Smell of fish and sea weed  is repulsive . I have lived in a boat home for a week, not much to do other than look at same scene everyday. Comparatively, walking about in nature gives more freedom 
Smell of fish and seaweed is amazing :)
4 hours ago, Mariyam said:

The real problem with all these places is there are tons and tons of insects around.

In the evenings if you were to switch on the lights, a gazillion moths/I don't know what would swarm around it. Can't really read a book under the light if every two minutes an insect keeps falling on your shoulder.

There are also other issues like frogs in the garden and lizards. Ewwwww.

Piddi ka shorba in real life,  if you aren't careful.

This kind of stuff looks good on post cards or at best for a few days. Mainly during the day.

Not as a retirement home.

You have to make friends with the insects and other beings if you want to enjoy these place. 

Definetely not for the faint hearted.

We get spiders the size of a palm walking around in the bedroom in the village. The variety of insects is  amazing .Hundreds of them specially during monsoons. 

Not to forget the birds. You don't need an alarm.

Edited by beetle
2 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

Smell of fish and sea weed  is repulsive . I have lived in a boat home for a week, not much to do other than look at same scene everyday. Comparatively, walking about in nature gives more freedom 

The first time was near the sea.

.I was repulsed. But that smell grows on you over time. I love the smell of salty sea and seaweeds.

It is as good as the smell of the forest .

33 minutes ago, beetle said:

We get spiders the size of a palm walking around in the bedroom in the village. The variety of insects is  amazing .Hundreds of them specially during monsoons.

No thanks :((

40 minutes ago, Yoda-esque said:
3 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

Smell of fish and seaweed is amazing :)

To each his own. This is like one country’s terrorist is another’s freedom fighter.

8 hours ago, ravishingravi said:

One of the things I could ever understand in my life was the term “retirement ». It such a western concept that we have lapped up without thinking it through. 

Why ... ? Vanaprasthashram is equivalent to retirement once one has completed his obligations, though you could say that it was spiritual in nature but the western concept is more materialistic

3 minutes ago, diga said:

Why ... ? Vanaprasthashram is equivalent to retirement once one has completed his obligations, though you could say that it was spiritual in nature but the western concept is more materialistic

Exactly. It is a householders life cycle. But it’s not retirement. It’s giving up. Retirement is more of a job life cycle. 

Retirement for me is more about giving up current lifestyle and be atma nirbhar with savings, have to be minimalist. That is the very basis of vanaprasthashram, nothing eastern or western about it. Have to make sure you are not dependent on your kids

On 5/29/2021 at 4:17 PM, kepler37b said:

Retire at 40.

Settle down in a small town near Hyderabad.

Do some occasional gigs to keep myself occupied.

Meditate for 2 hours a day. Live a very basic lifestyle and maintain rich set of relations and friends. 

Good. Although I have trouble convincing Older people about possibility of retiring at 40-45. For them retirement age is 58-60

36 minutes ago, velu said:

driving at 100 in a wet road like this is too risky .. 

Curved-mirrors-on-the-Sigur-Ghat-show-on

Its fine. 

Controlled access expressway travel makes it okay to travel around 120-130.

70-100 kph even in wet conditions felt modest. 

Edited by Autonomous
On 5/30/2021 at 1:15 AM, vayuu1 said:

Mount Kailash, and nothing comes close,being a devotee of lord Shiva,my wish is to die here,hope in my life time the abode of shiva merges in india,bas aur koi ichcha nahi hai dcc17113d413c2e12ceb785f9e776168.jpg

Sent from my Redmi 4A using Tapatalk

Har har Mahadev.

One of my life goals was to go to Kailash Nath. And take a dip in Lake Manasarovar.

Was on track to do it. But than COVID happened.

Massive Mahadev bhakt. I have a large tattoo of the Trishul, Dumroo and the Mrityunjaya Mantra my right arm, stretching from my right shoulder to right elbow.

It was the right thing to do. At that point, I was spending a lot of time in the Himalayas (photos of which are on this forum). We took prayer flags when we went climbing, if we were blessed with the good fortune of summitting, we would leave prayer flags on the peak.

3 hours ago, Autonomous said:

FYI. 

Screenshot_20210531-114459_Gallery.jpg

FB_IMG_1622443481906.jpg

It looks good.

Pakistani is definitely one of the countries I would like to visit and have a long road trip from one end to another as it surprises me how similar it is to India whenever I see some of the cities in videos. You feel like you are in Lucknow or Old Delhi.

As of now though it is not safe for Indians and getting tourist visa is difficult.

Edited by Number
1 hour ago, Number said:

It looks good.

Pakistani is definitely one of the countries I would like to visit and have a long road trip from one end to another as it surprises me how similar it is to India whenever I see some of the cities in videos. You feel like you are in Lucknow or Old Delhi.

As of now though it is not safe for Indians and getting tourist visa is difficult.

E35 Expressway is very beautiful, first three pictures are from my solo tour in december last year. 

Last picture is from Monal, Islamabad 

Good thing is that you can travel from Sukkur (Sindh) till north Mansehra/Swat Valley (KPK) using controlled access motorways. 

I will be travelling to the china border (khunjerab pass) via babusar top this year. The hairpinned babusar top road @4k meters+ is just epic

Screenshot_20210531-165807_Gallery.jpg

Screenshot_20210531-165740_Gallery.jpg

Screenshot_20210531-165826_Gallery.jpg

Screenshot_20210531-165905_Gallery.jpg

I think after the film vertical limit, I wanted to trek across K-2 & Karakorum range  someday.. Lets see if I atleast do NandaDevi 

Edited by diga
4 minutes ago, diga said:

I think after the film vertical limit, I wanted to trek across K-2 & Karakorum range  someday.. Lets see if I atleast do NandaDevi 

I think going to k2 basecamp concordia is managable.