Shortlist for 1st ODI - Rishabh Pant to make his debut

Mosher

1 hour ago, UrmiSinhaRay said:

I don't really follow him around or even care about him to the point of hating him but he gives off a very Arrogant, OTT type of vibes and someone who will take his initial fame too seriously in future.
Honestly doesn't come off to be a really likeable person either.

And to be frank - I never felt like this about him before IPL18 though I certainly thought he was being pushed too early but as I said - I really give nuts about who's who until they're able to win at any cost

I don't know this guy personally not have heard much about him but I don't think Pant is very introverted.
And he's not even the funny trainwreck types like Hardik Pandya and Shikhar Dhawan.

Pant reminds me off a young Kohli who might be hard working but always gave off the impressions that he overestimates his fame as a cricketer.

Ofcourse Kohli had a messier reputation and was a much bigger polarizing figure than this Pant.
But I always had a gut feeling Kohli will fail to retain fans once his purple patch is gone and won't be able to have an independent legacy like a Sachin or a Dhoni.

There will always be a time when public will eventually be tired of the existing peripheral trends and will demand more from a celebrity in terms of star power.
That's where Kohli faltered.
I guess his fame too much derived from him being a Cricketer , that Cricketers are gods and Cricket is a religion and Cricketers are immune from every type of hate because they play for the country and blah blah blah instead of him being an independent likeable persona beyond being a cricketer.
Also him being gently shoe horned as Sachin's replacement being the Nation's Man Crush and the entitlement that everybody has to like him as Sachin's successor.
He might be even better than Sachin, but the thing is people never saw him anything more than Sachin's gareeb replacement whom they have keep up with because they want to watch cricket and not because they independently like him.
That's why after that Kumble saga broke out and now the increasingly murky Anushka affair - people dropped Kohli like a domino and his public perception is going negative.

Yes - Indian cricket fans can be bitter and hypocritical while supporting their so called "Gods", and you can rarely people supporting a star who is doing all wrongs or who are clear in decline.
Even Sachin during his captaincy suffered from bad blood and Dhoni is currently gaining criticism.

That said - their general perceptions never suffered this bad.
There are loads of fans out there who still love Dhoni and majority who don't really follow Cricket by heart are still supporting Dhoni despite his bad performances.

That I don't really see with Kohli.
Instead there is a rise in Negative, malicious memes against him.
His general perception has gone Down to the dogs.
More so because he fought with Kumble - who is still liked by old cricket fans who doesn't really feel attached to Kohli despite his runs.

Though a lot of this is Kohli's doings - but I kind of blame his marketers for not letting people build an emotional connection with him that goes beyond cricket.
He was always seen as Sachin's substitute by most old fans - and these people don't always get attached to substitutes just because they were fans of their predecessors.

Similarly, Pant is being thrown as Dhoni's substitute.
Dhoni is famous around the PR and marketing Circles for having an army of psychotic fans and equally psychotic Marketing team.
I'm not denying his talent - but the way he's being pushed forward kind of harkened me back to Kohli's marketing agenda whose fame is now falling a pack of cards being given one slight push.

Being openly marketed In media as Dhoni's successor, being given the 777 jersey which kind of alludes of Dhoni's personal brand , pushing this idea into people's mind that Pant is bound to save the country like Dhoni did - it is only bringing in a bunch of expectations I don't think he deserves.
Neither it will give him Dhoni's real fanbase nor it will create a solid emotional connection between him and the public.

He'll always remain enclosed within the fickle minded Cricket Nerd viewerbase who write lengthy yet superficial analysis on social media .
At most , he can be like a Yuvi who is famous for his flamboyant style but forgotten after he started to falter.

A career, a fanbase he could've gotten if he started out as a normal wk-bat in a post Dhoni apocalyltical world is pretty much different from starting out as a Dhoni substitute.
And Dhoni's real secret of energy is the psychotic ones and not the universal ones like Sachin many of whom started to follow Kohli after Sachin's retirement.
Ofcourse a lot of Pant's Fate depends on how he conducts himself in public but he doesn't seem to be the low-key nice ones like Bhuvi or Rahane whom people like though they tend to slip under the radar nor a Rohit who is incredibly shrewd and business type.

That said, the time has gone where you might get money, but the path of likeability and appreciation is more uphill for a male cricketer.
The general opinion is cricketers are a bunch of misbehaved idiotic party animals and a cricketer has to do more than just playing to get a solid fanbase

Heck - even Sachin's popularity is faltering after retirement due to bad PR stunts and kaun hai yeh Kohli aur Pant

PS:
this is more of a rant derived from things that aren't related to cricket.
As Kohli showed it, you can be a Panauti even if you're scoring because people have turned their backs from you.

Sent from my CPH1609 using Tapatalk

Great essay 10/10 marks

@UrmiSinhaRay

You think too much.

Pant is just making his well deserved  debut . He has no big management pushing him.

At most he may have his delhi lobby behind him .

He is getting a chance.

If he does well....he will become a regular in the team or else he will be discarded for someone else. Just like every other cricketer without too much backing.

He got a name for himself because of his attacking game in ipl. Not because of people comparing him to dhoni.

Hope he goes on to become a good keeper bat for India and not another Dhoni.

We need a keeper to replace dhoni next year ( fingers crossed)  and Pant was the forerunner based on performance at every stage required.He was not pushed ahead of other better performing ones . He deserves the place based on his performance.

Now it is upto him to keep it by consistant performance or he will rightfully be replaced by the next in line.

Edited by beetle
2 hours ago, UrmiSinhaRay said:

I don't really follow him around or even care about him to the point of hating him but he gives off a very Arrogant, OTT type of vibes and someone who will take his initial fame too seriously in future.
Honestly doesn't come off to be a really likeable person either.

And to be frank - I never felt like this about him before IPL18 though I certainly thought he was being pushed too early but as I said - I really give nuts about who's who until they're able to win at any cost

I don't know this guy personally not have heard much about him but I don't think Pant is very introverted.
And he's not even the funny trainwreck types like Hardik Pandya and Shikhar Dhawan.

Pant reminds me off a young Kohli who might be hard working but always gave off the impressions that he overestimates his fame as a cricketer.

Ofcourse Kohli had a messier reputation and was a much bigger polarizing figure than this Pant.
But I always had a gut feeling Kohli will fail to retain fans once his purple patch is gone and won't be able to have an independent legacy like a Sachin or a Dhoni.

There will always be a time when public will eventually be tired of the existing peripheral trends and will demand more from a celebrity in terms of star power.
That's where Kohli faltered.
I guess his fame too much derived from him being a Cricketer , that Cricketers are gods and Cricket is a religion and Cricketers are immune from every type of hate because they play for the country and blah blah blah instead of him being an independent likeable persona beyond being a cricketer.
Also him being gently shoe horned as Sachin's replacement being the Nation's Man Crush and the entitlement that everybody has to like him as Sachin's successor.
He might be even better than Sachin, but the thing is people never saw him anything more than Sachin's gareeb replacement whom they have keep up with because they want to watch cricket and not because they independently like him.
That's why after that Kumble saga broke out and now the increasingly murky Anushka affair - people dropped Kohli like a domino and his public perception is going negative.

Yes - Indian cricket fans can be bitter and hypocritical while supporting their so called "Gods", and you can rarely people supporting a star who is doing all wrongs or who are clear in decline.
Even Sachin during his captaincy suffered from bad blood and Dhoni is currently gaining criticism.

That said - their general perceptions never suffered this bad.
There are loads of fans out there who still love Dhoni and majority who don't really follow Cricket by heart are still supporting Dhoni despite his bad performances.

That I don't really see with Kohli.
Instead there is a rise in Negative, malicious memes against him.
His general perception has gone Down to the dogs.
More so because he fought with Kumble - who is still liked by old cricket fans who doesn't really feel attached to Kohli despite his runs.

Though a lot of this is Kohli's doings - but I kind of blame his marketers for not letting people build an emotional connection with him that goes beyond cricket.
He was always seen as Sachin's substitute by most old fans - and these people don't always get attached to substitutes just because they were fans of their predecessors.

Similarly, Pant is being thrown as Dhoni's substitute.
Dhoni is famous around the PR and marketing Circles for having an army of psychotic fans and equally psychotic Marketing team.
I'm not denying his talent - but the way he's being pushed forward kind of harkened me back to Kohli's marketing agenda whose fame is now falling a pack of cards being given one slight push.

Being openly marketed In media as Dhoni's successor, being given the 777 jersey which kind of alludes of Dhoni's personal brand , pushing this idea into people's mind that Pant is bound to save the country like Dhoni did - it is only bringing in a bunch of expectations I don't think he deserves.
Neither it will give him Dhoni's real fanbase nor it will create a solid emotional connection between him and the public.

He'll always remain enclosed within the fickle minded Cricket Nerd viewerbase who write lengthy yet superficial analysis on social media .
At most , he can be like a Yuvi who is famous for his flamboyant style but forgotten after he started to falter.

A career, a fanbase he could've gotten if he started out as a normal wk-bat in a post Dhoni apocalyltical world is pretty much different from starting out as a Dhoni substitute.
And Dhoni's real secret of energy is the psychotic ones and not the universal ones like Sachin many of whom started to follow Kohli after Sachin's retirement.
Ofcourse a lot of Pant's Fate depends on how he conducts himself in public but he doesn't seem to be the low-key nice ones like Bhuvi or Rahane whom people like though they tend to slip under the radar nor a Rohit who is incredibly shrewd and business type.

That said, the time has gone where you might get money, but the path of likeability and appreciation is more uphill for a male cricketer.
The general opinion is cricketers are a bunch of misbehaved idiotic party animals and a cricketer has to do more than just playing to get a solid fanbase

Heck - even Sachin's popularity is faltering after retirement due to bad PR stunts and kaun hai yeh Kohli aur Pant

PS:
this is more of a rant derived from things that aren't related to cricket.
As Kohli showed it, you can be a Panauti even if you're scoring because people have turned their backs from you.

Huh.... 

@UrmiSinhaRayAs for his alleged arrogance...he is just a confident fun loving youngster who enjoys the usual trapping of youth.

He is sucessful and famous. 

He comes across as a respectful person calling all seniors bhaiya.

Unless you know him personally or know people around him.....it does not look like he is ott or abnoxious. Infact he comes across as a pretty pleasant person .

2 minutes ago, beetle said:

@UrmiSinhaRayAs for his alleged arrogance...he is just a confident fun loving youngster who enjoys the usual trapping of youth.

Unless you know him personally or know people around him.....it does not look like he is ott or abnoxious. Infact he comes across as a pretty pleasant person .

@UrmiSinhaRayis like one of those fat aunties jisse dusro le gulcharne udana bahot pasand hai :facepalm:

[mention=26024]UrmiSinhaRay[/mention]
You think too much.
Pant is just making his well deserved  debut . He has no big management pushing him.
At most he may have his delhi lobby behind him .

He is getting a chance.
If he does well....he will become a regular in the team or else he will be discarded for someone else. Just like every other cricketer without too much backing.
He got a name for himself because of his attacking game in ipl. Not because of people comparing him to dhoni.
Hope he goes on to become a good keeper bat for India and not another Dhoni.

You're not understanding my point
I'm not saying Pant is undeserving or like that.

I'm saying that he's being indirectly pushed as a Dhoni substitute to fill up the vacuum the Thalaiva will live post 19WC .
Dhoni is the biggest money maker and crowd puller of Indian Team - in fact bigger than Kohli.

Not a lot of people follow and analyse cricket matches like ICF ers-most people are casual fans who can't explain an LBW.

There is obvious attempts to make these people sell Pant as Dhoni's substitute .
Yes - I think too much, but I personally believe it is pre decided from before kis kis ko star banayenge aur kis kis ko nahin

Why do you think all these medias try to push Pant as Next Dhoni so much?
Not just his attacking game - there are sure other agendas.
Post -2011 , Kohli too was similarly marketed like this as Sachin substitute.

Funny enough, Kohli never gained the trust of Indians like Sachin gained .
Marketing players as next "Random old famous player" never works.
In fact, fans of those players tend to get alienated and never warm up to the replacements.

I always thought Indian organisations are dumb in marketing.
Manufactured superstars don't go a long .

2 hours ago, UrmiSinhaRay said:

I kind of predicted this Kohli debacle back in 2013 when they tried to pretend Kohli is the new Sachin

What debacle?

Kohli is doing great professionally and personally.

Doing great money wise....the highest paid.

At most he may lose the captaincy at some point which will be good for him .

He is already in the same league as sachin so the predictions about him becoming a great players turned out to be all true. Who knows, he may become better than sachin if he stays fit and plays long enough.

The kumble episode makes him look bad but then he always had a reputation of being brash and arrogant.

At most it is a dent on his attempt to manufacture a better image. It was not something that ruined his image...it was something completely in tune with his original image. 

He was never a good boy ....so no big heartbreaks.

Besides kumble just made it easy for him by his bad man management skills.

I don't really see that big a dent in his reputation. His attempt to put forward an image  which may not be true ,may fail but as long as he continues to play the way he does,he will remain the king.

Edited by beetle

[mention=26024]UrmiSinhaRay[/mention]As for his alleged arrogance...he is just a confident fun loving youngster who enjoys the usual trapping of youth.

Dude I understand your logic but the thing is that the way he's being pushed everywhere in media as a potential superstar reminded me of Kohli and Pant too appears to be of the dumb Famewhore type.
I made similar predictions for him and KL rahul/Hardik Pandya too and most of them came correct.
Look, obnxious arrogant people can actually be good In heart once you interact more with them and to be frank, Pant doesn't seem to be a bad person but he looks like the type who'll take Cricketers are god thing seriously.

Even Kohli appeared harmless in the beginning but now dekho kya Ho gaya.

10 minutes ago, UrmiSinhaRay said:

Why do you think all these medias try to push Pant as Next Dhoni so much?

Pant can't be blamed for that.

Pant is being projected by media because he has 'charisma'....he has the likebility appeal.

I had mentioned it a year back during ipl that Pant has the ' star appeal'.

He looks like a normal guy from a small town who has worked hard to gain success. He is a chubby stout guy with a likeable smile and a promise to be sucessful....some one people can relate to.

He has more saleability appeal than an Iyer or even a Prithvi ( right now).

The media needs a new face.

Blaming him  for what the media is doing is not fair to him.

He may turn abnoxious with success or he may stay grounded....that only time will tell....but right now he seems just fine.

3 hours ago, UrmiSinhaRay said:

I might sound Bitter but the thing is-This Pant dude gives off a very unlikeable OTT vibes about him.
He comes off as an obnoxious dude

There’s nothing obnoxious about Pant.

The only thing that I dislike about him is that he throws his bat at balls quite frequently and loses shape and... his off side game is still suspect, his is still a power game and not a timing game. Not necessarily a bad thing. But he needs to learn to get a new gear to his game if the match situation demands it.. and needs to continue to work on his off-side game.. Otherwise he seems very likeable and gives his 100% every time

Edited by bowl_out

What debacle?
Kohli is doing great professionally and personally.
Doing great money wise....the highest paid.
At most he may lose the captaincy at some point which will be good for him .

He is already in the same league as sachin so the predictions about him becoming a great players turned out to be all true. Who knows, he may become better than sachin if he stays fit and plays long enough.

The kumble episode makes him look bad but then he always had a reputation of being brash and arrogant.
At most it is a dent on his attempt to manufacture a better image. It was not something that ruined his image...it was something completely in tune with his original image. 
He was never a good boy ....so no big heartbreaks.
Besides kumble just made it easy for him by his bad man management skills.

I don't really see that big a dent in his reputation. His attempt to put forward an image  which may not be true ,may fail but as long as he continues to play the way he does,he will remain the king.

Dude his reputation is completely in dumps in general public who aren't big cricket fans and even if they appreciate him for his runs, they won't go Gaga for him.
Even if he breaks Sachin's all records, people won't care anymore.
Kohli is done and dusted in terms of public perception and positive legacy.
Him being a dedicated Husband and salesman of Wrogn isn't helping and though I know this is a paid trend, social media is full of taunts directed at Virushka and Kohli's off the field controversies like fight with Rohit and him being a beta male and let Anushka and his brother control his teams' daily affairs gain more noise than his centuries.

He won the Man of The Series prize in England a few days, but most people chose to ignore that to focus on bashing Kohli and Shastri on series loss

You have any idea about news trends?
The current inclination is to bash Kohli and not like him.

If you say that Kumble thing didn't ruin his image you must be kidding!!
I agree he used to be low key disliked for being brash and arrogant but the entire fiasco made him look like a delusional dictator with no regards for an experienced senior.
Uparse Kumble is one of those Cricketers who were actually revered by the Public and is part of the Golden Generation when Indians were so thirsty about a cricket victory.
No wonder people were so flabbergasted at Kohli for his lack of respect towards a senior.
The hate has crossed the threshold limit of recovery.

There is a difference between a dickhead douche and power-hungry dictator douche with an equally douche bag wife.
He's the latter.
Yes, people overlooked his bad behaviour because he was performing good - but disrespecting elders was a thing people can't forgive.

That was literally the beginning of the end.
Now nobody gives a **** about Kohli and eventually nobody will care if he's dropped mid tour over 1 bad match and replaced by somebody else.

Kohli is no longer the superstar he used to be in 2013-16 .
The inclination is towards disliking him, making fun of him etc.
His dictatorship makes it worse.
Maybe if he steps down from Captaincy and concentrates on being the Greatest Batsman ever, he can remedy his mistakes but I think power and captain tag is too dear for him.

There’s nothing obnoxious about Pant.
The only thing that I dislike about him is that he throws his bat at balls quite frequently and loses shape and... his off side game is still suspect, his is still a power game and not a timing game. Not necessarily a bad thing. But he needs to learn to get a new gear to his game if the match situation demands it.. and needs to continue to work on his off-side game.. Otherwise he seems very likeable and gives his 100% every time

Bhai I won't comment about his game because I found it completely okay but what I said is He seems to be another generic cricketer who is being a pigeonholed into being a superstar.
Superstars don't get made overnight- you need to put in extra efforts that's why SRK is over while Sallu's flop films too cross 100 crores

29 minutes ago, UrmiSinhaRay said:

Dude I understand your logic but the thing is that the way he's being pushed everywhere in media as a potential superstar reminded me of Kohli and Pant too appears to be of the dumb Famewhore type.
I made similar predictions for him and KL rahul/Hardik Pandya too and most of them came correct.
Look, obnxious arrogant people can actually be good In heart once you interact more with them and to be frank, Pant doesn't seem to be a bad person but he looks like the type who'll take Cricketers are god thing seriously.

Even Kohli appeared harmless in the beginning but now dekho kya Ho gaya.

Virat was telling in an interview that pant was sledging him behind the wicket. He turned back and asked him "What are you doing ? Atleast bowler has to believe that He can get me out" :giggle:

8 minutes ago, UrmiSinhaRay said:

Bhai I won't comment about his game because I found it completely okay but what I said is He seems to be another generic cricketer who is being a pigeonholed into being a superstar.
Superstars don't get made overnight- you need to put in extra efforts that's why SRK is over while Sallu's flop films too cross 100 crores

Yeah, agree. But I feel that more about Shaw than Pant. 

Shaw has done well against WI on flat pattas.. I wouldn’t hype him yet till I see his batting against SENA teams 

5 minutes ago, UrmiSinhaRay said:

What is your idea of stardom?

Srk is done?

He has ruled for years and years....he is not a superstar?

Kohli is the top most cricketer....in the forbes list as one of the highest paid in the world.He is not a superstar?

So only sachin , dhoni and salman are superstars and because all else are not upto their level...they are nothing?

Srk has done well for himself. Made a name...I can't stand him but he is a super duper star. Everyone fades with time.

Can't stand kohli without his bat in hand but he is a super duper star...the shiniest one around.