Vickydev Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 Phillipines got their first medal, Gold in Gymnastics Only the 2nd Gold ever in their history coffee_rules and Sandz 1 1
randomGuy Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 (edited) @Number Partial Translation "August 02, 2024 | 20:20 pm hrs Marco Verde, a Mexican boxer who qualified for the Quarterfinals of Olympic boxing, raised alarm bells before his duel against the Indian Nishant Dev. According to several reports, the Mexican representative suffered an injury to his right hand, which has raised doubts about his participation in Paris 2024. Marco Verde withdraws from Paris 2024? According to El Universal Deportes and David Faitelson, Marco Verde has an injury to his right hand. The media acknowledged that it was in contact with “close sources” to the Mexican fighter, who acknowledged that the boxer is not 100 percent fit to face the test against Nishant Dev. On the other hand, the El Universal report indicates that the boxer does not suffer from a serious injury, so he will go out to fight this Wednesday against the Indian boxer." I got to know 'el hindu' is 'the indian' in spanish. Edited August 3, 2024 by randomGuy Number 1
Real McCoy Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 10 minutes ago, neel roy said: He couldn’t go because there is a limit. How can he go when it will breach the number of members. How will the politician officials and their wives go and have a free all paid paris trip then?? Dont they deserve it. They wait for 4 years.. e ji sunte ho is baar kahaan olimpiks gamesh ho ra ha hai.. haan jee is baar hum jayenge loash angeles.. ooo kahan hai jee.. kanadda main.. so true. kadva magar sach hi hai. neel roy 1
neel roy Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 23 minutes ago, Number said: Mexican media is reporting Nishant's opponent is injured. What the hell was he doing? Injured before the bout tonight? Hope he gets well tomorrow. Number, randomGuy and Sgattick10 3
Cricketics Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 8 minutes ago, randomGuy said: @Number Partial Translation "August 02, 2024 | 20:20 pm hrs Marco Verde, a Mexican boxer who qualified for the Quarterfinals of Olympic boxing, raised alarm bells before his duel against the Indian Nishant Dev. According to several reports, the Mexican representative suffered an injury to his right hand, which has raised doubts about his participation in Paris 2024. Marco Verde withdraws from Paris 2024? According to El Universal Deportes and David Faitelson, Marco Verde has an injury to his right hand. The media acknowledged that it was in contact with “close sources” to the Mexican fighter, who acknowledged that the boxer is not 100 percent fit to face the test against Nishant Dev. On the other hand, the El Universal report indicates that the boxer does not suffer from a serious injury, so he will go out to fight this Wednesday against the Indian boxer." I got to know 'el hindu' is 'the indian' in spanish. “El” is the word used for “The” usually. El and La both but I am not going to go deep into it randomGuy 1
coffee_rules Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 27 minutes ago, Gollum said: Opposition should raise these kind of things in Parliament instead of dramebaazi. Jaati janganana is priority for opposition Gollum 1
randomGuy Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 (edited) 4 minutes ago, Cricketics said: “El” is the word used for “The” usually. El and La both but I am not going to go deep into it Right..I also wanted to point out that for ex. asaduddin owaisi is el Hindu for the Spanish Edited August 3, 2024 by randomGuy Number, maniac, coffee_rules and 2 others 1 4
Cricketics Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 (edited) If Ledecky wins gold in 800m today, she will become the first Woman Olympian to win Gold for 4 straight Olympics in an event. Crazy longevity. Only Phelps has done the same before her in 200IM. Hope Ledecky gets this gold. Edited August 3, 2024 by Cricketics neel roy and Vickydev 2
Austin 3:!6 Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 I don't follow olympics but is this is one of our poor performances in recent times? Just 3 bronzes so far. We won a gold and couple of silver's last time if I remember accurately.
Vickydev Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 7 minutes ago, Cricketics said: If Ledecky wins gold in 800m today, she will become the first Olympian to win Gold for 4 straight Olympics in an event. Even Usain Bolt or Phelps or anyone has done in their respective events. Crazy longevity. Hope Ledecky gets this gold. Dont think there is any real competition for her
Cricketics Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 Just now, Vickydev said: Dont think there is any real competition for her Yeah she is the greatest long distance swimmer ever.
Cricketics Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 (edited) 4 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said: I don't follow olympics but is this is one of our poor performances in recent times? Just 3 bronzes so far. We won a gold and couple of silver's last time if I remember accurately. With how we did recently with 7 medals, had we gotten a medal in Archery and one more in shooting, we would have been on par with recent olympics tally. But now we would need Neeraj Chopra to repeat his heroics from Tokyo and Indian Hockey team to also repeat or do better than Bronze to make it a slightly better Olympics.m this time. Hopefully Boxer Dev today will win today and then in semis as well to get us another medal. still some medal contenders, so lets see. Edited August 3, 2024 by Cricketics Austin 3:!6 and coffee_rules 2
maniac Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 India’s Olympic performance is kind of like Modi govt- stated with a lot of promise like Rio, peaked at Japan and now hit a decline/ stagnation mode in Paris Austin 3:!6, New guy, coffee_rules and 1 other 2 2
deathmonger Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 10 minutes ago, Cricketics said: If Ledecky wins gold in 800m today, she will become the first Olympian to win Gold for 4 straight Olympics in an event. Crazy longevity. Hope Ledecky gets this gold. nah. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kaori_Icho won gold where saksi won bronze https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saori_Yoshida she missed out and was crying
maniac Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 12 minutes ago, Cricketics said: If Ledecky wins gold in 800m today, she will become the first Olympian to win Gold for 4 straight Olympics in an event. Crazy longevity. Hope Ledecky gets this gold. Don’t care. When is India’s next medal match and when is 2nd odi coffee_rules 1
deathmonger Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 5 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said: I don't follow olympics but is this is one of our poor performances in recent times? Just 3 bronzes so far. We won a gold and couple of silver's last time if I remember accurately. only halfway through though
Cricketics Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 Just now, maniac said: Don’t care. When is India’s next medal match and when is 2nd odi 2nd odi don’t care. Boxer Dev’s QF is an about an hour maniac and randomGuy 2
randomGuy Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 6 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said: I don't follow olympics but is this is one of our poor performances in recent times? Just 3 bronzes so far. We won a gold and couple of silver's last time if I remember accurately. Abhi 2/3rd medals are remaining to be won...I didn't think any of the 7 medals won last time are yet decided n we already have 3.
Cricketics Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 3 minutes ago, deathmonger said: nah. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kaori_Icho won gold where saksi won bronze https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saori_Yoshida she missed out and was crying 3 minutes ago, deathmonger said: nah. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kaori_Icho won gold where saksi won bronze https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saori_Yoshida she missed out and was crying Different event. We are talking about same. Chexk the category. She has 3 in same and 4th in other.
G_B_ Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 A few things have worked like shooting and others like badminton and boxing have disappointed. Archery I had no hopes lol.We are still ahead of the curve to repeat or improve the 7 (not looking at the colour of the medal).I have looked at medal count of past 5 to 6 olympics. The long tailed distribution is becoming more apparent. Medal distribution is being concentrated in the top 15 from the top 25Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk neel roy 1