Why does subcontinent always produce these type of slow, boring pitches ?

kubrickian

2 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

So you are now justifying their pitch doctoring. Great. Carry on your blind cheerleading

Do you really think they need to doctor pitches ? Unlike you I try to reason and logic. Having homefield advatage is not called pitch doctoring.

People on this forum have memories of goldfish. They literally only remember the most recent series.. in fact they don't even remember the series, they just remember the most recent match they saw and start spouting absolute nonsense. Hurr durr why isn't every match exact repeat of the last match I saw

Have any of you guys watched sydney match in last series? It ended in draw and Aussie bowlers complained that the pitch was so flat even on day 5.. ICC gave it average rating. Now which part of sub continent is sydney in? In contrast, Galle pitch was turning square on day 1! Here the match didn't even go to day 2 and people are already crying about muh sub-continental pitches, muh bcci pitch doctoring. 

Its good that some of you guys started following test cricket last month, if you stick around you will find out that most test matches will not be the repeat of the Gabba match or Headingly match. If you compare every match with the classics then every sport will have 90% boring matches. Thats how it works in non scripted events

Edited by Serpico
1 hour ago, Tattieboy said:

Learn the meaning of fearful .. 

In this case it was meant as causing anxiety and plenty as a captain makes Kohli anxious .

Also I didn't say Indian batsmen were in fear but mentally thinking what Archer has done in the IPL .

3 hours ago, Tattieboy said:

Because Joffra Archer scares the sh*t out of Indian batsmen because if his IPL exploits. Kohli would rather forgo his trump card pacemen and hope for spinners to shine than risk Archer running through top order , especially first test ..... It's his mentality he doesn't trust any of his players ever always thinking worst scenario 

Fearful of Jofra :giggle:  Have you seen him in the recent west indies and Pakistan series? roston chase and jermaine blackwood pwned him, why would any Indian batsman be anxious about him, especially at home. Don't even bring up the IPL exploits, Rabada and Nortje both had much better IPL than Jofra and we saw what happened to them in their recent Indian tour

4 hours ago, express bowling said:

I don't think Indian batsmen are scared of Archer in test matches. 

After the Australia tour, Indians are not scared of any bowler.  FFS, Cummins, Hazlewood and Starc are probably still seeing Pujara, Gill and Pant in their nightmares, and waking up in a cold sweat when this appears:  

Image result for thakur sholay

1 hour ago, Serpico said:

People on this forum have memories of goldfish. They literally only remember the most recent series.. in fact they don't even remember the series, they just remember the most recent match they saw and start spouting absolute nonsense. Hurr durr why isn't every match exact repeat of the last match I saw

Have any of you guys watched sydney match in last series? It ended in draw and Aussie bowlers complained that the pitch was so flat even on day 5.. ICC gave it average rating. Now which part of sub continent is sydney in? In contrast, Galle pitch was turning square on day 1! Here the match didn't even go to day 2 and people are already crying about muh sub-continental pitches, muh bcci pitch doctoring. 

Its good that some of you guys started following test cricket last month, if you stick around you will find out that most test matches will not be the repeat of the Gabba match or Headingly match. If you compare every match with the classics then every sport will have 90% boring matches. Thats how it works in non scripted events

We literally remember only the last ball they played.  For now, we remember Pant's winning shot in Brisbane.  What a glorious ATG ... mandir banaao!!  Let him come out to bat - first ball, goes for a drive and miss - kyaa hai yaar, useless fellow, khelnaa nahin aata ... sifaarish candidate hoga!      

3 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

After the Australia tour, Indians are not scared of any bowler.  FFS, Cummins, Hazlewood and Starc are probably still seeing Pujara, Gill and Pant in their nightmares, and waking up in a cold sweat when this appears:  

Image result for thakur sholay

After Gill played his first test innings at the MCG, he was asked in an interview how it felt facing Cummins and Co. on a fast bouncy track ?  ( The interviewer probably expected a " it was tough facing these quality quicks " type of reply )

Gill replied calmly and with all sincerity that he missed out on a lot of opportunities to hit 4s and 6s. There were hit-able deliveries that he could not utilize. And he used this mindset to win us the 4th test while spanking Starc and Co.

Most Indian cricketers these days are totally fearless and super confident. They have a sense of entitlement that they should be the best. And I love this attitude. And we are seeing this in all walks of life in New Age India now.

I think most Indian batters are looking to spank Archer as he is still an inexperienced test bowler who can be made to err in line and length if put under pressure. 

But seriously though what was tn cricket association thinking?

Based on the cricinfo article this guy has 0 expirience.  

I think he was super cautious and created something that would last 5 days. 

5 hours ago, Serpico said:

Have any of you guys watched sydney match in last series? It ended in draw and Aussie bowlers complained that the pitch was so flat even on day 5.. ICC gave it average rating. Now which part of sub continent is sydney in?

The pitch at Sydney was poor and boring for test cricket. It was sluggish with low bounce. That the match ended in excitement had more to do with Pant, Pujara, Ash and Vihari putting up a dogged fight.

The thing is ... most test match pitches in India are rather good these days. Good bowlers can pick up wickets while good batsmen can score too. So, expectations will be there.

No one likes boring draws.  ( Which is very rare in India these days )

If  140 k deliveries by Bumrah do not carry to the keeper on day 1 then the pitch can't be called good on that day. Let's see if it becomes better later on.

A bit of bounce in warranted on every pitch ... be it Indian or foreign.

15 minutes ago, express bowling said:

After Gill played his first test innings at the MCG, he was asked in an interview how it felt facing Cummins and Co. on a fast bouncy track ?  ( The interviewer probably expected a " it was tough facing these quality quicks " type of reply )

Gill replied calmly and with all sincerity that he missed out on a lot of opportunities to hit 4s and 6s. There were hit-able deliveries that he could not utilize. And he used this mindset to win us the 4th test while spanking Starc and Co.

Most Indian cricketers these days are totally fearless and super confident. They have a sense of entitlement that they should be the best. And I love this attitude. And we are seeing this in all walks of life in New Age India now.

I think most Indian batters are looking to spank Archer as he is still an inexperienced test bowler who can be made to err in line and length if put under pressure. 

Well said. 

5 hours ago, Serpico said:

Are you suggesting India's win in brisbane was scripted? Just curious. 

11 hours ago, express bowling said:

We have produced some exciting test match pitches in the last 4 years.

But this pitch on day 1 is one of the worst test match pitches I have seen in my life.

cricinfo fellows wrote an article on him as if he is the best curator going around:wall:

Our pitches have been very result oriented since the past few years.

Not sure why TNCA had to go with a brand new curator. It would have been ok, if he had prepared some domestic Ranji pitches to gain experience. But the pandemic put paid to that.

2 hours ago, Jay said:

Are you suggesting India's win in brisbane was scripted? Just curious. 

No I said we may not see a 350+ chase for a while. This match will be mostly innings win/ sub 100 chase and that is fine