2 years after Sri Lanka players vomitted, Bangladesh set to face 'baptism by air' in Delhi

G_B_

As Delhi is all set to host the 1st T20I of the upcoming 3-match series between India and Bangladesh, it is clear that not much has changed in the Indian cricket establishment as far as dealing with growing concerns regarding hosting of matches in heavily-polluted cities like the nation's capital.

https://www.indiatoday.in/sports/cricket/story/india-vs-bangladesh-1st-t20i-new-delhi-feroz-shah-kotla-air-pollution-sourav-ganguly-bcci-sri-lanka-mask-1614680-2019-11-01

1 hour ago, Trichromatic said:

Why are they hell bent on hosting it there? 

Because of rotational policy & Delhi being the capital of the country with DDCA consisting of many heavyweights it's not easy to snatch away hosting rights from Ferozeshah Kotla.

4 minutes ago, Rightarmfast said:

There should be a match in Bangalore too. Been a while they hosted matches here. Our weather is perfect.

The last t20 match India played was in Bengaluru against SA.

11 minutes ago, Turning_track said:

Because of rotational policy & Delhi being the capital of the country with DDCA consisting of many heavyweights it's not easy to snatch away hosting rights from Ferozeshah Kotla.

Its very easy, but BCCI babus were too busy counting dollars to apply common sense.

It is really really bad today....

Looks like farmers are burning the stubble all around the capital.

It is reallllly bad. 

Never felt such horrible itching in the throat.

Idiot Kejriwal is starting his odd even tamasha....when the real problem is stubble burning.

Faltu mein logon ko tang karta hai yeh.:wp40:

Edited by beetle
46 minutes ago, Turning_track said:

The last t20 match India played was in Bengaluru against SA.

really? I dont even know coz I only watch test matches. I want a test match to be hosted. 

17 minutes ago, Rightarmfast said:

really? I dont even know coz I only watch test matches. I want a test match to be hosted. 

Yes I too love test matches, I missed attending the 1st day of IndVsSA test match in 2015 at Chinnaswamy. Was hoping to watch the next few days, then it was a complete washout. :((

3 minutes ago, Turning_track said:

Yes I too love test matches, I missed attending the 1st day of IndVsSA test match in 2015 at Chinnaswamy. Was hoping to watch the next few days, then it was a complete washout. :((

I think the same happened to me. I had planned to go on a saturday but that was not to happen!

45 minutes ago, Turning_track said:

Bro, are you in banglaore? We should catch up. Velu and me meet at times. What do you say?

3 minutes ago, Rightarmfast said:

Bro, are you in banglaore? We should catch up. Velu and me meet at times. What do you say?

I wish I could have joined you guys but I left Bengaluru a few years back.

1 hour ago, WC2011INDIA said:

Delhi is a **** hole now. Useless city. Only infrastructure and metro doesn't make one a metropolitan city. 

It is seasonal when  farmers burn crop stubble. Otherwise it is fine.

18 minutes ago, beetle said:

It is seasonal when  farmers burn crop stubble. Otherwise it is fine.

Also lack of rain in early winters doesn't help. There is rain possible on 7-8 that will clear up the pollutants. 

This month super cyclone Kyar in the Arabian sea just after Diwali has also affected pollution level. It stuck in the lower atmosphere due to moist air.  It may come down tomorrow as wind speed and direction change.

Edited by rkt.india

When India and China are so screwed up with the polution levels, it hard to refute claims from climate change deniers that USA or Western Europe instituting policies reducing greenhouse gas emissions will do very little. After all, unlike humans, the environment does not belong to one country. This is slowly poisoning the environment. 

When living in India, I never heard of such pollution levels. USA and Western Europe also does agriculture. I have never heard of buring crops after fall. Why Da Fuq does it happen in Punjab/Haryana?

10 hours ago, Rightarmfast said:

There should be a match in Bangalore too. Been a while they hosted matches here. Our weather is perfect.

Bengaluru hosted a test against Aus in 2017, then the inaugural Afghanistan test a year later.

IIRC last time Mumbai and Chennai hosted test cricket was in 2016 Eng series. I don't understand this rotation system. 

6 hours ago, Audiophile said:

When India and China are so screwed up with the polution levels, it hard to refute claims from climate change deniers that USA or Western Europe instituting policies reducing greenhouse gas emissions will do very little. After all, unlike humans, the environment does not belong to one country. This is slowly poisoning the environment. 

When living in India, I never heard of such pollution levels. USA and Western Europe also does agriculture. I have never heard of buring crops after fall. Why Da Fuq does it happen in Punjab/Haryana?

I've never seen it this bad in Delhi the last 2 days.  Ever.  

It's like breathing dust.  God knows how they're going to play a match,  I can't even walk for 5 minutes outside.

I believe they burn crops because to uproot the old season plants take time and effort.  They just burn it with the additional advantage of having readymade fertiliser.

Of course the rest of us get f***ed, 

2 minutes ago, NameGoesHere said:

I've never seen it this bad in Delhi the last 2 days.  Ever.  

It's like breathing dust.  God knows how they're going to play a match,  I can't even walk for 5 minutes outside.

I believe they burn crops because to uproot the old season plants take time and effort.  They just burn it with the additional advantage of having readymade fertiliser.

Of course the rest of us get f***ed, 

It happened because of Western disturbence and cyclones in Arabian sea sending moist air.  So, pollutants stayed in the lower atmosphere. But soon, it will clear up to some extent.