Paris Olympics 2024 Discussion Thread

5 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Superb game till now in hockey

0-0 after first quarter

I m happy with a draw. Will it push us up?

1 minute ago, Number said:

Wow.. this was out of the blue. Another Railway TC making us proud. 

Bhai I was thinking he's from railways (TC) should do well when others were sweating from heat...in qualification round as well, he excelled at the end part 

Just now, randomGuy said:

Bhai I was thinking he's from railways (TC) should do well when others were sweating from heat...in qualification round as well, he excelled at the end part 

May be some Indian turned off the AC there and Europeans got roasted.:phehe:

1 hour ago, MediumPacer said:

We have have low potential ,I don't want to see money being wasted on sports in Pakistan .Also being a low iq nation we can't match them on hdi either and sports and recreation is closely linked to it.

Since this person is Pakistani, everything he says is about his homeland and he is almost always spot on.

8 minutes ago, neel roy said:

I m happy with a draw. Will it push us up?

Belgium will still top I think. Fight for second.

Just now, Gollum said:

Belgium will still top I think. Fight for second.

India will top unless they lose against Aus now right? 

1 hour ago, Gollum said:

Sporting culture will reduce public health burden. Many diseases can be prevented/delayed if our people adopt a more sporty/outdoor lifestyle, even 15 minutes physical activity per day can work wonders when done consistently, in the long run. Not just about medals, follow the European approach to sports/recreation. 

People who were active in sports in their childhood, school/college days enjoy the benefits much later in life as well. 

From a twitter post. Applies only to urban ones though. 

Gotta explain from childhood in a tier 2 city, you will know why we suck at sports

Kid is born Go to school at 7 AM 2 sports period a week, one taken by Maths/Science teacher to complete syllabus or cancelled due to weather

The day we had sports, 200 students from various classes used to compete for one football field and mind you this was DPS, most expensive school of city

Coming back from school you go out to play with colony peeps, no infrastructure so you end up playing cuck games like one tip one hand cricket until some Buddha neighbour comes and shoo you away with "Ae ladka tumko padhai nhi hai"

Then you come back home at 6 PM, you see mom complaining to Dad "Ye padh nhi rha, 9th class aagaya"

Dad says "kal se iska khelna band" You get hauled into some deadass FITTJEE types coaching which you now have to go after 9 hours of Dihadi in school

You got to that coaching, learn jackshit, eat patties, Samosa come back home too tired and then sleep

The guys who had some talent at sport start killing their passion by Class 9th You ask them why aren't they participating in the inter school tournament

They make a sad face and tell you with half a smile "nhi yaar IIT nikalna hai"

These potential athletes don't clear IIT, end up at VIT, MANIPAL

Maybe things will get better next generation, maybe in the coming decade I have hope

2 hours ago, Gollum said:

Activity in this thread bit less than last time? Think we had more time back then, younger, less responsibilities, WFH, pandemic cloud etc. 

Tokyo 2021 was epic fun, in fact that entire period starting from BGT till Olympics was enjoyable for Indian sports fans. 

Personally I haven't been able to spend as much time this time. Hope final stretch ends with a bang. 

Pretty much this, have been travelling a lot so haven't had the time to follow anything properly. 

Also I've found being too invested in something of late hasn't given the outcome I wanted, followed this during the T20 wc too and we won it. Will do it this Olympics too.