vvvslaxman Posted December 29, 2022 Posted December 29, 2022 https://www.hindustantimes.com/cricket/virat-kohli-doesn-t-need-nightwatchman-do-you-need-ravichandran-ashwin-reveals-rishabh-pant-s-epic-reply-during-run-chase-in-2nd-ind-ban-test-101672222389558.html 'Virat doesn't need nightwatchman. Do you need?': Ashwin reveals Pant's epic reply during run-chase in 2nd IND-BAN Test Cricket Updated on Dec 28, 2022 05:15 PM IST Team India had registered a dramatic win in the second and final Test of the series against Bangladesh. Chasing a 145-run target, India were left reeling at 74/7 before Ravichandran Ashwin (42*) and Shreyas Iyer (29*) eventually steered the visitors to a three-wicket win in Dhaka. India had endured a poor start to the innings as they lost four wickets during the final session of Day 3 of the Test – all of the side's top-4 batters in KL Rahul, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, and Virat Kohli lost their wickets early in the innings. The Indian team management had promoted Axar Patel at no.4 spot, seemingly to introduce a left-right combination after the early wickets of KL Rahul and Cheteshwar Pujara. Following Gill's departure, Kohli emerged from the dugout but failed to see out the day. The star India batter fell on 1, prompting India to send a nightwatchman in Jaydev Unadkat. Ashwin has now revealed the dressing room conversation during the tense moments in the early minutes of India's second innings; the side's batting coach Vikram Rathour took turns to ask the batters if they needed a nightwatchman. While Kohli denied, Rishabh Pant had a hilarious answer which left Ashwin in splits. “Vikram Paaji asked Kohli whether he needed a night watchman. Kohli said that he will take care and didn't need a night watchman. Rishabh Pant will usually keep the towel on top of his head and will lie down on the table. I don't know the exact reason for him doing that,” Ashwin began the story on his official YouTube channel. “Vikram Rathour asked 'Virat said he didn't need a night watchman. Do you need?". (Pant replied) ‘I need watchmen throughout the night. I will go and play tomorrow’. “I couldn't stop laughing when he said that casually. When I was extremely nervous, there he was relaxed and cracking a joke,” Ashwin said. The Indian off-spinner later said, "Rathour Bhai was like, "We have only Jaydev Unadkat left. Who else should we send?" Pant was like, “Send Ash Bhai, or send whoever you want. I will go bat tomorrow.”
vvvslaxman Posted December 29, 2022 Author Posted December 29, 2022 Kohli played as a night watchman for himself lol putrevus 1
Vijy Posted December 29, 2022 Posted December 29, 2022 1 hour ago, vvvslaxman said: Kohli played as a night watchman for himself lol would have been better to even send umesh ahead of him vvvslaxman 1
nevada Posted December 29, 2022 Posted December 29, 2022 1 hour ago, sarchasm said: Vikram Rathore is just another pig suckling at the teat of BCCI This guy getting a second term as batting coach is a joke!
Vijy Posted December 29, 2022 Posted December 29, 2022 8 minutes ago, nevada said: This guy getting a second term as batting coach is a joke! some people have zero accountability nitinbwj 1
DeepSpace Posted December 29, 2022 Posted December 29, 2022 How the phuck is a failed batsman named Hathora going to advise/coach cricketers in the national team???? nitinbwj and Vijy 1 1
Clarke Posted December 29, 2022 Posted December 29, 2022 Visibly annoyed at having to carry the batting burden of the team so often in tests despite being a WK
Pollack Posted December 29, 2022 Posted December 29, 2022 Vikram : Do yo need a night watchman, Kohli? Kohli: I am the night watchman, Sir. sage, Vijy, vvvslaxman and 4 others 1 6
wanted_desi Posted December 29, 2022 Posted December 29, 2022 Kohli himself is playing like night watchman.
VT87 Posted December 29, 2022 Posted December 29, 2022 So today’s match Nauman comes ahead of Babar as a night watchman or is it only applicable for Virat.
figo6762 Posted December 29, 2022 Posted December 29, 2022 The team is filled with night watchmen, anyone can play that role .. nightwatchmenry at best .. raki05, vvvslaxman and Lord 2 1
Vijy Posted December 29, 2022 Posted December 29, 2022 even a literal night watchman (guarding a random apartment complex) might do better.