Are our players just lazy?

sage

Why is it that none of our batsman can bowl part-time decently and none of our bowlers know how to hold a willow? Look at teams like England and clearly their players work on both skills. Do our players just not care? It can't be genes or talent or whatever. Getting a basic level of batting skill and practicing a bit of spin for our batsman shouldn't be impossible. Only reason can be is they're lazy and not putting in the time and effort to build on skills. They're not even developing new shots or bowling techniques in their main skillset. Seriously what do they do every day in training?

I don't think you need special effort.  Even at lower levels it is not uncommon players trying their hand in other areas. Why go that far. Kedar Jadhav had zero bowling skills when MSD converted him  into a part timer. If you genuinely love the game you will show interest. Very few have that good old curiousity to get better in other areas.  That is why Tendulkar as a complete cricketer is head and shoulders above many of the players we had. He started with dibbly dobbly swing bowling. Then becamse offie and leggie, googly merchant. He even attempted to learn doosra.  Kohli can't even take simple catches. Basically serviceable in only one department.  Same with most of the guys. 

Same is true for bowlers not being able to get better in Tests. Bumrah has improved. Shami has shown some sparks atleast. Prasidh, Natrajan, Kuldeep, Chahal, Siraj all these guys never showed ay improvement.

Don't think it's about being lazy at all atm. This TM has been doing this from the very beginning of its regime. They don't have any interest in developing overall skills in our players. 

Think back to 2021, when Pandya was injured and Venky Iyer got some chances. He was barely given a chance to bowl, even in pointless bilaterals. Eventually got discarded. 

Then in 2022, same happened with Hooda in the build-up to the WC. He got to bowl more after the WC if anything. He has also been discarded.

In 2023, Tilak gets to bowl for the first time in his 5th game, when the game is pretty much over. I was surprised that Dube got to bowl against Ireland. Not sure if it's because Dravid wasn't there. 

Improvements in Thakur, Shami and Bumrah's batting happened under Shastri. Only Chahal didn't improve in his batting and fielding. 

This TM doesn't believe in the utility of part timers. 

1 hour ago, jalebi_bhai said:

Don't think it's about being lazy at all atm. This TM has been doing this from the very beginning of its regime. They don't have any interest in developing overall skills in our players. 

Think back to 2021, when Pandya was injured and Venky Iyer got some chances. He was barely given a chance to bowl, even in pointless bilaterals. Eventually got discarded. 

Then in 2022, same happened with Hooda in the build-up to the WC. He got to bowl more after the WC if anything. He has also been discarded.

In 2023, Tilak gets to bowl for the first time in his 5th game, when the game is pretty much over. I was surprised that Dube got to bowl against Ireland. Not sure if it's because Dravid wasn't there. 

Improvements in Thakur, Shami and Bumrah's batting happened under Shastri. Only Chahal didn't improve in his batting and fielding. 

This TM doesn't believe in the utility of part timers. 

Why dont they just pick it up themselves? As @vvvslaxman said it is about a lack of curiosity. People like Root and Sachin that genuinely love the game and are obsessed with cricket start developing different skillsets and expand on their game. they don't need guidance from a coach to do this. They should take the initiative. Differentiate themselves. Add skills constantly. Players like Wood turn from 85mph to 95mph bowlers at the age of 30. our players seem to freeze by 24/25 and pick up no new skills after

Can't blame players. There's no incentive to improve.

BCCI will neither raise the standard of domestic which requires effort and investment. Nor will they allow players to play abroad in leagues to improve.

As long as broadcast deals get bigger with minimum effort, they don't give a ****.

Know-it-all's like selectors and senior players(Rohit, Kohli)in the team don't think there's anything wrong with the way we play  our cricket .  Shastri thinks we are favourites, lol. So there's no incentive in the system to be players of the sort we see in other countries.

We'd rather praise our players for uselessly toiling in domestic and in every format and come up as one dimensional multi-format players rather than get them to play differently and develop a winning template and skills.

Edited by Nikhil_cric
2 hours ago, Lord said:

Yes being paid crores does it to you.

Precisely. Bowling even part time can potentially lead to injury. They do not want to be out of action from the IPL because they bowl. Look at their fielding effort. Kane williamson literally flew in the air and hurt himself so bad. Have you ever seen our guys doing such acrobatic fielding.  With a few exception they won't even try as it could lead to injuries.

As with most things its bit of both, Think tank + Laziness.

After our T20WC exit there was some talk about the need for our batters to be able bowl & develop more utility skills per so called "BCCI sources". I haven't seen any effort except talk on this front. Dhoni for all his flaws during the last few years of his career, was the last captain who experimented in this area. Once he left the captaincy we hardly had any part timers develop. We don't even see an attempt against minnows as others have pointed out, its the failure of coaching staff & the captain that we haven't developed players beyond their core competency. We have been packing our MO with keepers, Sanju, KL, DK, Ishan, Pant who are never probably going to attempt to bowl.

Its laziness too, I am not seeing an attempt by these players to walk up to the captain & ask to bowl an over or two in consequential games. Is the captain so unapproachable?  or IPL where they might have more leeway. May be the incentives is wrong, if you are going to get paid beyond what your contemporary players from other teams can even imagine without having to worry about developing a new skill, where is the incentive to that? Make it a selection criteria, make it explicit, make it part of the think tank goals and evaluate them based on it. 

8 hours ago, sage said:

Why dont they just pick it up themselves? 

I just cited examples of players who actually bowl in domestics and how they're barely backed with the ball under Dravid. This TM doesn't believe in part-timers so doesn't invest much in them. 

When we play batsmen who bowl and they don't get opportunities to develop their bowling, how is it the players fault then?