. That's how awful he is.

3 minutes ago, Sgattick10 said:

Aren't these two teams filled with people from South Asia origin? Do non Asians there actually play cricket? Few yrs back I thot China could make it in cricket. 

Yes many Non Asians play but majority Americans who play are of Asian descent. Also let me give you a specific answer on this and a but of history, ao please read this.

Americans, the white people aren't exactly all from here. So many people in india those who don't know much about US history(not their fault as they don't teach much of us history) assume that Americans mean White people and Black People. People should know that the first people here weren't white, whites came from Europe and from places like Ireland etc, not too long ago. So because America is lead by white americans does not mean Americans had Americans(whites) here. The Native Americans who spoke different dialects of Spanish langues were actual Americans.

So to cut short, Asians, are as much American as white people.

This is what in India we don't learn that there were no white people in America. Every white person has some ancestory from Europe here so even they are Irish, or German or some European background.

Similarly, Asians kids who are Americans today have "Asian" background but are Americans. So they learn cricket through their parents etc and hence hold interest in that sport.

So if any Asian kid here wherr he is from, he will say "I am from here but parents from India." Similarly If you ask any white person here where you from, they will tell you "I am from here, but my parents are from Ireland." 

So many people who lambaste that USA and Canada is full of asians players, should know that USA and Canada are exceptions and more Americans and citizen of this country than any Asian  in another cricket playing nation.

We shouldn't be judged the same way as countries like Hong Kong, China etc which will not have Chinese but Indian players or Pakistani players. 

3 hours ago, I6MTW said:

Ireland has declined. They were test status worthy few years ago around 2011-2014. Now Afghanistan is much worthier of test status.

dont think ieland have quality bowlers to survive test cricket,afghanistan very capable side ,if they can score 350 odd runs,they can surprise

5 minutes ago, SK_IH said:

dont think ieland have quality bowlers to survive test cricket,afghanistan very capable side ,if they can score 350 odd runs,they can surprise

Irelands quality players were all poached by England. As for Afghanistan, prob is their batting was probably the worst out of all the associate nations.

1 hour ago, Sidhoni said:

Great news

Ireland might actually be tough to beat at home if they get back Morgan and Rankin

Rankin is back i think. Morgan can go back if he wants to play test because poms will never give him test match. But i don't think he will, i saw him singing english national anthem in ct which he never did before this tournament. 

1 minute ago, sscomp32 said:

Rankin is back i think. Morgan can go back if he wants to play test because poms will never give him test match. But i don't think he will, i saw him singing english national anthem in ct which he never did before this tournament. 

Yes Morgan won't go. He has done a fine job with revamping England LOI teams as captain and will definitely stay until 2019. If he wasn't captain then there was a chance.

Apart from Rashid Khan I seriously don't see any test level player in the Afghan side...a couple of good LOI players are there sure.

And as far as Ireland side...they don't have any semi decent international cricketer...Even if Morgan walks back in,he is only a good LOI player.

but might be competitive with WI and Bangla in some conditions

dint see the thread started one with better OP lol

merge pls

Free test runs for everyone....yaeeeeee 

hqdefault.jpg

Edited by Vilander

Great news for both teams!! Well done

But how will they draw crowds for these matches without big enough stadiums. And what about security situation in Afghanistan? Will all full members tour there? Thats my main worry

More weak teams diluting the quality of Test cricket. :facepalm:How are they even going to afford hosting these Test matches. So few teams can even turn a profit from tests. 

2 minutes ago, Tibarn said:

More weak teams diluting the quality of Test cricket. :facepalm:How are they even going to afford hosting these Test matches. So few teams can even turn a profit from tests. 

Ireland will be warmup one off test for England series. Afganistan can be same for India series ( played in their India home ground) simple.

its devalued Test cricket. Afghans and Ireland are nowhere near Test level they will be worse than Bangla in their early years.

Afghanistans batsman are mostly tulleybaaz

ireland are losing their golden generation and are a very poor side now.

They are just cannon fodder for FTBs and minnow bashers to pad up their records.

Well done. We need to make the game bigger and not the game more pathetic by keeping it to just 8 teams.

Sanity prevails.

USA and Canada will be next in few years.

U.S n Canada wont really have native players it will be expat desis and wont pick up any notice and attention outside Desi expat communities in North America.

every cricketing nation in this world, this is a live example of how it benefits you if you become our lackey. Afghanistan team finally saw the bright light and now they are on the right path towards World Cup champions

bhai tumne jaida whiskey pi le hai.

Afghanistan have one class player Rashid Khan. Rest of their team are average. They will carry on being minnows in ODIs n will be embarrassed in Test.

now we can play with a team like pak ( Afganistan) without the anti india crap, will be a genuinely fun rivalry in time.

afghan are nothing like apart from the fact they are Muslims.

Afghan dont have the history with us Pak do.