Tokyo 2020 Paralympics: Record 19 medals thus far!!!! Amazing

1 minute ago, Lone Wolf said:

Absolute bonkers...  Like there is any need for that.  That's classic case of wasting invaluable resources in a developing country. 

Make some facilities that are rare & would be useful like for events like Artistic swimming & stuff.   Advanced shooting ranges..  Archery fields.  How are we able to produce quality sportsmen if we don't give them proper infrastructure?   How would have we produced quality cricketers if we didn't even had proper venues to play with? 

Simple logic eludes the folks running things in the country. 

or maybe they dont want india to develop in sports? even in cricket many players get filtered out even if they deserve to be part of the team on merit alone. Its all about money in the end. india is corrupt. I think our best bet is to improve our infrastructure for football. There is potential for earning an exorbitant amount of revenue if india develops their football system. Will probably take another 10 - 15 years though. 

1 minute ago, LordPrabhzy said:

All the infrastructure that was made for the 2010 CWG is now in dilapidated state...

Pretty everything can be still salvaged even if a portion of money is spent that is being wasted on useless cricket stadiums & we already have 30-40 cricket venues to host cricket games. 

6 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

When Pro HIL means India wins a WC or an Olympic medal.. then we will talk ok.. till then nothing has changed. 

Lol. Once again

HIL is Hockey India League (now dead)

What we are talking about is FIH Pro League 

Just now, Jay said:

or maybe they dont want india to develop in sports? even in cricket many players get filtered out even if they deserve to be part of the team on merit alone. Its all about money in the end. india is corrupt. I think our best bet is to improve our infrastructure for football. There is potential for earning an exorbitant amount of revenue if india develops their football system. Will probably take another 10 - 15 years though. 

Everything can be achieved if only intentions are right & there is proper vision for that.  Sadly those who are tasked with such things don't make a good effort.  Kids will only get attracted towards sports if they knew there are resources in the country that would ultimately help them. 

Like the case with Cricket today. 

4 minutes ago, neel roy said:

you all dont get it. Dont they know we dont need stadiums. They very well know it. But if you build a stadium you spend 2000 crores and out of these 80 perc are on tenders. And these ministers give these tenders to their near and dear ones and also to the one who ll fill their pockets. Its the easiest and safest way to get rich as they even pay tax on the tender revenue they generate. Its an artificial way of creating a unwarranted need( stadium) and profiting from it. Simple

Then surely these huge stadiums can be built not just for Cricket but other sports as well? For example in the land alloted to RCA for building the third largest (seating capacity wise) stadium in the world, some seating capacity can be sacrificed in favour of a shouting gallery/archery range

On 7/24/2021 at 1:30 PM, Gollum said:

Ind-NZ review

Happy that we beat our bogey side after going 0-1 down so early (them and Malaysians are inferior yet make us suffer, hence bogey)

Sreejesh superb (MOTM), defence was clutch 

Rubbish camera footage for referrals, will eventually lead to something controversial in a big game

Liked the fitness on a hot, humid day...maintained good pace throughout

Ball trapping must improve (aerially ok, fine)..maybe rust/nerves

Lost structure in 4th Q

Good job by drag flickers

Wingers unable to penetrate via angles (as in running), won't score too many field goals..can't believe they didn't pick SV Sunil in the squad

Forward line was shockingly bad, inexperience clearly showing, so many counterattacks leading to 2 on 2s, 1 on 1s fizzled out.  What's the use of circle penetrations with such forwards? Already missing Akashdeep Singh, a bit selfish but an opportunistic scorer, also gets crazy deflections. 

Overslept and missed Q1

Q2 we mentally checked out in a 5 min period and you can never do that against a side like Aus

Q3 we were the better side but abysmal conversion by the inexperienced forward line, should have scored at least 3

Q4 we were flat

Everything that could go wrong went wrong. Australia does this to even better sides than us, they are #1, gold medal favorites, after this match rest of the pool stage will be easy so that's a positive. And we won't meet these monsters in QF, even SF probably if we reach that stage. Hope some other team takes them out.

We had more circle penetrations than Aus despite 1-7 scoreline, meaning this result won't repeat should we face them again. But but but very disappointed with our team selection and forwards. Badly missing Akashdeep Singh. 

Just now, QuarantineTormentino said:

Then surely these huge stadiums can be built not just for Cricket but other sports as well? For example in the land alloted to RCA for building the third largest (seating capacity wise) stadium in the world, some seating capacity can be sacrificed in favour of a shouting gallery/archery range

No thats the issue. In India sports bodies although are governed by law of land they are independent bodies like BCCI, Rifle federation of india, indian boxing association, AIFF etc ( as per olympics charter these bodies should be free from national interferences and if not your registration will be cancelled and you cannot participate in olympics. It happened with boxing where india participated without a flag two years ago) So the government cannot place a dictat that the stadium has to be shared. Two independent bodies need to agree unless its a national event. For eg salt lake stadium is basically for football but it hosts track and field events during national games.. there is actually no solidarity between National sports bodies nor any MOU which will help them share resources..

4 minutes ago, neel roy said:

No thats the issue. In India sports bodies although are governed by law of land they are independent bodies like BCCI, Rifle federation of india, indian boxing association, AIFF etc ( as per olympics charter these bodies should be free from national interferences and if not your registration will be cancelled and you cannot participate in olympics. It happened with boxing where india participated without a flag two years ago) So the government cannot place a dictat that the stadium has to be shared. Two independent bodies need to agree unless its a national event. For eg salt lake stadium is basically for football but it hosts track and field events during national games.. there is actually no solidarity between National sports bodies nor any MOU which will help them share resources..

But BCCI is now under ministry of sports right? Surely they can influence BCCI who in turn can order the state Cricket associations to partner with other sporting academies?

8 minutes ago, Gollum said:

. Badly missing Akashdeep

:(. A player is selfish because he wants to win laurels for himself. But by winning laurels for himself it also adds to a country’s performance. Its a catch 22 situation. Ronaldo is a selfish player but portugal wouldn’t dare drop him because the goals he scores.. 

2 minutes ago, QuarantineTormentino said:

But BCCI is now under ministry of sports right? Surely they can influence BCCI who in turn can order the state Cricket associations to partner with other sporting academies?

No its governed by the sports law not under ministry. They ll never come under ministry as it ll have to be then audited under CAG which they ll never let. They are and will remain an independent body 

Aussies employ man to man marking with forward press all the time. Only Germany plays that game, but not as good as Aus. Physically very demanding, intensive, intimidating. They don't mind counterattacks, always looking to score, never rest on their lead like other top sides. Match-up disadvantage for us, only side that can crush us like we saw today (Belgium can do to a lesser extent). Also a mental edge, our boys never get intimidated playing the Dutch for instance. 

But have faith in the boys, we outplayed these Aussies in 2016 and 2018 CT finals, lost in shoot-out, better team on both those instances and even Charlesworth said so. 

We have match-up advantage against Arg, better team than Spain, different level compared to Japan. No reason we can't finish #2 in our group. Got our customary stinker out of the way, onwards and upwards. 

Ignore these seasonal hockey fans, who tune in once in 4 years and spout their gyan. Imagine comparing this team to the early 2010s walleh teams. Arg won gold in Rio, no reason we can't do the same....and these same #1 Aussies have developed a choking problem in KOs the last few years. For all we know path may become clearer in the KOs as it was in Rio for Arg. In fact Arg going deep is good for us, they can take out teams like Aus, Bel more often than you can imagine. 

50 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

If it were up to me I would massively cut all the resources that are being spent to cricket in India..  Building cricket stadiums & stuff when we already have plenty is pretty useless imo. 

Divert almost 50% of that into other sports.  We are anyways not winning sh** in Cricket so for few years might as well use these vast resources elsewhere. 

Indian cricket is at such stage that it won't effect us in any major way. 

That's BCCI money and sports isn't just about money. It's about creating a culture in society from ground level, in schools.

46 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

We have beaten nearly every single top team in last 2 years under coach Graham Reid. Beat Netherlands and Belgium in 2020 in FIH Pro league (new version of Champions Trophy). Beat Germany in a test series before pandemic (pro-league matches were postponed).

We are no. 4 in world now and most likely will not win a medal but it's amusing to see seasonal hockey fans going ballistic against the team.

Important thing to consider is. Whether those teams played in their best players in those games. If yes then sure it's an achievement to beat Netherlands, Germany etc.

42 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Absolute bonkers...  Like there is any need for that.  That's classic case of wasting invaluable resources in a developing country. 

Make some facilities that are rare & would be useful like for events like Artistic swimming & stuff.   Advanced shooting ranges..  Archery fields.  How are we able to produce quality sportsmen if we don't give them proper infrastructure?   How would have we produced quality cricketers if we didn't even had proper venues to play with? 

Simple logic eludes the folks running things in the country. 

BCCI isn't running things in the country.

5 hours ago, G_B_ said:

@Gollum

One thing i dont understand is, why such a deviation from performance in shooting in commonwealth games asian games and olympics.

While not the same degree of pressure these performances (apart from Chaudhary who topped qualifying) are abysmal.

There is no crowd at these games. Equivalent to most world championships

Bhai we can't take CWG results seriously.....with Aus, Eng, NZ, Can, RSA sending their 2nd and 3rd string athletes. They take WCships more seriously than CWG, even regular season. CWG is glorified exhibition taken seriously only by countries which have accomplished very little on the big stage. We must use CWG only for juniors to gain exposure, not for seniors to stat pad. And FGS stop doling out national honours like candy to CWG winners, bar is set too low that way. 

Asian Games sees better competition but even there the heavyweights send their best sportspersons only in a few disciplines (like badminton). Still we don't do that well in Asian Games.

Olympics is a different ball game....if Commonwealth countries don't get you the East Asians, Iranians, Central Asians will. If they too don't get you, the best of Europe, South America, Turkey, Russia, USA etc. will. No respite. 

Applies to all sports, including shooting. 

Most of the pressure at that level is internalized. External pressure, crowd pressure play a smaller part. 

10 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Bhai we can't take CWG results seriously.....with Aus, Eng, NZ, Can, RSA sending their 2nd and 3rd string athletes. They take WCships more seriously than CWG, even regular season. CWG is glorified exhibition taken seriously only by countries which have accomplished very little on the big stage. We must use CWG only for juniors to gain exposure, not for seniors to stat pad. And FGS stop doling out national honours like candy to CWG winners, bar is set too low that way. 

Asian Games sees better competition but even there the heavyweights send their best sportspersons only in a few disciplines (like badminton). Still we don't do that well in Asian Games.

Olympics is a different ball game....if Commonwealth countries don't get you the East Asians, Iranians, Central Asians will. If they too don't get you, the best of Europe, South America, Turkey, Russia, USA etc. will. No respite. 

Applies to all sports, including shooting. 

Most of the pressure at that level is internalized. External pressure, crowd pressure play a smaller part. 

yes exactly. India wins more medals in CWG in shooting and in weightlifting than children eat candies on a halloween night. Issue is the participation of strong countries which makes it difficult in olympics. Hell not even a single male qualified in weightlifting from india in Olympics.