Bevda vs Jam

Who do you think is good? Under Dravid already saw first series victory, youngsters given chances, 5 debutants, much more involved coach, messages been sent out, humble attitude of players. No sucking upto to Captain, No bowing down to demands. Can Rahul Dravid replace Bevda as a coach of our Big Boys ?

15 minutes ago, Serpico said:

its easier to manage young players. we don't know how rahul will handle the prima donnas, does he even want to? 

Well, if offered I don't think it's the one he can refuse. But I can't imagine him pairing up with Lulli, of all the Captains.

Edited by Sean Bradley
13 minutes ago, Real McCoy said:

Jam- mere paas accomplishments hai, coaching a teams to success, batting techinque hai, etc. tumhare paas kya hai

Bevda - mere paas bottle opener hai. ulaalaleyo ulalalaleyo

More like "Mere Paas Lulli Hai", which I keep sucking on to save my job. 

I will give Shastri the BOTD simply based on the last 3 tests in Australia and how the team rallied with him as the coach.  I don't think he is the problem, per se.  

In cricket, unlike most other sports, the captain (and not the coach) is the power-center.  Even the concept of a coach is maybe 3 decades old, so unless something very disruptive happens, a coach can only do so much.  

1 hour ago, Sean Bradley said:

Who do you think is good? Under Dravid already saw first series victory, youngsters given chances, 5 debutants, much more involved coach, messages been sent out, humble attitude of players. No sucking upto to Captain, No bowing down to demands. Can Rahul Dravid replace Bevda as a coach of our Big Boys ?

Edited by CodeOfWisden

Few years back Dravid himself said something like he will not consider coaching until the current group of seniors who were part of team from 2011 are out of the team. Of course, he did not say it as stupidly I put it. I think he would have preferred to keep his dignity intact after what happened to Kumble.

17 hours ago, maniac said:

Rahul Dravid will silently and “gentlemanly” resign and go back to Bangalore when he has to deal with Kohli’s tantrums. Doing a stellar job with junior players, give him a life time position there.

In addition, he should be assigned a position to spot leadership potential in junior players and should be instructed to groom them properly so that we don't have the situation right now with kohli. Dravid was a great captain who led from the front and emphasized the importance of youth and performance over personal preference. Dhoni would have learnt a lot about leadership from him.

Kohli picks Ishant all the time because he is his friend even though there are plenty of bowlers now who are in their prime years. In the WTC, Siraj would have been a better choice. Dravid also didn't behave like a sarkari babu around his team mates. I still cannot fathom how Anushka got into the Indian team photo.